We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing Break in Eastern Crete”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Village Heights Golf Resort
Ranked #3 of 176 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing Break in Eastern Crete”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Just returned from a week at Village Heights, about 30-40 mins east of Heraklion. Weather was 25-30deg. Lovely pool for daily swims; car hire for island adventures and good restaurants for local food.
Spa in hotel is wonderful - Thalgo products administered by Anna - good prices so worth buying to bring home.
Golf course is worth a visit at least for a drink on the terrace. Stunning views of the well kept course with the mountains as a back drop. Pity I don't play!!
Easy to visit east coast and the inland areas of Knossos and Kastelli and Archanes

Room Tip: Make sure you phone ahead to book a sea view if that is what you wish. Best on upper floor rather t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheilric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    201
    43
    4
    3
See reviews for
217
326
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

What a big rip off. This resort is rated as gold crown by RCI, but is not close. A few things were not in line with a €530 per night hotel:
1. To play tennis at night, you have to pay to switch on the flood lights
2. This is supposedly a golf resort. What a joke. There is no golf course in sight. The Crete Golf Club is 2km away and the only thins is that instead of €80 per round, a guest can pay €68. Thus, for €12 discount, they call themselves a golf resort?? Haha
3. The shuttle offered to guests is inadequate
4. For a 2 minute telephone call (local) they charges us €3
5. Furniture (Sofa, mattress, TV) is OLD

Will not return there anytime soon!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Wikus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris S, General Manager at Village Heights Golf Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
In our opinion your review gives a completely wrong impression about our resort therefore we response one by one all the points mentioned in your review.
• The resort is consecutively rated as Gold Crown since 2007 by our guests-members of RCI that have stayed in Village Heights.
• There is no charge for anyone that wishes to play Tennis during the day. It means from 07.00 in the morning until 20.00 to 21.00 in the evening. Indeed there is a 12.00 € charge per hour for the use of floodlights during the night.
• In timeshare sector, the term “golf resort” refers to any hotel with a golf course onsite OR within close proximity. Our hotel never claimed in any site or brochure that there is a golf course onsite . We have always been saying that the Crete Golf Course is 2km away from our resort, and we are a share partner of the Golf club which gives us the opportunity to provide our guests with discounted rates. Let us also remind you that the Crete Golf club is a PGA designed and approved course, aimed at the high end golf market.
• The hotel shuttle bus begins its routes to Hersonissos, daily, at 09.45 in the morning and ends at 19.30 in the evening, free of charge. This schedule covers the needs of the majority of our guests.
• Regarding the telephone charge, a local call is definitely not charged 3€.
• The hotel construction was completed in June 2007, so the hotel is still considered as new and so is the furniture. We agree that the TV set is outdated, therefore it is in the future plans to be replaced.


With best regards

Dimitris Stratikis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

The resort is located on the hill so its better to have a car to visit the area.
Very nice employees, specially George that was very happy to receive the first Portuguese of this summer in the resort and tried to learn Portuguese.
Wonderful pool.
We took the half board option at the restaurant: Food is very good

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnaSeguro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midllands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We would re-iterate what most people have already stated. We have just returned after a week stay.Accomadation was really good-we stayed in a one bedroomed apartment(room 2004)which had both sea and pool views and would recommend this room.We only ate in the main buffet style resturant once-and thought it was as some have mentioned overpriced and very busy. Would recommend the resurantant upstairs-food,service and price excellent.We met Wilson who was our rep-as lovely as he was we decided the diamond package was not for us.I would recommed that you go to Piskopiano-which is about 4 miles from the hotel and costs 10euro to get to-unless you get the shuttle bus and they will drop just outside Cheronniss old village-walk from main road will then take approx 15mins. We went to a resturant called David Vegra in Piskapiano-Meze style food. we found it recommend on trip advisor. food was best we had costing the least of our whole stay-you will have to wait for a table as is always busy-which is a good thing!from Piskapiano you can either walk back to Cheronossis old village-which has a coupe of old style resturants, or walk left out of resurant towards another small village-cant rememebr name-but nice bars and resturants, We did not rate Heronossis main town-very touristy with same type of shops repeated down lenghth of main street.Also if you like fur coats you will love it in Hernossis-as ive never seen so many fur shops!!

Room Tip: as above room 2004
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank celiaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We returned in 2013 to Village Heights as we had a great 2 week stay in 2011. We were not disappointed. We went in the last 2 weeks of August. The apartment was a one bedroom with a pull out sofa bed in the living area. It was clean, tidy and just as we remembered. The resort is great - activities for kids in the mini club such as making pizzas, treasure hunts, darts, mini golf, table tennis, water basketball, etc were well used although our 9 year old felt he was too old for all of this! The adult activities were great fun but not too intrusive if you just fancied lazing around the pool all day. These included boules, water polo, volleyball and a series of crazy 'cocktail games' plus a couple of quiz nights.

Its a very international resort, which is lovely. Food is good and there is a theme each night with a well stocked buffet - something for everyone including the children. Staff are helpful and friendly. You can get the breakfasts and buffets cheaper if you buy a 'pack' when you arrive for 7 days - there are various options available.

Our only gripes:
- the bed was rock hard - you need to ask for a mattress topper asap to get a decent night's sleep
- the sofa bed was ropey - our son just put sheets on the sofa and slept there as it was more comfortable.

Weather is fantastic. Hire a car, or use buses to visit Knossos, Hersonnisos, Old Hersonnissos (esp. on a Monday night), Agios Nikolaos, etc. Beware the smaller roads if driving - they can turn into gravel tracks as we discovered on our way to Fodhele, so-called birthplace of El Greco.

Room Tip: We didn't have a choice, but let receiption know well in advance if you can't cope with step...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

The staff are very friendly and the hotel is kept clean and tidy. Plenty of sun loungers for everyone, room towels changed everyday and great to have pool towels supplied to save on taking your own.

As we arrived on a Friday and being our first visit, we were a bit stuck and had to plump for the Italian buffet - which was average and expensive.

Although the hotel is time share, we found that we were not hassled at all, unlike some other resorts we have been too.

Hotel drinks are expensive a can of coke from the snack bar is €2.70, but from the onsite store it's €1. But if you have a car you can stock up at the local Lidl or Spa.

Would recommend Stalis Beach of Agiou Loanni over the beaches in Hersonisos. We also drove to Via Palm Beach - over rated and would not recommend the journey.

You need to get a key from Reception for the Sauna and if you want to use the steam room, turn up the temp. awhile before you want to use it.

The gym is okay for a couple of people, but any more and it's crowded. They have a multi machine (5 in one) so with one person on this you end up waiting. They have 3 running machine, but go for the one next to the wall (new one) as the others stutter while running.

We looked at the price of the hotels excursions and found they were very expensive - cheaper to hire a care and do them yourselves.. Knossos was over €40 p/p plus entry fee of €6 (a car for a day is about €40).

Would recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank epic9990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a lovely resort secluded in the hills above Hersonisos. It has 2/3 lovely pools, ample sun loungers and space. Is very quiet and quite idyllic. Has a free bus service down to town on a regular basis. Has pretty much everything you need, all the apartments are modern and clean, all have views (some better than others) across to the coastline. Staff are really friendly and efficient , I especially liked the golf buggy that transports you and your luggage to your apartment. They have 2 restaurants on site, the "A la Carte" restaurant is fantastic. Great value and great quality food, the service was friendly. The main restaurant was average an we didn't use it this time (this is our 2nd visit). One word of caution. The hotel has a Time Share scheme with Diamond International, avoid them as and politely turn down their "wonderful" offers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
2.6 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 176 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,577 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#6 of 176 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#2 of 13 in Koutouloufari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
2.6 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#9 of 176 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Heights Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Heights Golf Resort

Property: Village Heights Golf Resort
Address: Ano Hersonissos, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#10 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Village Heights Golf Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the north coastline of Crete, Village Heights Golf Resort is nestled amongst lush landscaped gardens and offers breathtaking views of Hersonissos. In true traditional Cretan Village style studios, apartments and villas are beautifully designed to suit every taste. Village Heights Golf Resort offers a full host of amenities and features to ensure a restful stay.Guests can enjoy a wide range of leisure facilities within the Resort including three pools (one indoor), a wellness centre, kids club as well as numerous dining and entertainment venues. In addition, the Crete Golf Club is just 2km away, with incomparable views and special rates on greens fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Village Heights Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Heights Golf Hotel Chersonisos
Village Heights Hotel
Village Heights Golf Resort Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing