We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice But To Far Out Of The Way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Village Heights Golf Resort
Ranked #3 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Silloth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Very Nice But To Far Out Of The Way”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed for two weeks and enjoyed it very much it was very relaxing and plenty of space to chill out away from the main pool area, the drinks were very overpriced also the meals you could eat out and drink in nearby Hersonissos for half the cost only problem with that was the last bus back was 19-15 unless you got a taxi 10 to12 euros which made it an expensive night. Like other people have said hiring a car was one option to get around, I myself hired a Quad bike for five days which was great and meant you were not stuck there all the time and could visit some of the other resorts and sights. As mentioned in other reviews it is a Time Share and they are everywhere wanting you to sign up for a Membership. At the end of the day I am only a retired working man and not very rich which you would have to be to do this all the time.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris S, General Manager at Village Heights Golf Resort, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for submitting a review for Village Heights in Tripadvisor! Hopefully we will see you again next year!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    211
    45
    5
    3
See reviews for
226
358
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fintry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our second time here.
All aspects were perfect .Staff totally welcoming & go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable.
Buffet nights are excellent with huge choice of well prepared food served in a very professional manner .
Cleanliness throughout first class
Would certainly recommend

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KENNETH B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris S, General Manager at Village Heights Golf Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your kind words! We gain satisfaction from your comments and strength to continue providing our guests with superb service.

We will be waiting to accomodate you again in the "Heights"!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for a week in July 2013 and we absolutely loved it!

The location is a bit out of the way so hiring a car is essential. There is a shuttle-bus service (free, I assume) which runs between ~9am and ~7:30pm to Chersonisos, but it could get expensive taking a taxi back to the hotel every night - if you chose go out in the evening, that is. We had hired a car so I can't comment too much about the shuttle-bus service.

We had only booked for self-catering and planned on buying things from the supermarket for breakfast and lunch and eating out in the evening. Due to arriving at midnight we decided to have breakfast at the restaurant on our first morning and it was so good that we decided to have breakfast there every morning. It is a hot and cold buffet style breakfast, which included bacon, eggs (fried and boiled), sausages (sometimes), pancakes, waffles (sometimes), cereals, bread, pastries, fresh fruit, fruit juice, cake (muffins and Madeira cake). On a Sunday they had smoked salmon and sparkling wine included. :)

All the staff in the hotel were friendly, polite and helpful.

Our room was great. It was well furnished, fairly modern and very large. The kitchen-diner was ample for the two of us, although we didn't really use it much because the weather was so good we were out on the balcony if we were at the room. Looking at other rooms, I think the balcony was a lot larger than other rooms, but this may not have been the case for them all. The only down-side was that it did not have sunloungers on our balcony, but we were in room 1105 which was very close to the pool by the main hotel so it was not a long treck to the pool.

The pool and surrounding area was well maintained and fairly relaxed. There was no early morning rush for sun-beds. We only found out once we got back that there was a second pool near the tennis courts. We didn't see this when we were there but feel a bit disappointed that we missed it - although we probably wouldn't hae used it as we were closer to the pool next to the main reception.

There is an indoor pool, which is qute small but we didn't use it as the weather was so good outside we just used the main pool. There was a 'gym' around the edge of the indoor pool, which consisted of some free-weights, some weight-machines, a treadmill and a few bikes. This seemed a strange location, but we didn't use it or the indoor pool so it didn't bother us.

There is an a-la-carte restaurant which we ate at two nights of our holiday. This is reasonably priced with a good menu and it boasts some great views as it is in roof-space of the main reception building. There is a balcony overlooking the pool and down to Chersonissos or to the hills. There is another restaurant for evening food which is a buffet-style. It seems they host a different theme each night and is followed by some form of entertainment, for example Greek dancing, Brazilian dancing.

There is a shop onsite, which is well stocked with the essentials you may need - ice-cream, crisps, chocolate... :) It had some post-cards, bread, croissants, cheese etc that would be enough for lunch or to buy for breakfast.

This was the first accommodation that my partner and I would consider going back to, so we would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bristol_scotsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris S, General Manager at Village Heights Golf Resort, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear guests,

We are very happy to read how much you enjoyed your stay in Village Heights! We trully hope that we will see you again in the near future!

Best regards,

Dimitris Stratikis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent. UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We have never been back to the same place twice but Village Heights changed that. We came for a chill-out week in September 2012 and enjoyed it so much we went again in June.
Rooms had everything you would want (didn't cook at all...why would you ??!!) Our 'cleaner' Marilena recognised us from last year and was so friendly and efficient (not that we wanted her to do much).
The pools were spotless if a little cold! Plenty of sunbeds in amongst the trees at the top pool.
The buffet is good but the Elia restaurant upstairs is really lovely. Beautiful views and superb, very reasonably priced, food and drink.
The bar is a lovely place to sit and chill out. Again, really friendly staff...always ready to have a laugh with you...and if you buy them a drink you invariably get one back!!
Free bus service...we used it to go to Myrtios Taverna in Old Hersonisos in the evenings and then we got a taxi back...again all easy and efficient.
A small amusement park is being built down the hill and I don't know how much noise this will produce...
If you want to see some of the island you would probably need to hire a car...we were going to this year but chose to eat/drink/sunbathe and read books for the whole week instead.
All in all a beautiful place to relax and re charge the batteries with the friendliest/most helpful staff I have ever encountered.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris S, General Manager at Village Heights Golf Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear guests,

It is always such a big pleasure for us to see old guests visiting us again and recognizing our efforts for excellent service! We thank you so much for your kind words and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSTON UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

A beautiful 2 weeks spent here in a one bedroom apartment. It had it all. Aircon, TV, fridge, oven, hob, microwave, toaster, coffeemaker and a dishwasher. The apartment was clean, fresh and everything worked as it should. Large, open and with good view from the balcony it leant itself to sitting on with a drink in the lovely warm evenings. The reception was quick and helpful, taking around to the apartment in the golf buggy with the bags on arrival late in the evening. The buffet restaurant is very good with entertainment most evening thrown in. The smaller daytime pool restaurant was also good open from 10 till 6pm. The pools are excellent, with plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas and pool towels also in the rooms provided. You really need a car to get to and around the area as the resort is well up in the hills behind Hersonissos out of the way (in my opinion better for that). The gardens, community areas and the whole is well kept and attractive a really nice resort. I would holiday here again with no quibbles.

Room Tip: We think we had the best apartment on the complex 1903. Big balcony, ground floor, near the pool an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MIDGET128K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris S, General Manager at Village Heights Golf Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear guests,

We would like to thank you for submitting your review in Tripadvisor! We also believe that our location on the hill is ideal!

We would love to see you again in Village Heights!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Just back from our third visit to village heights and looking forward to returning. Staff continue to be friendly and helpful, resort remains high quality and well maintained. Crete is a wonderful island and there is much to see and do. We walked the Samaria. Gorge this year. Fabulous walk but tough, take good footwear if you intend to do this. Great holiday and thanks to the resort staff for all their hard work. The animation team were very enthusiastic this year and clearly work hard to entertain the guests. Well done to all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris S, General Manager at Village Heights Golf Resort, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Guests,
We thank you for your warm comments about our resort and our staff. We really appreciate that you have selected Village Heights to spend your holidays for three consecutive years. We look forward to your next visit.

With best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Arrived late at night and given a huge 1 bed apartment with balcony & every household item you could require which we had requested by email in advance. In morning woke up with a view of mountains and sea. ALL staff friendly and helpful could not do enough for you. Isolated up in mountains so a hire car is good to have, much cheaper to get from the numerous places in town than Hertz in the hotel. Quick guide, we hired a Micra convertable from Carera for 3 days at 24 euro daily [hotel was 42]. on top of this we paid exactly double for the top insurance. Drinks very expensive in hotel. Hotel runs a free shuttle service roughly hourly Get off at 1st stop and walk into the old village, full of nice restaurants and good evening entertainment on Mondays. Overall pricey but good.

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies so for best view request upper floor facing sea. Gets the sun in morning ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank landoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris S, General Manager at Village Heights Golf Resort, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Guests,
We thank you for posting to Trip Advisor your experience from your stay in our resort. We feel delighted to read that the room was according to your liking. We take pride of your kind words about our staff and we are looking forward to accommodate you again in Village Heights.

Kind Regards
Dimitris Stratikis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
2.6 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#5 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,752 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
239 reviews
2.5 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#2 of 13 in Koutouloufari
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#13 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,043 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#6 of 171 in Hersonissos
622 reviews
12.2 mi away
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
#3 of 58 in Heraklion
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Heights Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Heights Golf Resort

Property: Village Heights Golf Resort
Address: Ano Hersonissos, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#10 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Village Heights Golf Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the north coastline of Crete, Village Heights Golf Resort is nestled amongst lush landscaped gardens and offers breathtaking views of Hersonissos. In true traditional Cretan Village style studios, apartments and villas are beautifully designed to suit every taste. Village Heights Golf Resort offers a full host of amenities and features to ensure a restful stay.Guests can enjoy a wide range of leisure facilities within the Resort including three pools (one indoor), a wellness centre, kids club as well as numerous dining and entertainment venues. In addition, the Crete Golf Club is just 2km away, with incomparable views and special rates on greens fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Village Heights Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Heights Golf Hotel Chersonisos
Village Heights Hotel
Village Heights Golf Resort Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing