We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
smartline Village Resort & Waterpark
Ranked #34 of 172 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Just returned from a week at Mareblue with my Fiance and Mum. All in all had a fab time. Weather was superb, Hotel clean and Staff were friendly. Food was average but always something for everyone. Sometimes had to queue but we werent in any hurry.

We stayed in room 904 which was quite far up the hill but we managed it just...

Lacked in evening entertainment however it was near the end of the season and is less then a week til the hotel closes.

Definately recommend the Poseidon glass bottom boat. 28euros each but defo worth the money. Captain Haris was very friendly and kept everyone all involved.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emz1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,223)
There are newer reviews for smartline Village Resort & Waterpark
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

438 - 444 of 1,223 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

The climb up the hill to the rooms could be a problem for older people we are both in our late 50s and my wife has a heart condition but she took her time and it was ok so don't let this put you off.The rooms strike you as a bit basic when you first see them but when you look harder nothing is missing they were kept clean and the linen changed as often as any hotel.The resort is laid out like a village with the rooms like houses with 3 storeys and the main building is at the bottom of the hill.Meals were well cooked and a reasonable selection of the usual fully inclusive type fayre.The hotel really needs to sort out the spillage from the drink dispensing machines as this could quite often cause a fall hazard.The weekly Greek night was the only entertainment whilst we were there with a quiz and bingo on one night there is a theatre on the site but it only seemed to be used for kids shows.The staff were all very helpful and friendly and i couldnt fault the service.The pools all looked clean we used the relax pool which was adults only and quiet.All in all I thought for the price the hotel has agood location and the free bus runs you into town if you need it we had a good holiday and i would recommend it.

Room Tip: go for a room on the middle floor not too far up the hill
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Theduke900ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Not four star - should be a three. First some of the good:
The staff all very friendly, they enjoyed my attempts at speaking Greek! (even the old guy at the 'relax pool').
Food was good, its mainly Greek but what do you expect!!
Exercise, built on a hill....
Rooms were kept clean and tidy especially as we're not the neatest...
Relax pool - supposed to be quiet and the staff ensure it is so... if you want to splash about go to the water park, or family pool or kids pool - yes, lots of choice of pools...
Where could they improve?
Entertainment, a fun Greek night on Saturdays but apart from a quiz and bingo aimed at the Germans nothing else.
Shower flooded the floor each time.
Tidying the grounds around the pools...
Provide a shuttle into town...even at a nominal charge..
Cotton sheets didn't fit the bed...
Dim the lights in reception and put some coloured lights around the bar to create atmosphere.

Would we stay again? probably...if at the right price

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We have just rerturned from spending 10days at the Mareblue. The hotel is rated as a 4 star but in my opinion it is only about a 3 star. The rooms were very basic but reasonably clean with bedlinen changed every 3-4 days and towels changed daily. The dining room was a nightmare - queues everywhere so by the time you got your food it was cold, the food quality and selection (mainly the hot food) was poor. Children were running wild, helping themselves to food and then leaving it everywhere, the parents didn't seem to care or be bothered. There was no hand sanitization before entering the restaurant. We have never stayed at an all inclusive and not been given some sort of i.d. wristband or card etc., which we foundmost strange. The entertainment was very lacking. A Greek Night on a Saturday and then a couple of times a week bingo or a quize which was quite poor considering there was no transport laid on to go into town of an evening. There was a courtesy bus to take you down to the beach during the day. The swimming pool area was quite disgusting the grassy area was mostly muddy and the grass was about 2ft in places, the umbrellas were ripped and very tatty and the sunbeds not much better. Berware of the relax pool as the man in charge is like a rotweiller, no noise whatsoever or he barks at you ! The hotel is not suitable for people with walking difficulties or breathing problems as it is a very steep climb to your rooms so if you do have any health issues make sure you have a room low down. The hotel seemed very well worn and could do with some t.l.c. although most of the staff were very polite and friendly.

Room Tip: ask for a room low down due to many of the rooms being up a steep hill
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charles110544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Just came back from holiday in Crete. Mareblue Village Hotel was ok, but nothing amazing. It is good standard but definately not 4 star.
Hill was indeed steep. We were on the very top room and always going back to the room we were catching our breath (we are still young). But thats not the reason to complain. Aquapark bit consisted of 4 slides and a lazy river. It was good fun for the kids, slides were very slow.
Pools were very good, there is a relax pool on top of the hill, you may get told off if you behave too loud, but thats great for a bit of the rest. At the pool by the restaurant there are lots of kids running, jumping and generallymaking noise, so go up the hill if you are looking for the peace. There was lots of older couples in the hotel and families with kids, we haven't seen many younger couples like us.
Hotel is in the middle of nowhere, but we didn't mind. We were happy to walk a lot. it is about 30 minutes walk to centre of Hersonissos. There is also a beautiful sandy beach at Stalis- 35minutes walk.
Room was very basic, there wasn't any toiletiers. Although the room was kept very clean everyday and the seaview was amazing.
There was no evening entartainment for the whole week (apart from quiz and bingo). There was a Greek show every Saturday, which was good.
Food was quite repetetive, as mentioned in other reviews, but it was not that bad. We stayed for 6 nights and ate out twice, but still we were tired of the same things. For the first two nights there was hardly any meat to choose from, which my boyfriend was not very happy about. This improved later and there was a selection of lamb, turkey,beef and chicken most of the time. However, there was hardly any seafood. We went out to the nearby village for dinner and the food was delicious there- place is called The Alchemist- traditional homemade Greek dishes... Mareblue Village hotel is a strong 3 star.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank 85Monika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed at this village last week, had read very mixed reports so expectations were not too high. We were very pleasantly surprised. The rooms were very clean and well aired, the food was amazing. We were all inclusive and always found the food very tasty and varied, it was always well stocked up and very fresh. The staff were friendly and the room was cleaned to a high standard every single day and the air conditioning worked super. Pools were clean, drinks and cocktails were brilliant. Definaletly would go again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rabbiteyes22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

As the title explains this hotel is average. We arrived in the middle of the day and were taken straight to our rooms in a golf buggy. This was helpful as the the 'climb' to the rooms would have been unbearable with luggage. Our rooms were 1050 and 1051, we had requested to be away from the kids pool and were therefore put in the highest rooms. I would like to say the views made the walk worth while but it was quite a climb, we over looked all of the hotel and could see up and down the coast. We were above the relax pool so it was always very quite. The rooms, while basic, were very clean and comfortable, no complaints, again just average.
As we went in September we did not expect the hotel to be very busy, which it was not, however we still had to queue for drinks at times, especially on a night, however they don't mind you ordering as much as you can carry to save repeat trips.
We never found we had to queue for food, but we tended to eat around 8pm, the only night we queued was the Greek night where we ate early before the entertainment. This is a must if you are staying.. so much fun..!
The food itself was ok, there was always something to eat but not as good as other similar hotels, we were only there for one week and felt the food became repetitive.
The hotel is the same distance from Hersonisoss as it is from Stalis and the hotel is more than happy to organise taxis, between 7 and 10 euros. There is a free bus to Star beach from which you wan walk about 10 minutes into the centre of Hersonisoss.
The pool areas could do with a bit of an update, the pool where the large slides are is probably the best however we spent our time at the relax pool where the barman tells you off for swimming too loudly! He does however make sure it stays nice and relaxing.
We love this area of Crete and will definitely be back but I doubt it will be to the Mareblue.

Room Tip: Beware of the steep hills, if you have trouble walking ask for a lower room.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holiday1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
0.6 mi away
Star Beach Village & Water Park
Star Beach Village & Water Park
#30 of 172 in Hersonissos
752 reviews
0.6 mi away
Imperial Belvedere
Imperial Belvedere
#43 of 172 in Hersonissos
768 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arminda Hotel and SPA
Arminda Hotel and SPA
#28 of 172 in Hersonissos
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royal Belvedere
Royal Belvedere
#39 of 172 in Hersonissos
816 reviews
4.8 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
6.6 mi away
Gouves Park Holiday Resort
Gouves Park Holiday Resort
#10 of 36 in Kato Gouves
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to smartline Village Resort & Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about smartline Village Resort & Waterpark

Address: Characostres, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece (Formerly Zeus Hotels Village Resort & Waterpark)
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#28 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#43 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: $90 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — smartline Village Resort & Waterpark 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your smartline Village Resort & Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mareblue Village & Aqua Park Hotel Chersonisos
Mareblue Village And Aqua Park
Mareblue Village Hersonissos
Mareblue Village Hotel Hersonissos
Smartline Village Resort & Waterpark Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing