We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“feeding time at the zoo!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
smartline Village Resort & Waterpark
Ranked #31 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“feeding time at the zoo!”
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

A hit and miss stay.

originally we were put in a room right at the bottom of the hill which is sometimes used for staff, well it was so dark and cold, with no windows! also came back from dinner one night to find a couple getting intimate on pur 'balcony', so avoid the really low rooms!
After numerous requests to move we were eventually allocated another room at the top of the hill after 3 days. The difference was like night and day, light, bright and airy with a sea view! We could have been staying in a different hotel.

Ideal hotel for families as its got a small waterpark on site, much better than going to a larger waterpark as the queues are much less!

Adults pool is just bliss to get away from the hustle and bustle of the main pool and is really well staffed by the batman controlling noise and kids! This was the best part of the holiday.

Worst part is definitely the restaurant and the food. It really is like feeding time at the zoo, with screaming kids running around everywhere, stacks of tables that are waiting to be cleared, queues for food and empty drinks machines. When you do eventually get some food, it's cold, and unrecognisable, a surprise every night. Without doubt the worst hotel food I've ever experienced and I'm not at all a fussy eater.

Bar food in the day was great tho, perfect for the purpose.

Overall, a clean hotel in a fairly good location with nice facilities and lovely rooms (if you can get one!), but seriously let down by its restaurant!


  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager Z, Manager at smartline Village Resort & Waterpark, responded to this review, June 15, 2015
At first it would like to thank you for spending time to write your Review in tripadvisor. As with any review about our hotel, we take all criticism into consideration and the opinions of our guests seriously.As you can see the hotel has now a new name , The Village Resort and a new managment , Zeus hotels. Everything is different now and as you read in the reviews the most of the clients are happy to be here. it will be a pleaure if we could host you again in the Village Resort

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    419
    203
    72
    39
See reviews for
789
208
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Great resort. We just returned with our 3 year old boy and our friends. The food was great, hotel was clean and modernish. Staff were really great. Kids club and the activity guys were top class. Already considering booking for next year

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scottish_chef99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager Z, Manager at smartline Village Resort & Waterpark, responded to this review, June 13, 2015
We are very happy to know that you had a great time in our resort and we hope to meet you again in your next holidays.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I stayed here with my 2 boys, 13 and 17 for 1 week end of May beginning of June. The hotel room was not as in the picture I saw and was disappointed at first but to be fair thats just a base, it was clean and spacious and we had a nice bit porch to sit on in the evenings.
We had a room right at the top of the hill which is tiresome but good work out for the legs and works off a few calories from the all inclusive food and drink.
I thought the whole complex was very clean. There was plenty to do for everyone if you wanted to participate. Sun loungers was no problem in getting either which was another bonus.
The food was always really lovely and nothing to complain about at all.
The cocktail list, not much to choose from but maybe i'm fussy because it didn't include malibu unless I wanted to pay for it.
The water slides was also great for kids and adults.
All in all money wise I think this hotel was great. x

Room Tip: try and get a room by the main pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager Z, Manager at smartline Village Resort & Waterpark, responded to this review, June 13, 2015
We are very happy to know that you had a great time in our resort and we hope to meet you again in your next holidays.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Our room was right at the top of the resort, two good sized rooms with a balcony and a fantastic view all across the resort and the sea! The climb up the hill was a struggle at first but we soon got used to it but we are in our 20's, the food was ok-pretty repetitive and some strange "concoctions" (spinach gratin was actually macaroni cheese with peas and mushroom), the self serve wine is only available at lunch & dinner-wine is vile!! Alcoholic drinks were quite basic compared to previous hotels and found some of the bar staff to stare at the chests of woman. For the first few days it was hard to find anybody else that was English, everybody seemed to stare and think this wasn't rude (they were soon told) The relax pool was the nicest part of the hotel yet some children still managed to linger. Overall I probably wouldn't recommend the hotel but we still had a fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunSeaSalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager Z, Manager at smartline Village Resort & Waterpark, responded to this review, June 15, 2015
At first it would like to thank you for spending time to write your Review in tripadvisor. As with any review about our hotel, we take all criticism into consideration and the opinions of our guests seriously.As you can see the hotel has now a new name , The Village Resort and a new managment , Zeus hotels. Everything is different now and as you read in the reviews the most of the clients are happy to be here. it will be a pleaure if we could host you again in the Village Resort

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed here for 2 weeks end of May beginning of June and it was lovely. Food was great, pools were great, staff are very friendly and there was plenty to do. There was a varied selection of food so there was always something we liked. We have children between 12 and 2 so we spent a lot of time pool hopping which was good because there was a pool to suit each age. The staff couldn't do enough to help with anything we needed. I would reccomend the photos as at first I was avoiding them and by the end they had some lovely pictures they put together of us all with no obligation to buy and we love them. There is a bus that runs most hours but you do have to guess where in the hotel it is going to pick you up from most of the time but apart from that it is perfect. Would definatly reccomend and would definatly go back!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Lea-R-Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager Z, Manager at smartline Village Resort & Waterpark, responded to this review, June 13, 2015
We are very happy to know that you had a great time in our resort and we hope to meet you again in your next holidays.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Had a really great holiday here, very clean and well kept. Staff were all very pleasant and helpful especially the guys at the pool, well done Eddie, Mario, Nicky and Carrie brilliant fun. The bar staff were also extremely helpful and looked after us well Yanis and Antonio always pleasant and courteous. Yes there is a hill on the way up to these apartments but it is not really that bad, although walking back here from town is a bit more difficult for elderly or people with health problems but there is a shuttle bus every hour. The staff here really go out of their way to make this place work and I can advise anyone to go there. Food was good although a bit repetitive after two weeks but no one will starve here. One small complaint was that the outer doors on some of the apartments are closed using a locking mechanism which uses a small metal spike on the floor, this is dangerous and could ruin someone's holiday if stood on but I have been informed that the apartments are being updated over the next few years and hopefully this will be remedied. The kids had great fun at the water slides which are free and well supervised, the play area could be a bit bigger but again well looked after and clean. All in all a great holiday and would definitely go there again. Well done Maria and her staff.

Room Tip: From what our family observed all the rooms seem to be of high quality, we had four apartments and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank johncairns2556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager Z, Manager at smartline Village Resort & Waterpark, responded to this review, June 13, 2015
We are very happy to know that you had a great time in our resort and we hope to meet you again in your next holidays.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Where do I begin?

My partner and I stayed here in May 2013 for two weeks. Things started off bad and got progressively worse.

The hotel didn't appear to be properly open in the first week of our stay, as we were travelling as a couple with no children we were looking forward to spending time at the adult only "relax" pool. Sadly "relax" was the last thing we were able to do, the sunbeds lining the pool did not have any cushions or any umbrellas available, despite numerous requests we were told no cushions or umbrellas were available. The bar at the Relax pool was not opened once during our stay, meaning a long walk downhill and back up whenever we wanted a drink.

On the third day of our holiday workmen began putting up umbrellas and we noticed a room next to the pool stacked floor to ceiling with sunbed cushions. Despite additional requests we were told we were not allowed these as they had the "wrong covers". We ended up removing cushions from chairs in our room for at least a crumb of comfort.

The first few days I actually found the food to be of a good standard, sadly this was short lived. The hotel began to fill up after the first four or five days with a huge amount of Russian travellers, as the numbers increased the food standard dropped like a stone. A day didn't go by that either my partner or I found undercooked meat. For the last three days of our stay we had to eat out as we couldn't bear the thought of eating in the resort. It wasn't even just the food, it was sheer carnage every meal time with staff slow to clear tables and people almost fighting for the food and tables.

The meal times were a big pain for us too. Breakfast was 7.30 until 10. With a continental breakfast available from 10 until 10.30. Lunchtime was 12 until 14.30 an dinner was 19.00 until 21.30. This meant that there was no food available for adults from 14.30 until 19.00! There was a snack bar for children only, but nothing at all for adults! Not quite all inclusive. It wasn't until two days before our departure that an adult snack bar was opened and all this was serving was left over chips from lunch time.

The rooms are very basic. Expect to pay 3 euros per day to access the safe in your room and 7 euros per day (yes 7 euros!) for WiFi. Although I didn't purchase the WiFi people regularly complained that the range was poor and the speed bad. There are no English TV channels and DVD films are played on loop on two of the channels, this sounds OK but sadly the same films would be on for days and sometimes just the first ten minutes or so and the DVD would restart.

We also had ants in our bed (see attached photos) this didn't bother us too much we have travelled a lot and seen worse, so we notified the cleaner and thought the problem would be dealt with. All she did was turn our sheets round!

Generally I found the staff to be terribly unhelpful and lazy, even something as simple as ordering a taxi was met with huffs and rolling eyes.

There was absolutely no daytime or evening entertainment whatsoever despite the hotel and Thomas Cook advertising as much as part of the all inclusive package.

The all inclusive alcoholic drinks stopped being served at 23.00. After this time the prices are quite frankly abysmal.

As others have mention the resort is very hilly and appeared to be a real struggle for parents with buggies or any older people.

For the life of me I cannot understand why Thomas Cook use the Mareblue or how this place remains in business, I urge you to look elsewhere if you intend on enjoying your holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lisa3383_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager Z, Manager at smartline Village Resort & Waterpark, responded to this review, June 15, 2015
At first it would like to thank you for spending time to write your Review in tripadvisor. As with any review about our hotel, we take all criticism into consideration and the opinions of our guests seriously.As you can see the hotel has now a new name , The Village Resort and a new managment , Zeus hotels. Everything is different now and as you read in the reviews the most of the clients are happy to be here. it will be a pleaure if we could host you again in the Village Resort

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.6 mi away
Star Beach Village & Water Park
Star Beach Village & Water Park
#25 of 171 in Hersonissos
726 reviews
0.6 mi away
Imperial Belvedere
Imperial Belvedere
#44 of 171 in Hersonissos
729 reviews
4.8 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#5 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,969 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Belvedere
Royal Belvedere
#40 of 171 in Hersonissos
795 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arminda Hotel and SPA
Arminda Hotel and SPA
#22 of 171 in Hersonissos
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to smartline Village Resort & Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about smartline Village Resort & Waterpark

Property: smartline Village Resort & Waterpark
Address: Characostres, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece (Formerly Zeus Hotels Village Resort & Waterpark)
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#28 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#43 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — smartline Village Resort & Waterpark 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your smartline Village Resort & Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mareblue Village & Aqua Park Hotel Chersonisos
Mareblue Village And Aqua Park
Mareblue Village Hersonissos
Mareblue Village Hotel Hersonissos
Smartline Village Resort & Waterpark Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing