We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for a family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
smartline Village Resort & Waterpark
Ranked #34 of 172 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Ignore any bad reviews the hotel was a good choice with friendly staff and a top notch entertainment team. Plus the new on site water park. I would defo recommend this a place to stay......

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dazelll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MareblueHotels, Sales Executive at smartline Village Resort & Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2011

Dear Reviewer, we were delighted to see from your review that you had a great holiday with us and that you highly recommend Mareblue Village for future guests. Thank you for mentioning our valuable assets like our staff, service and facilities such as Aqua Park. We are looking forward to seeing you again in Mareblue Village in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

598 - 604 of 1,240 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2011

Just got back from a week at the Mareblue Village which we arranged DIY. Booked the hotel through Hotels4u as they were the cheapest I found, also booked our transfer with them. Booked flights through First Choice flights web sita, again as cheapest. We are a family of four and booked two cases and had four handbaggage which was just enough for us. Hotels4U transfers had booked us two separate car taxis though when we actually only used one. Paid all in all about £1400 which is a great price for AI in half term week, though our flights were nightmare times lol.
The hotel is fantastic. Reception area clean and welcoming, lots of leather furniture to sit on. We arrived very late at night and were whisked away to our rooms on a golf buggy. The rooms are in little two or three storey bungalows. Yes it is on a (slightly) steep hill, as is well publicised on all the sites I found regarding this hotel. As we are young and able bodied this was not a problem at all as it shouldn't be for anyone else unless they are completely unfit or lazy (obviously if you are less able bodied then I would not recommend this hotel unless you are prepared to use the golf buggys - which some young and seemingly fit people were doing!!!). I actually thought that the hill gave the hotel extra charm as it felt like a proper little Greek village. The bedroom was huge! We had two bedrooms and a bathroom with a bath. Furniture was very sparse though. The bed linen looks a bit tired, though was clean. Our daughter got felt tip on her bed one night and it was all changed the next day. If I'm really picky then I would have liked a better clean of the rooms TBH, though they were by no means dirty. No toileteries except for liquid dispenser at the bath and sink (this is not a complaint, just sharing info for people who aren't sure what they need to take). We had a ground floor room, with terrace. Food is great, people who moan on her about it must have very limiting diets as there was something for everyone. You can tell though that they have cut costs on the food and drink (chicken wings, braised beef etc so cheaper cuts of meat though always delicious). There was a carvery choice of the day too. Loads and loads of salads, few veg dishes. Their cheese pie is to die for - you must try it!! Loads for brekkie, bacon, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, fried eggs, fried potatoes, their own home made beans, funny sausages (as always ;) ) hams, cheeses, breads, salad veg (yes and folks were eating it) pancakes, waffles, jams, canned fruit, dried fruit - the list goes on. Fruit juice is from a dispenser and is a cordial type. Fizzy pop and wine and beer are self service on tap. Outside of meal times there are snack selections. The main bar is nothing to write home about and the daytime bartenders are a bit grim. Ice cream is only available here between 2 and 4 pm which is a bit odd. They would be better to have a freezer stacked with cheap ice pops or lollies instead. The main pool is very busy, it has a kiddy pool to the side with a couple of little slides. If you want "front row" loungers youll need to be down before 9. There is, further up the hill, a relax pool which is lovely, quiet, lovely chatty barman, plush loungers. No kids allowed though so we only had a brief visit. There is also a seperate "kids paradise" area with a great pool with loads of fountains, slides etc for the young kids. They have their own snack bar. The lovely girl there makes home made burgers (very yum), hotdogs, toasties, popcorn and ice cream. There is also, new in May, a brand new slide pool for the older kids with very fast big slides (4) and a lazy river. Another bar up here but its mostly nice coffee and slush drink served. Nice quiet terrace area to enjoy.
At breakfast the goats come down the hill side which is nice to watch. The setting is lovely though there are pylons either side of the resort. We didnt leave the hotel as we only had a week and we really needed just some R&R. We didnt do any of the entertainment either. There is now a Thomas Cook entertainment team in there along with the German team. They worked together on the water basketball games - which was nice. The German team always speak in English too and say "every one is welcome". There is a shop on site but it is pretty pricey for what they provide. Overall we had a fab holiday. I would recommend that the hotel put some sun loungers up at the new slide pool and at kids paradise (families there just had towels on the grass). This would help alleviate the pressure on the main pool. We would certainly go again, at the right price. Thanks for a great holiday!! (oh and yes, there was chips every day, pasta for the kids, nuggets a couple of times and fish fingers a couple of times. If you get a good price, please go! Just remember, you dont get champagne at lemonade prices!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MareblueHotels, Sales Executive at smartline Village Resort & Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2011

Dear Reviewer, thank you for a really thorough review, on behalf of all the staff of Mareblue Village. It makes us all very happy to have satisfied guests enjoying their calm and relaxing holidays with us. Thank you also for your tips. I'm sure they will be very helpfull to future guests. We are all looking forward to welcome you again in Mareblue Village for another relaxing holiday with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

everything was fantastic, cleanliness, staff, food, accomodation, staff work extremely hard, plenty of things for the kids to do, plenty of food available at all times.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jeanette075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

We have written many reviews on this site over the past few years most of them in favour of the hotels reviewed. Let us state we are not professional moaners, but we do have a lot of experience in catering and the hotel industry. A lot of people we speak to have genuine moans about hotels and it is the same about The Mareblue Village, but they have never heard of Trip Adviser to air them on.

To start off the location of the hotel is way out and the local town of Hersonissos is nothing more than a dump at the hotel end with no transport to and from the hotel except taxis or to walk down a very steep hill and a limited shuttle to Star Beach, which is still a long walk away from the town. The far end of Hersonissos is much better and more alive.

The hotel itself is on a hillside with steep hills between the hotel blocks, totally unsuitable for the older guests and anybody with any kind of mobility problem. This is a fully inclusive hotel and is really only suitable for families and not more mature couples. There is plenty of entertainment which is family orientated. The rooms are very basic but clean with kettle and fridge, towels are changed daily and sheets every other day.

There are a lot of foreign guests in the hotel particularly German and Russian; you have to beat them at their own game of reserving loungers. There are 3 children’s pools in the complex, with 1 family pool and the relax pool which is the only area where children are not permitted.

Food is very poor, soggy chips and sauté potatoes, very few other types of potatoes at most meals. Chips were available at every meal. Too much food was recycled and repeated, there was a lot of greed of people taking more than necessary and particularly Russian guests who by the look of them thought there would not be enough food to go around. Veal or pork was served at most meals started to look like it by the end of the week. There was a Greek evening without any Traditional Greek Food most disappointing with only western food again.

There were a lot of Bars open all day, with the lounge bar the only one open in the evening. Some children were not controlled in the lounge in the evenings, parents not caring about ball games in doors with attitude they are kids were you not one once. Children as young as 1 still running about loose at midnight, on more than one occasion glasses were knocked over by footballs skimming the tables. Drink abuse played a large part in the problems, to many parents under the influence and not caring. There were a couple of incidents due to too much alcohol.

Thomas Cook rated this hotel as 4 star, most for accommodation would be 2 and food much less. This hotel is not suitable for a quite holiday, but is very suitable for families who like to live mainly on Junk Food and do not care.

Most of the staff were very helpful particularly the porters who moved the cases, they would run us up the hill if they had no other work.

Sorry to say this hotel falls at the bottom of our list with only one other in Turkey. We definately would not stay here again. The bad reviews are right in this case and should be taken notice of.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MareblueHotels, Sales Executive at smartline Village Resort & Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2011

Dear Reviewer,
thank you very much for posting your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We are glad to see that you have rated high our staff performance (4/5), cleanliness of our rooms (5/5) and sleep quality (4/5).
Mareblue Village is a family hotel featuring an aqua park, 5 swimming pools and supervised mini clubs for the young guests. Many families from different countries (Germany, UK, Russia, Belgium, Switzerland, France, Scandinavian countries) choose our property due to the range of facilities offered to parents and their children.
Our main buffet restaurant offers greek & international cuisine. Twice per week we offer theme buffet (mexican & italian) and on a daily basis we offer traditional greek products. Eventough we respect different opinions, food is always a matter of taste.
There is a daily shuttle bus – free of charge—six times per day to Star Beach. Additionally, we offer free transfer at 21:00 to the Hersonissos village.
We look forward to welcoming you again on our property.
Should you need any further information please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sales & Marketing Department
Mareblue Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

My partner and I stayed here for 2 wks from 10th May .. I thought the rooms were sparse but as been to Crete before, was expecting this. The rooms more to the point were spotless and cleaned everyday with fresh towels. The food was really good like all A/I you need to use your imagination or you get in a rut !! but the choice was really good Veal and Lamb on a lot lovely veg selection each nite and alway great salad stuff .. wine and beer on tap for you to help yourself... quite annoying waiter trying to sell you bottles of wine each nite and getting a bit rude by the end of our holiday as we were not buying any!!! we sat outside most of the time to avoid the "dinner hall" feeling.. All the pools were great .. the water slides with the lazy river was a complete suprise that this was included.... the relax pool was great the goats come down the mountains most days to graze... very relaxing.... we loved it and would defo go back with kids next time ..
I would say our only let down was Thomas Cooks reps... very rude and not helpfull.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank deano999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2011

My partner myself and our 3 boys stayed here in may for 1 week ,it was a brilliant holiday the rooms were nice and clean with fresh towels daily.The food was lovely and had a varied choice there was plenty to eat hotdogs,hamburgers,icecreams for the children.The weather was lovely and hot just the way i like it !!!! The entertainment could of been better there was bingo every night ,this made me happy because i do love my bingo but i did notice that the thomas cook reps were making a good profit out of this by putting money in to their bags ???? Surely this is what you would call Robbery from the holiday makers !!!!
Written by the malby family from newcastle upon tyne united kingdom.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank alfies186394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

We stayed at the Mareblue Village hotel on 3rd may for 1 week, the staff met us at 1am in the morning and aranged for us to have some food and drink and where told not to worry about lugage they would sort that once we had eaten.

This was the start of an excellent well catered for holiday - My daughter aged 10 father aged 72 and my husband and I both 40 enjoyed all this resort had to offer.

Restraunt offered Greek - German and english food along with other specialities - salad- deserts to die for and main meals you where never hungry - looking around the dining room I never saw anyone not eat.
All pools were open - family pool - Kids pool with snack bar my daughter could have her fill of snacks and icecream 10-6 new water park the slides are great well worth a trip down and that was the adults lol.
Rooms are greek style - why you visit the country I thought, reading some of these reviews I wonder why they book abroad?
Yes the hill is steep - easy going down hard coming up a taxi from the town centre is 10 euros and if you are driniking out a great idea, make friends and share the cost.
Local towns have great shops and bars -
Thomson entertainment staff new for 2011 had just arrived so poor guys just finding their feet but where willing to do all you asked.
You make this holiday what you want from it - Lazy - stay by pool bars open 10am -11pm on all enclusive then open to cash until 1am.
active holiday - get a bus from the bottom of the hill and go to Agro Nichalasso its amazing and worth the 4.2 euros each way.
Lacy family say thank you to Mareblue village and Thomsons for a great saty wish we had booked 10 days.

Room Tip: Special request on your booking form
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank jellylacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.6 mi away
Star Beach Village & Water Park
Star Beach Village & Water Park
#26 of 172 in Hersonissos
786 reviews
0.6 mi away
Imperial Belvedere
Imperial Belvedere
#42 of 172 in Hersonissos
797 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Belvedere
Royal Belvedere
#43 of 172 in Hersonissos
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#9 of 172 in Hersonissos
774 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#2 of 13 in Koutouloufari
1,174 reviews
2.2 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#7 of 172 in Hersonissos
3,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to smartline Village Resort & Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about smartline Village Resort & Waterpark

Address: Characostres, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece (Formerly Zeus Hotels Village Resort & Waterpark)
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#27 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#43 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: $95 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — smartline Village Resort & Waterpark 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your smartline Village Resort & Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mareblue Village & Aqua Park Hotel Chersonisos
Mareblue Village And Aqua Park
Mareblue Village Hersonissos
Mareblue Village Hotel Hersonissos
Smartline Village Resort & Waterpark Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing