We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel with great service!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hersonissos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Atlantica Caldera Palace
Ranked #88 of 172 Hotels in Hersonissos
Reviewed September 10, 2010

We booked the Caldera Palace to celebrate our Ruby wedding - and what a treat! We have a swim up room. Huge room, power shower, our own sunbeds and a fab pool. The "zoned" areas were great as the children were kept apart from the people like us who love children but don't want them taking over the pool. The adults only area was lovely. The food was fabulous and the service great.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g_simpkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
There are newer reviews for Atlantica Caldera Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 93 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2010

We travelled to the Sensatori Hotel on 29th June for a week with our 1 year old son. we arranged for the baby package of food, nappies etc which was amazing. There was a huge pack of Pampers (European) nappies, wipes, nappy bags and Heinz jars. Definitely value for money as we didn't have to pack half of the bulk we normally would with our son.
The hotel is beautiful; very clean, lots to do, great entertainment and gorgeous pools; something for everyone.
We had a family suite with swim up and it was incredible. What a great idea! When our son went for his nap we sunbathed on the deck. There's also a child-proof safety door to the deck so its very safe for kids.
The swim-up pools are stunning and a very relaxing area, but also great for kids - you can also go to the kiddie pool which is quite amazing! So much for them! (There is an adult-only pool too which is good).
The staff are very friendly and helpful, and great with children. All the restaurants are child friendly - best restaurant is the Al Dente but is a chargeable one so the best inclusive is the Thai.
The only negatives we had on the whole holiday is the TV in the room is a bit naff; channels are limited and there are no movie channels. Room service is also extortionate and pretty rubbish - but we told reception about a bad pizza we had and it was refunded off the bill and we had a bottle of wine the next day to apologise!! So can't complain!
All in all a fab holiday, and a great place - oh and the weather's amazing!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jade_threl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

We booked our holiday through Thompson; it was a Sensatori holiday and cost £1,800, full board. We were met by our rep at the airport and were pleased to learn that the coach we were getting on was going directly to our hotel.
We arrived at the hotel within 20 mins and were greeted with welcome drinks etc. It took about 10 mins to check in and we were advised that our bags would be taken to our room for us. As it was 11pm the restaurant was closed, but the hotel had prepared food for all late arrivals. We went to find our room just before midnight, and were very pleased with the room: very nice decor, huge bed, small terrace area and a shared plunge pool with the room next door. Our bags had not arrived and we had to contact reception twice before they we delivered at 1am.
Negative points first:....
- On our first day we opened the patio doors to hear/see a loud and smoky generator - we were staying in block 12, and approx 8 rooms would have been within hearing/sight range of this. We were hardly in the room during the day and it was not running at night, so but not cause a huge problem.
- Drinks at the bar are very expensive, there is a package you can buy and we asked staff about it 3 times and got 3 different explanations, none of which were clear.
- Our bathroom door handle was broken
- The shower head did not fit the holder and kept falling out; this was fixed during our stay
- Some cracked tiles around the main pool
- Steps into main pool broken
- No juice to drink with b/fast if you arrive after 9.30am
- All sun beds by the main pool are taken by 9am
Many of these are minor....but you start to pick-up on little things as the holiday progresses
Positive points:...
- Very clean and tidy
- Room cleaned every day
- Staff were helpful
- 'Zoning' in place to ensure families and couples have separate b/fast restaurants, pools and sun bathing areas
- Food is amazing....huge choice and very good quality
- Rooms are modern and very comfortable
- Lots of pools and all well designed.
- Huge menu of children activities, evening entertainment and sports activities….more than I have ever seen in any hotel.

Extra tips:
- Order another bottle of wine at the end of your meal (drink is free while eating in the restaurants) and take it to the bar after your meal (to avoid having to buy a bottle from the bar)
- Get a good spot on the bar balcony on a Wednesday night: fountain show with lights and music plus firework display
- 4 of the 6 restaurants are 'free'. We ate in all 6 and would highly recommend Five Spice (you need to book early for this because it is the most popular and gets fully booked very quickly) and the Aroma Stone restaurant. We thought the Al Dente restaurant was very over priced and not worth the money.
- Go and find the pool in the middle of block 12, its quiet and out of the way and great for swimming. People don’t seem to know about this pool and therefore there were still beds available at midday.
- Walk into town and find Zorba's restaurant (as you walk away from the beach it is at the top of the main street on the right), excellent welcome and fresh cooked traditional Greek food
- Do not book trips with the rep at the hotel: walk a short distance along the sea front and take the first left, second building on the left is a small local agent: we saved 70 euro by booking our trips through him (and ended up on the same trips as the other guests in our hotel).
- If you visit Knosos palace take a hat, fan, water and anything you can that will keep you cool - the heat was almost unbearable.

Hotel is located right next to beach on the edge of a large village/small town.

Overall we had a fab time, the weather was amazing and hotel was great. This is advertised as the new age of luxury hotels and I think the little problems we found means it falls slightly short of this claim, but nonetheless they did not take away from a really wonderful holiday in a fab hotel.

PS – the pictures on the Thompson website are very accurate and show exactly what the hotel is like.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natzthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

We have just returned from holiday at the Sensatori Crete.
On arrival we were met by the thomson rep who escorted us to our room our bags were taken direct to the room. We all had a welcome cocktail and were escoretd to the dinign room which the had kept open for us due to late flight
Room number 6109 is a family suite. It was spacious and in a quiet location. There is a sperate living room and a huge queensize bed. both rooms had flat screen tvs, a lovely bathroom. Bathrobes and slippers provided
We had prebooked into the hotel on line direct with the hotel
The pool areas were fantastic quite pools for couples and splash pool and fanily pools for those with children. None were too crowded and sunbedswere available at most pools until about ten o clock whe it started to get busy
The childrens enternteainment was the highlight, supervised sessions throughout the day movie nights sleepovers and playhouse live in one of the rooms. This made our little ones holiday
The staff were all amazing and could not do enough to help
There were a variety of restaurant but the main dining room offered a menu to suit all tastes and needless to say came home heavier than on arrival
we paid for the all inclusive drinks package which made our holiday so much easier knowing e would have no hidden costs at the end of the holiday
We did not visit the beach at all throughout the holiday but having wlked down to the front it appeared to be busy, rough shingle type sand
We would def go back to this hotel and has been one fo the best family holidays we have had

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonJoHunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

everything looked impressive on arrival, however when we checked in we wernt showed to our rooms or maps provided! Incredible to see the new arrivals wandering arround in the dark looking for the rooms. The rooms themselves are clean and spacious but the swim up pool we had paid for and looked foreward to so much was very dissapointing! It backed straight onto the road approx 10 meters away from supermarket and bar! The swim up pool was very poor, as you would struggle to swim being approx 1 meter wide and very cold as this part of the complex didn't get any sun until approx 2 pm. The shower leaked into the bathroom when showering which left the marbled floor dangerously slippy. We reported this to reps for mainenace to come back with shower sealant. What was plain to see was the screen was fitted incorrectly and no amount of sealant was going to stop the leak. We had to use the towels to mop up the water on a daily basis. Outside on the swim up room balcony there was water combing from the drainage that you had to walk through to get to sunbeds. Again this was reported and nothing was done until the cleaners mopped it up on the 3rd day. If of songs like I have been negative about our holiday then there were many good points with the hotel. All staff with the exeption of reception were some of the polite staff I have ever encountered anywhere. The food was ok but had much repition in the main restaurant. The first drinks were quick to follow being seated but if you wanted any more it was a challenge to get anyone to bring drinks. It seems to me the staff were under orders to keep guests to 1 round of drinks per meal. The hotel experience was frustraighting at meal times due to the among of children eventhough we ate late to avoid this as sugested by hotel staff. Drinks were expensive, costing approx 6euros for pint of lager, however outside hotel reception bar the same drink cost 2.5euros, neverthe less that bar owner was doing alot of business from the hotel. Entertainment was very poor for 5 star, if any adult entertainment was on it didn't
start until between 10-30pm and 11pm. I'm my oppinion this hotel would be more for families than couples seeking relaxation. The staff just adore children and do everything they can to help and make the experience special for them. Would I come back? On a word yes but I would make sure my swim up room was not on the same block, be aware of any room number that starts in the 9000's that is where we stayed and I would not want to be put here again unless you like to be near to road, supermarket or bar. On a plus point we didn't need our iPod and you always knew what the scrore was for football and rugby!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrism77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

The Hotel is 5 Star with its food and rooms but you will have Children running around the bar areas up to at least 11PM when we gave up and left them to their Crying, due to being over tiered and playing chase around the tables. (I guess 100+ children aged 1 to 5 years were staying at the hotel during our stay)
The children were allowed in all restaurants with the exclusion on Breakfast at the Red Saffron where at breakfast they were excluded.
Food on the floor ,tantrums and crying was the order of the day.(staff did their up-most to stay on top of clearing up)
I apologise to those parents that were responsible, but they made up the minority
A Five Star Butins I did not expect to pay more than £2k a week for.
The rooms were based on Hard floor corridors which tended to amplify noise , but one Mother did enjoy counting the Eighteen stairs down from their room, where mother and child reached the crescendo at Eighteen outside our door pre 7.00AM. may be a lie in tomorrow morning !

Thomson Holidays it would have been nice to know prior to booking

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaveBCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2010

Really nice hotel. Separate buildings, surrounded by pools. The pools are divided in an family-area and a couples area (no kids).
Our room was very very big, new, clean.
The meals were fantastic. Never before had a hotel with such a variety and such quality of food. Multiple restaurants, greek, mexican, buffet, etc. Personell friendly in whole hotel.
Animation during the day. In the evenings professional shows by the hotel's Show Cast, mini performance of musicals, songs and dance. Very well performed!
We can certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saskia-W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.1 mi away
Nana Angela Apartments
Nana Angela Apartments
#83 of 172 in Hersonissos
87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Venus Mare Apartments
Venus Mare Apartments
#7 of 13 in Analipsi
92 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bella Beach Hotel
Bella Beach Hotel
#3 of 7 in Anissaras
1,058 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anthoula Village
Anthoula Village
#8 of 13 in Analipsi
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aspri Petra Hotel Apartments
Aspri Petra Hotel Apartments
#11 of 30 in Hersonissos
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantica Caldera Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Caldera Palace

Address: Analipsi, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#32 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: $199 - $554 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 66
Also Known As:
Atlantica Caldera Palace Hotel Chersonisos
Atlantica Caldera Palace Hersonissos
Atlantica Caldera Palace Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing