We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
smartline Village Resort & Waterpark
Ranked #33 of 184 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The hotel is situated on hills in about one kilometer from the beach but there was a free bus service down to the beach, mostly hourly.The waterpark is very good for adults but a child under 1.2m cannot get on any of the slides
We had two air-conditioned rooms with balconies with sea view. The room was clean and lovely.
The food was excellent and the choice was different each day but red wine was warm.
We hired a car and spent little time in the hotel so I can say nothing abput an entertaiment.
The downsides are the steep hills, we were near the top, and it took about 5 minutes to climb up.
Ask for a room with small number if you are not in fit or have small children.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with small number if you are not in fit or have small children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager Z, Manager at smartline Village Resort & Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2015

We are very happy to know that you had a great time in our resort and we hope to meet you again in your next holidays.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

364 - 370 of 1,246 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

I have recently returned from a weeks stay in the Mareblue Village and I have to say it was an absolutely fantastic holiday! We arrived at the hotel at 4am and were greeted with refreshments and food which I thought was a lovely touch especially the arrival time. We had an amazing room, with views of the sea which was the perfect start to the day when opening the curtains! Yes there was a steep hill but there was also a golf buggy to pick up and take you if you felt you couldn't manage it. We spent most of our time around the main pool which was very clean and plenty of beds! We did have a look around the other pools but found this one most comfortable and also nearest to the bar!! :) The food was delicious and was plenty variety and there was never a shortage of drinks too!! Needless to say I have put on about 4lb whilst away! haha. The only criticism I would make is there is a lack of evening entertainment for the adults at the bar, could do with maybes a karaoke night or something. The bingo was a little bit tedious after the first night.... (I love my job! haha). Overall I had an ab fab time and would recommend this hotel to all my friends and family and would definitely visit again!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager Z, Manager at smartline Village Resort & Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2015

We are very happy to know that you had a great time in our resort and we hope to meet you again in your next holidays.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

1. Location -very good. Don’t take the hotels that are far from the city if you would like to travel
2. Free Bus service every hour to and from the beach or 10 minutes walking to central cheronisus (the town nearby)
3. Children - love it. Lots of pools/beach/water Park/slides
4. Food- excellent. Maybe the best thing in the hotel. All inclusive is very good. Lots of choices to everyone, fresh every meal + drinks +alcohol.
5. View- lovely beach view from our room - other has pool view
6. Pools- not warmed up -a bit cold when the weather is getting colder (end of September)
7. Wi-Fi – have to pay 6 euro for 24 hours or 25 euro for 1 week
8. Towels - have to pay 10 euro deposit for each towel - you get it back when leaving
9. Sleeping - in the family room there are 3 children's beds +one double (not big) bed.
10. The parents are separated by a thick wall with a door without a key – no privacy …
11. got a flight back in the evening –so we need to leave the room until 12 pm. we are allowed to stay in the hotel facilities / all-inclusive until the flight -no charge.
12. if you want to stay in the room until 7 pm – extra 38 euro
13. To sum it up – its not a new hotel and could do a renovation - but it's good value for your money if you're getting a good deal.
14. The create people are very friendly and we need to support them in this rough financial time.
Enjoy – Lior - Israel

Room Tip: ask for the lower level room - near everthing - the best tip i got from other tripadvisor users
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank gvaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager Z, Manager at smartline Village Resort & Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2015

We are very happy to know that you had a great time in our resort and we hope to meet you again in your next holidays.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

After reading reviews we had some reservations before going.. How wrong were we. Me and my girlfriend went for a week at the begining of Sept 2013. Food was better than expected got a little repetitive towards end of week. Staff very friendly and helpful. Hill was worth the walk up to our apartment with a great veiw and relax pool but would not be able to do this for two weeks.
All inclusive bar has friendly lively staff and a good choice of drinks to get a little tipsy each day.
Snacks available if you miss lunch which is handy when you get out and about. Stallis and Malia are five minutes away if you want a livelier holiday but this place was peacefull and so relaxing.
Would reccomend this hotel to anyone and would return if ever back in Crete.
Spa was not really a spa a massage chair and fish pedicure were available but the rest was closed or not working. No sauna needed just walk up the hill and sweat ya behind off that way. This would be the only small negative of a great holiday.

Room Tip: Any number under 500 for an easy walk.. Over 800 for a great view and easy access to relax pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mikey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager Z, Manager at smartline Village Resort & Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2015

We are very happy to know that you had a great time in our resort and we hope to meet you again in your next holidays.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

After reading some reviews i was quite worried but when we got there there was no problem. We arrived late at night at were allowed to eat in the restaurant and have a few drinks even though the all inclusive had finished. We had an excellent view from our room, however we were at the top of the resort, this was no problem for us as were young and fit however for older people or people with disabilities the hills may be a problem. The relax pool was perfect, the sunbeds were a lot comfier, the pool bar and staff was great added to this there were lovely views. The waterpark was small (only 4 slide) however they didnt get boring and were great fun. The food was nice, some things standard everything with some different choices. We did find to get slightly bored of the food but i think you expect that with all inclusive s. We did eat out a couple of times in the old village which is beautiful, much better than the main tourist area, with some of the best food ive ever eaten. Beaches close to the hotel arent great but adequate. Its a nice quite location and the taxis, in my opinion, were a fair rate and easy. The bar in the evening is perfect for a quiet drink with pool tables etc. I wouldnt recommend the entertainment but i dont think thats our cup of tea anyway. The room was lovely, so clean and we had so much space. Overall had a perfect week away.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager Z, Manager at smartline Village Resort & Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2015

We are very happy to know that you had a great time in our resort and we hope to meet you again in your next holidays.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Described misleadingly as 'Four Star' - it definitely is not. Have to say the food was good and the staff O.K. The room was basic and quite a walk from the facilities (bar and restaurant) and a quiet drink in the bar was an impossibility, as the middle-of-the-road type music played in the bar, jarred uncomfortably with the loud dance music coming from the pool on the other side, just above head level. You can't walk to the beach, it's inaccessible and there's no footpath along the (very busy) main road, so the shuttle bus has to do. If you must go to this hotel, at least take your driving licence with you, then you won't be a prisoner there, you'll be able to get out and see some of Crete!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager Z, Manager at smartline Village Resort & Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2015

At first it would like to thank you for spending time to write your Review in tripadvisor. As with any review about our hotel, we take all criticism into consideration and the opinions of our guests seriously.As you can see the hotel has now a new name , The Village Resort and a new managment , Zeus hotels. Everything is different now and as you read in the reviews the most of the clients are happy to be here. it will be a pleaure if we could host you again in the Village Resort

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Arrived at the hotel at 3am and the night staff checked us in very quickly before we went to our room the staff showed us to the restaurant where the chef had prepared us a few things from the meal prior to our arrival including cheeses,hams,breads,fruits and drinks even though the all inclusive stops at 11pm we then in our own time were taken to our room 1010 (top row of rooms of the resort) on a golf cart with our bags in the morning we then found out we are a 5 minute walk from the pools and restaurants down a ver step hill or steps. If you have any health problems i would advise you try and book to be in the vicinity of the pools and restaurants i emailed them twice and phoned our holiday agents (olympic holidays) twice to make sure we were close as I'm disabled but nothing was done and the hotel was fully booked so no movement available. Food amazing for both meat eaters wanting to try local food and an amazing variety for vegetarians. Pool really nice perfect temperature when its boiling at midday and very clean. Slides really fun for ages. Air con in rooms really good and free. check out is at 12 noon and our return flight was at 3am local time the next day but the hotel let us use all the facilities and eat in the restaurants until we left. There are professional photographers at the hotel that will not take no for an answer and are on a hard sale to sell pictures. Would defiantly recommend to families and couples

Room Tip: anything less than 500/600 is close enough to pools and restaurants
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HenryDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager Z, Manager at smartline Village Resort & Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2015

We are very happy to know that you had a great time in our resort and we hope to meet you again in your next holidays.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.6 mi away
Star Beach Village & Water Park
Star Beach Village & Water Park
#24 of 184 in Hersonissos
792 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arminda Hotel and SPA
Arminda Hotel and SPA
#25 of 184 in Hersonissos
542 reviews
4.8 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#8 of 184 in Hersonissos
779 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Belvedere
Royal Belvedere
#42 of 184 in Hersonissos
842 reviews
0.6 mi away
Imperial Belvedere
Imperial Belvedere
#41 of 184 in Hersonissos
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to smartline Village Resort & Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about smartline Village Resort & Waterpark

Address: Characostres, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece (Formerly Zeus Hotels Village Resort & Waterpark)
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#26 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#43 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: $107 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — smartline Village Resort & Waterpark 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your smartline Village Resort & Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mareblue Village & Aqua Park Hotel Chersonisos
Mareblue Village And Aqua Park
Mareblue Village Hersonissos
Mareblue Village Hotel Hersonissos
Smartline Village Resort & Waterpark Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing