We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place shame about the hills” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smartline Village Resort & Waterpark

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Smartline Village Resort & Waterpark
Ranked #23 of 178 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice place shame about the hills”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2011

This resort hotel was spotless,and the staff we found were very friendly and helpful.The reception staff even more so,got taken to our room,which was very clean and roomy with a/c and a lovely balcony,by golf cart.
We hired a car for the week we were there,and glad we did as the Mareblue is about a mile from beeches and Hersonissos town.There is a free bus laid on by the hotel,but the guests we talked to felt tied to the Mareblue and had to rely alot on public transport.This is an all Inclucive resort,but the drinks finished at 11pm then you had to pay.The resort is set on a hill,and the less fit amongst you may struggle.
The first night ,we were there it was Greek night and the entertainment was really good,but that was it for the rest of the week ,this was a shame.We found the disco and other entertainment was very German based.
The food was really good ,with a very good choice of food,through all meals.
To sum things up nice place shame about the hills.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ted048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    384
    192
    67
    36
See reviews for
717
201
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
STIRLING, SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2010

We found this hotel to be very clean, spotless in fact, including the toilets in the public areas and rooms. The staff were very very efficient, friendly and very hardworking. What we didn't like which is why we rated an average was the location, on a steep hill, the lack of entertainment and the limited transport into town. They do run a free shuttle bus between 10.00am and 8.00pm, 7 runs per day, but this is not much use if you would like to venture out in the evenings for a meal etc. and the bus only takes you to the edge of town. They could do with a better bus run further into town and later in the evening.
They had a kid's club which was run by Germans and frankly not too friendly towards non German speaking people so there wasn't much for our young children to do. They had a Bingo evening one night and a Quiz night, both in German. When we asked if they would translate into English they snapped that they were speaking English. Well, if they were it must've been a version I didn't undertand!
Not quite sure why the woman from Bristol (Georgieporgie) was told the hotel was closed on the 21st of October as we were still there then & there were still lots of German families there. The hotel made it quite clear that they close at the end of October as does most of Hersonissos as it is the official end of season. I suspect the problenm is more to do with her travel agent than the hotel.

What we did enjoy was the food which could not be faulted. It was varied, fresh, plantifull and quite simply delicious! In our opinion, if they get themselves sorted out with some English speaking entertainment (or any entertainment for that matter), improve the transport it would be a gem of a place to go as long as you can cope with the steep climb.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusanJimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol england uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2010

Me and my Mother were scheduled to visit mareblue on the 21st october for one week. We paid £1000 for the two of us for all inclusive plus flights. However, one week before going, we received an email (Thankfully, i checked my emails; usually i don't and we would have been left unaware as no phone call was made) to inform us that the mareblue had shut early and we were being transferred into a 3* hotel which is right by the loud nightclubs! They offered us money back but only for the hotel and not for flights! Be extremely careful when booking, regarding the season (No, we were not warned that the hotel could be shut during October at all), especially with holiday packages as you will not get your money back for flights and transfers! A holiday that we were looking forward to so much has now been ruined due to mareblue's unreliable seasons! Sorry to be a moaner but i don't want other people being very disappointed as we were. Book somewhere that has a reliable season!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank georgiaaphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2010

this hotel is exactly as it is described, lovely clean and welcoming, but such a shame its so far away from anywhere, the food was varied and very tasty, yes there was the obligatory chips with every meal but its up to you what you eat, i think a lot of people just like to moan about something and if they cant find anything justifiable they choose the catering side of a holiday, the bar staff did a fantastic job, we never waited to be served maybe thats because we always said please and thankyou, i dont remember being on a holiday where people forgot their manners so much, our room was great, very spacious and cleaned every day, we were lucky to be right behind reception and pool bar, so didnt have to climb the hill,we did go up to the relax pool but only the once, not because of the climb but because it was too quiet and the sunbeds seemed very close to each other, the main pool was great and the annimation team did a good job with sometimes very unwilling participants but they eventually enjoyed it, we never went to any of the evening shows as we like to entertain ourselves, but on the whole we couldnt find fault with them, the shuttle bus was great it ran from 10am till 8pm and was always there when scheduled, on the whole i cannot see what some of the bad comments were for, the hotel is exactly as described and i would recommend it to anyone who wants a really nice hotel away from it all, that is a very high standard accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pam582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2010

We stayed for two weeks with our 4 year old and an 18 month old. Double room was basic but clean, nice balcony and only a short walk to the hotel itself and pools. Nice village atmosphere. Food was surprisingly varied and of a good quality. Three pools, two of which were great for kids, the third, a "relax" pool, I didnt manage to see. Staff very helpful and friendly. Some activities for kids but largely German speaking and not brilliant. Gym and tennis courts fine and overall feel of the place was very pleasant.
Only negatives are for the area not the resort. The local town Hersonisomething is horrible. The next nearest town, Malia, is revolting and theres very little else to do. Luckily we managed to hire a car and did a bit of exploring. Within a 10 minute drive there are actually some very nice beaches and within 20 mins, some very pretty little villages.
A very good and pleasant hotel though you will need to hire a car (we paid 100 euros for 5 days inclusive) if you want to explore a little and get away.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hamishg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2010

I never write reviews but after reading some of the 'laughable' and unkind ones about the Mareblue Village, felt that I had to. We normally go self catering in Greece but we were on a budget so chose all inclusive. The hotel was clean, the food was very good, (if you want egg and chips please stay at home). We found the staff very helpful and friendly but we spent time talking to them so maybe that makes a difference? We did find the pools too claustrophobic so we either walked or caught the bus (which ran on time every day we were there) down to Star Beach and found a lovely quiet spot by the pool with lovely comfortable sun beds for 6 euros a day.

We didn't hire a car as not too comfortable driving abroad but we took the trip to Spinalonga which we both really enjoyed, it was really interesting and a great boat trip.

We were at the very top of the hotel and yes it is a steep hill but it gave us a giggle every day to see if we could get to the top without stopping! and it walked off the lovely food we ate every day. In all honesty it was a nice, clean, friendly hotel but we would not go back as we really missed going out experiencing the real Greece.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lainey2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2010

Staff particularly helpful/polite and "English-tolerant" :-)
Food VERY good / Bar "Free-flowing" :-)
Position uphill from seafront about 15 minutes (easy DOWN, bit nasty UP !)
Room clean/tidy/changed (just slightly hard mattress'), A/C WORKED :-)
Pool clean
Shuttle bus down to Star Beach is free, and ENTRY into the park is free, you
just pay for slides/activities/food, and you don't HAVE to go INTO
Star Beach - you can use it instead of walking up/down the hill :-)
Slight uphill to room, but not TOO bad !
** JUST as it looked/said in the brochures/website - ie no disappointments **

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank liquorice24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
0.5 mi away
Star Beach Village & Water Park
Star Beach Village & Water Park
#28 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
3.9 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#6 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
4.5 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Belvedere
Royal Belvedere
#35 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
2.0 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,553 reviews
6.3 mi away
Gouves Park Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smartline Village Resort & Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smartline Village Resort & Waterpark

Property: Smartline Village Resort & Waterpark
Address: Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece (Formerly Zeus Hotels Village Resort & Waterpark)
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#28 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#43 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Smartline Village Resort & Waterpark 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Smartline Village Resort & Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mareblue Village And Aqua Park
Mareblue Village & Aqua Park Hotel Chersonisos
Mareblue Village Hersonissos
Mareblue Village Hotel Hersonissos
Smartline Village Resort & Waterpark Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing