We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Village Heights Golf Resort
Ranked #4 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Crowborough
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quiet”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

My husband and I stayed for a week in November and as it was the end of the season it was very quiet which suited us. The resort is off the beaten track and we were glad we had a hire car. There is a shuttle bus to Hersonissos but once there not a lot to do. The resort was clean, rooms nicely decorated, staff very friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant very pleasant. I hope the mother cat and her two adorable kittens, which I adopted for the week, have flourished! A relaxing week with a lot of history just a drive away.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris S, General Manager at Village Heights Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you for the review in TripAdvisor! Our guest's reviews is a valuable tool for us in order to measure our performance in terms of quality of service.

We do hope to see you again very soon!

Best regards,
Dimitris Stratikis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    214
    45
    5
    4
See reviews for
230
364
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We had our apartment due to the RCI autumn sale - II think that's why there aren't prices - mostly this is timeshare property. It was a bit isolated - a car was useful, though a courtesy bus does go down to Hersonissos harbour several times a day, even out of season in February. Eating in is really the only option in the evening though (good food, but not a massive choice if you were to go every night of a week). Good kitchen in the apartment and supermarkets nearby to stock up the fridge - including the Lidl on the old road to Heraklion.
The staff were fantastic sorting things out even before we arrived, The apartment surpassed all expectations - 2 bedrooms each with its own bathroom. Good outside space to eat and relax in and 3 days of bright sun in mid-February. I know the resort didn't supply that, but it was a bonus. A lot of businesses in town were closed but still enough open for it not to be an issue.
Pools and a spa (we didn't use) but definitely would go again and make use of more of the amenities. All in all, a great week!

Room Tip: All very peaceful and none to far from reception. The roof terrace was best for afternoon sun. Some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shelagh53_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris S, General Manager at Village Heights Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you for submitting a review for TripAdvisor! We look forward to welcoming you again in Village Heights!

Best regards,
Dimitris Stratikis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My husband and I vacationed at Village Heights in mid/late October as part of our DR points ownership. This was our first visit both to Crete and to Greece, and we are big fans now! Don't be discouraged by a late season visit as the weather was perfect for us (we weren't there to swim although there were some swimmers) and the area wasn't congested at all. The resort is in a quiet, safe setting, and we were amazed at the grounds of the resort. Mega money and care has gone into creating and maintaining a show place. We walked the grounds in the evenings and enjoyed their hundreds of plants, trees, shrubs, flowers. Truly gorgeous! We rented a car upon arrival in Heraklion as we are not "resort sitters." We like to explore all the territory we can..and we did just that! My husband did a great job of learning to maneuver the highways, but on many occasions, he was totally exhausted from the treacherous winding, narrow roadways. The maps can be deceiving---you think it's a straight shot from the resort to Hania and yet it is an amazingly difficult drive. We wouldn't have wanted to miss that city, but just be prepared for the drive! Anyway, back to the resort itself----We only ate at the resort one evening in the upstairs restaurant. The meal was delicious, high quality, and reasonably priced for its elegant setting. The only reason we didn't eat there more often was because we chose to eat our big meal during the day (the meals in Crete are events---you don't just grab something! You spend time and usually are entertained by the owners and servers.). We found a little wholesale kind of grocery store nearby (not the overpriced one at the resort!) and stocked up on "happy hour" and breakfast items. So, when we were in at the resort, we were usually eating on our balcony. The room, although rather sparsely decorated, met our needs and was very spacious and clean. I loved the wide windows that opened to allow the breeze through the villa. I could hardly wait to get up in the mornings to open the windows for the view of the Mediterranean Sea! There were only a few minor negative things about our room: We were located at the intersection of the two major interior paths and the noisy golf carts ran continuously. I might add that the lighting in the unit was awfully dim---hope they will look at addressing that. Also, we asked for the mattress pad that everyone on TripAdvisor suggested, and we were glad we did. It is necessary! All in all, we had a most memorable time in Crete and loved our home base, Village Heights.

Room Tip: Be sure not to be located at a cross-roads as the golf carts run constantly and are noisy. In the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris S, Διευθυντής at Village Heights Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to submit a review in TripAdvisor!

It was a pleasure to read your comments. The hotel premises are well taken care of from our staff and we strive to keep maintenance levels as high as possilbe. The issues that you mentioned are addressed and we are dealing with them at the moment.

We look forward to welcoming you once again at Village Heights!

Best regards,

Dimitris Stratikis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My wife and I holidayed at Village Heights in October 2013 and really enjoyed it. We were going to hire a car but found the shuttle bus from the resort to Hersonissos very good as there was a very good public bus service from there at reasonable fares. the food in the restaurant was very good and not over priced. All the staff gave great service. The room we were in was a one bedroom apartment with great sea views, maid service was very good. Staff on reception were very helpful and nothing was to much trouble for any of the staff we encountered on the resort. We will be back in the future.

Room Tip: we were in room 706. great sea views and good sized balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris S, Διευθυντής at Village Heights Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you for submitting a review in TripAdvisor! We take pride in our staff who are always there for our guests.

Hopefully we will see you again soon!

Best regards,

Dimitris Stratikis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, Sd
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Our stay was near the end of the tourist season, so some places were shut down, but we still had a wonderful time. The temperature was in the low 70s every day, so not many were in the pools. Miniature golf was popular however. We did not have a car, so used the resort shuttle to go to town on two occasions. We enjoyed looking around Chersonisls and brought back groceries both times. The ATM at the grocery store was easy to use also. Between the shuttle stop and the grocery store is Aqua World, a small aquarium that is awesome -don't miss it. John will show you many snakes, turtles, and lizards, and there are plenty of opportunities for pictures. We also took a taxi to Heraklion one day to see Knossos, the archeological museum, and look around the city. The landscaping at Village Heights is wonderful, the entire resort is spotless, and the staff are very helpful. Two small areas to improve: better lighting in the units, and more comfortable chairs in the dining room of the units.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LINDA_RENEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

After looking at some of the recent reviews I think that some contributors are being really fussy about this resort. I really couldn't fault the weather, staff, facilities and the general air of calm about this lovely hotel. As has been said many times in recent reviews, the food is absolutely top notch and good value. I too was handed an envelope inviting us to contact Diamond Resorts at some time during our stay for a 'discussion over breakfast'. This I declined to do. A lady did knock on our door one morning to ask if we wanted to discuss Diamond Resorts, I said no politely and was not bothered again.
The only problem we had was that the pool which looked so spotlessly clean and inviting was impossible to use in late October as it was freezing cold and unheated. In the summer I think that this problem would not apply.
We will definitely be returning to Crete and probably to this resort.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Clive W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyland
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This was our second visit and the overall quality of the resort remains excellent but this time we had some minor reservations about the place. The facilities, the grounds, pools, bars, services and the quality and friendliness of the staff are exceptional. Whilst the rooms are well equipped there could be an improvement in the lighting. Gettting dressed and ready for the evening, particularly for the ladies is not easy and some improved lighting would be beneficial near the mirror especially. There was also more evidence of minor problems - loose wall socket, sticking door, light bulbs out, shower problems, general minor maintenance problems. The biggest problem for me however is introduction of cats everywhere. Last year there wasn't a cat to be seen but this year, having a ground floor studio, we couldn't have breakfast outside without 3 or 4 cats jumping on the table and eating the food if you left for a minute. You couldn't leave the doors open or they were in the room jumping on the tables looking for food. This is definitely a change for the worse.

The poolside food and drink continues to be excellent and the poolside restaurant was also top quality. We attended an Oriental and a Mexican night and both were excellent. Also visited the upstairs restaurant twice. The first time was really good and value for money. We returned specifically to try the fillet of beef which had looked so good on the previous visit. Firstly there was only one left and although it looked to be perfectly cooked it was very tough and disappointing. These things happen.

We intend to keep coming to the Village Heights but the cats are certainly a big turn off.

Room Tip: If you don't want to share with cats, it might be better to request an upper floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
2.6 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#3 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,850 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
247 reviews
12.2 mi away
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
#3 of 58 in Heraklion
1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#2 of 13 in Koutouloufari
1,033 reviews
3.1 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#14 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,115 reviews
45.6 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Heights Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Heights Golf Resort

Property: Village Heights Golf Resort
Address: Ano Hersonissos, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#10 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Village Heights Golf Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the north coastline of Crete, Village Heights Golf Resort is nestled amongst lush landscaped gardens and offers breathtaking views of Hersonissos. In true traditional Cretan Village style studios, apartments and villas are beautifully designed to suit every taste. Village Heights Golf Resort offers a full host of amenities and features to ensure a restful stay.Guests can enjoy a wide range of leisure facilities within the Resort including three pools (one indoor), a wellness centre, kids club as well as numerous dining and entertainment venues. In addition, the Crete Golf Club is just 2km away, with incomparable views and special rates on greens fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Village Heights Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Heights Golf Hotel Chersonisos
Village Heights Hotel
Village Heights Golf Resort Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing