We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star luxury at Sansatori”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hersonissos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Atlantica Caldera Palace
Ranked #91 of 172 Hotels in Hersonissos
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Had a wonderful 7 day holiday in September 2013. Staff were excellent as was the food and service. Nothing was too much trouble and all needs were catered for including truly wonderful entertainment.
Our room was excellent with a sea view and overlooking a swimming pool.There was a wide variety of food from which to choose. The hotel arranged checking out and we next saw our cases at our home airport.
Excellent value, accommodation and service and we were made to feel that all staff wanted to ensure that we really enjoyed our stay. Will certainly be booking again in the near future.

Room Tip: Higher floor gives an excellent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank desmond f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 93 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

We travelled here for a second time and like last time had a suite with a private pool. From arrival at the airport to the minute we left we were treated courteously by friendly caring Sensatori employees. The suite was luxurious and we were in room 6205 with a beautiful sea view. The food was excellent and travelling round the various restaurants gave variety over 14 days. It was my birthday and I received fruit, wine and a birthday card - it made me feel very special.

We will definitely return and hopefully it will be next August 2014.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ally550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Was taken to the holiday (7 nights) for my 60th birthday, had an enjoyable flight and the hotel was fabulous, with very friendly staff. Had a swim up room which only got the sun in the morning so had to go round the pool for the afternoon ( you were not supposed to reserve sunbeds but this was not the case as foreign tourist were up early to reserve theirs), There were not enough sun-beds to cater for the size of hotel as you needed the map provided to get you around for the first couple of days. Drinks were expensive (5 euro for orange juice) and the food would have been excellent if it was hot but having a buffet service and catering for so many guests it got cold. You could book other restaurants in the evening but these were hard to get but the 5 spices Tia was favorite as you got water service and hot food. It was supposed ti be a relaxing holiday but with children shouting and screaming all the time (especially at meal times) and the Spa treatments being too expensive, not enough sunbeds, etc it was a disappointing holiday. The only good thing I was impressed with was the airport check-in that came to the hotel, check your luggage in and give you your boarding cards so you then only have to go through security when you reach the airport but then having to que for at least 45 mins to get though and then once through the flight was called so no time to look/buy duty free

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roz and Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

stayed here for the Wife's 40th for 10 nights and it was worth every penny. On arriving the Thomson's reps told us to go to the restaurant for some food while the cases were taken to our rooms. The room was excellent, we booked a swim up room which was well worth it, the rooms were well furnished with a fridge, flat screen TV, sofa, King size bed, hair dryer, Jacuzzi bath, Tea and coffee making facilities, Air con, Iron and ironing board. The Bathrooms had toiletries which was restocked daily, The patio had 2 sun loungers, 2 chairs and a table. the main Buffet restaurant had a good selection of food every day and was presented nicely, the breakfast was good with everything from fruit and cereal to full English, they also have a chef cooking omelettes to order. The Mexican was my favourite, you have to book this at one of the machines using your room card. you can also have lunch in the Mexican which you don't have to book. the Tai was good with a nice atmosphere, The Greek restaurant was a bit of a let down to be honest, with the food being the same as the main restaurant. The entertainment at night was the best I have ever seen in a hotel with acts flown in from the Uk, the drinks were a little expensive, but we normally had the cocktail of the day at 5 Euro. there is a little bar across the road which is cheap drinking and has a larger than life fun owner. We both had massage at the Spa which was enjoyable but pricey. there is a small shop on site for emergencies and plenty of little shops within walking distance. there is a tourist train which stops outside the hotel and takes you around the villages and in to Hersonassos where you can get off and have a wonder around. the entertainment staff during the day were very friendly, we did the Archery and yoga, the hotel is in pleasant grounds with nice swimming pools. checking out of the hotel was an easy pleasant experience, the airport security come to the hotel where they take your cases and give you your boarding pass. overall a brilliant holiday. we have booked again for next year but for 2 weeks this time.

Room Tip: go for a swim up room, well worthy the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lucasthekopcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed in Atlantica Caldera Palace for a week this August for a family holiday including our two young children. We enjoyed our stay in the hotel and were very happy with the level of service received.

We stayed in 'Melpomeny' halls and our room was made up of a double bedroom (with ensuite) and a living room which was converted to accommodate our two kids. There was a separate toilet for them too as well as TV. A number of English, French and German speaking channels were on offer. The size of the room was very good and we never felt we were out of space. There was room service twice per day and every evening we were sent fresh orange juice, fresh fruits and sweets in our room.

The hotel is full of pools either for kids or adults. There is a small 'water park' inside the hotel which our kids really enjoyed. There are three large pools which are suitable for kids and two pools for adults only. Some halls of residence have their own private pools. There is a plethora of pools to choose from...The sandy beach is opposite the main entrance (2' walk).

There are a number of shops close to the hotel as well as a couple of beach bars. There is a nice village (Analipsi) with some traditional tavernas too only a short distance away on foot. The hotel is 20' drive away from Heraklion airport.

The hotel has more than 3 different restaurants to choose from with variety of cuisines : Greek, Japanese, Mexican, Italian. The main restaurant offers open buffets with a good variety of meats, pasta, rice, salads and sweets. The taste was excellent !

The buffet restaurant offered use of a blender, hot water, bottle sanitizer and microwave. This was very helpful for us as we could prepare easily meals for our 11 month boy.

The hotel has a vast Spa (with indoor pool) as well as nursery, conference centre, bars, newsagents and jewellery shop. There is free live night entertainment in-house.

There is fast Wi-Fi access in the main reception, free of charge (limited signal in the rooms). There is also free parking.

All in all we were very happy with our hotel and we would definitely recommend it to any families who wish to visit a sunny place with good food, good amenities and nice and polite people.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the main pools area are more noisy (live entertainment goes on until 11.00pm) than the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is a Thomson sensatori hotel, which we were informed was mainly adults only with a small amount of children according to the thomson reps.This i must admit was not true, this hotel caters for children and a small amount for adults/couples. There are several pools which cater for children of all ages but for some reason parents would bring their children down to the adult pool and cause problems, the main culprits were the russians and germans !! It wasn't till our second week that the hotel management finally did stop these kids from entering and playing in the adult pools. I'm not an old miserble fart i have had and looked after my children who are now adults, so this holiday was for us going to be relaxing, peaceful and tranquill but this did not happen in our first week. We cannot fault the staff for their kindness and friendly/helpful approach to all guests. I so felt disappointed that for a 5 star hotel that we should have to queue for seating at evening meals due to understaffing There are only 3 computers in the hotel to book seats in the speciality restaurants which by the way is surperb, this is why there is a problem trying to book them. When requesting a swim-up pool make sure you check the wording and don't have a dip/splash pool which are tiny, go for blocks 16 17 18 these have the better swim-up rooms and veiw. The entertainment was good but it only lasted for a short time 9.30.- 10.30pm on main entertainment broadwalk and 1/2 hour on balcony till 11.00-11.30 which all music stopped, so no consideration for the couples/adults who my have wanted to listen to music.

Room Tip: When requesting a swim-up pool make sure you check the wording and don't have a dip/splash pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JTrace84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The sensatori Crete is a family hotel. Do not go there if you are a couple. In june there are lots of families with very young children and babies. Most of the restaurants still had children eating after 9pm making lots of noise. My wife and I went in June to celebrate our ruby wedding anniversary. We chose sensatori as we had a good experience at the one in Tenerife that we had visited twice.
We were on full board plus meaning that our drinks at the meal table were included but the wine was of poor quality. The main buffet restaurant was usually very busy till 9pm and the food although varied was lukewarm. The main pool areas were for adults only but the sun beds were all very close together, that is if you could get one after breakfast as the dreaded towel reservation was in force in spite of the rules! Fortunately we had booked a swim up room and did not need to sit by the main pool thank goodness! Overall the service was average with only 50% of the staff greeting you with a smile! This hotel was supposed to be 5 star but really it was only 3 star. This holiday cost £1800 but was very poor value for money!

Room Tip: Try to book rooms in blocks 7000 and 8000 as they are near the main building but in a quiet spot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.1 mi away
Nana Angela Apartments
Nana Angela Apartments
#83 of 172 in Hersonissos
89 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#8 of 172 in Hersonissos
761 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Venus Mare Apartments
Venus Mare Apartments
#7 of 13 in Analipsi
96 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bella Beach Hotel
Bella Beach Hotel
#3 of 7 in Anissaras
1,077 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anthoula Village
Anthoula Village
#8 of 13 in Analipsi
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantica Caldera Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Caldera Palace

Address: Analipsi, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#32 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: $211 - $594 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 66
Also Known As:
Atlantica Caldera Palace Hotel Chersonisos
Atlantica Caldera Palace Hersonissos
Atlantica Caldera Palace Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing