We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Sood's Garden Retreat
Ranked #1 of 65 Kalimpong B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A nice place to stay”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

To begin with, I was not very pleased during the booking when I was told "No Refund" - in case of cancellation/delay of arrival. Later, I hoped that my perception will change once I stay there.

We travelled to KP from Darjeeling & Soods was just outside the city on the edge of the highway. The name 'garden resort' made our hopes high as we expected a big garden with huge lawn but that was not case!

The reception was empty & we waited for a good 15 mins before someone showed up. There were no apologies offered but a look of "Why did you disturb me?" presented itself :)

We had a deluxe room, which was big & spacious with adequate furnishing. The view from the room was good however the bed covers were black in color which gave an eerie ambience to the room.
Upon enquiry, the reception pointed out the tours & the places that can be visited but later seemed uninterested when he learnt that we may not book the cab from this hotel. The food was ok & surprisingly the hotel was pretty much empty, we hardly saw another guest during the 2.5 days we stayed there. On the first day itself, the bathroom got flooded as a result of a chocked drainage & a parabolic bathroom floor design ;-)

Pros & Cons:

Pros:
1. One of the better places to stay & eat in KP
2. Well maintained garden with a small lawn, which means less people would bother to linger around hence more privacy.
3. Spacious rooms, ideal for a large family
4. You can enjoy your privacy in this nice isolated place, though being well connected to the city (800m to the city)

Cons:
1. Customer Service attitude - this was completely missing! No one greets, smiles, cares!
2. Hot water was an issue every day
3. No internet!!!!
4. Food rates are a tad higher than usual !
5. Water logging in the bathroom

Nice to have:
1. A free shuttle to the city, may be once/twice a day

Lastly, no one expects a 7 star treatment with all the amenities of a palace but what makes an impression on a guest is the customer service he experiences. In this case, we kept searching for this "attribute" in vain !

Room Tip: No point in spending double the tariff in getting a deluxe/super deluxe. If you find the basic ameni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sujan_Sarkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    70
    21
    3
    4
See reviews for
93
49
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Big spacious rooms with gud furnishings.
However, lacks basic hygiene.

The vicinity of the hotel area is very peaceful.

The hotel should improve the 'Customer Service'. I wanted to do online checkin for my flight to home city so i needed internet connection. The reception guy redirected me to go the the market area, dats ridiculous.

Would suggest the hotel guys to wear uniforms coz every other person is in civil dress and they all look one and the same, it becomes very difficult to trust somebody visiting your room at late nights.

Few inconveniences however i would still recommend this hotel since i enjoyed my stay there.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay_Nadar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Nice place to stay. Outside the city. Just 800 mts away from main market. No hustle bustle around the Hotel. Cool & calm atmosphere around. Staff & service is really impressive. Rates can be bargained.

Room Tip: Try to Get the suit 101 or 102. which have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bg0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for one night. Views are nice and the garden area is good but the food and chef are terrible. Insects, frogs and lizards in the dining area, cold food and a very limited selection.
Bathrooms very primitive with dirty towels and tiny soap bar. Not 3 star material.....

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gkalra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We lived for 2 days in Kalimpong . The room has nice view of the himalayas ( if the sky is clear).
The hotel is decent but I honestly felt its over priced for the facilities and food .
Food has very limited menu . There was no buffet breakfast .
There are lots of insects around so good night mat is a must .
The managment can definitely improve on the food menu ,cleanliness and other facilities

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjay-Gayatri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

I dont know about other Hotels in Kalimpong, but i think this place is like this only. Small hotels and no Big Brand in Hotels present there. A small room was given with very little ventillation. We reached in evening and the room was little hot. AC was not there. Only a small table fan. No welcome drinks. Soaps in the washroom were missing. Washroom was very small and toilet jet was not working. Small bed. The good part was smiling staff and food was also fine. View from window was very nice. Stayed on 4th June'12

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HimanshuSinghal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
109 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Good Points:
Wonderful View from Room
Garden
Spacious Rooms
Good Housekeeping
Friendly and Helpful Staff

Drawbacks:
Highly priced against facilities provided.
Menu contains only North Indian and Chinese - The price is high but is tasty
Buffet Breakfast was the worst I ever had.

Room Tip: Deluxe Rooms/ Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swastik73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalimpong hotels
0.2 mi away
Summit Barsana Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
The Elgin Silver Oaks, Kalimpong
0.6 mi away
Kalimpong Park Hotel
Kalimpong Park Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kalimpong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Dhardo Retreat and Resort
Dhardo Retreat and Resort
#6 of 14 in Kalimpong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.6 mi away
Breathing Stone Hotel
Breathing Stone Hotel
#8 of 14 in Kalimpong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.6 mi away
Deolo Cliff Eco Resort
Deolo Cliff Eco Resort
#40 of 65 in Kalimpong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sood's Garden Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sood's Garden Retreat

Property: The Sood's Garden Retreat
Address: Rishi Rd | 8.5 Miles, Kalimpong 734301, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kalimpong District > Kalimpong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Kalimpong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Sood's Garden Retreat 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
8.5 Miles is where you will find us, just 800 meters before the hustle and bustle of the market area set amidst nature with a breathtaking view, on the sunniest part of the hills. For whatever you have in mind you can't be better located. Near to all the site seeing interests. Laze on the rolling lawns or just admire the glory of the mighty Mt. Kanchenjunga from the restaurant, balconies or lawns. Let the children get naughty on the outdoor play area, swings and slides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Sood's Garden Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sood`s Garden Retreat Hotel Kalimpong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing