We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best Elgin property, but still pretty good.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Elgin Silver Oaks, Kalimpong
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kalimpong
Certificate of Excellence
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
103 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Not the best Elgin property, but still pretty good.”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

The Elgin Silver Oaks carries on the Elgin chain theme of British Victorian design and service -- very clean, a nice Indian menu with an especially good breakfast, Wifi in the lobby, nice grounds for relaxing when the weather is right. It is small, however, and most of the rooms and other spaces feel a bit cramped. The registration desk is nothing more than a wide spot in a hallway. The location in Kalimpong has a decent view when the weather is clear, but otherwise is in a nondescript part of town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Further_to_Fly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    103
    42
    12
    5
See reviews for
114
100
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Danbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was the last Elgin and would have to be very good after Mt Pandim. The standard of service was excellent particularly when we asked for early breakfast for our departure day.... not many hotels would be willing and able to offr a cooked breakfast at 0530hrs!! The property is a lot smaller than its namesakes elsewhere so we would have been very cramped if we had stayed for more than 2 nights. Only criticism was work-men decorating the reception area overnight were making a lot of noise ( until we asked them to be quiet)

Room Tip: WiFi if room near to reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pttbw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
121 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed a the Elgin Kalimpong in Oct 2012 after having tavelled to Gangtok and Pelling. The resort does justice to the name of Elgin but the rooms were smaller. We got a wall facing room initially which was changed next day to a garden facing one. The gardens although well maintained are not big and do not give the feel of a resort. The view is exceptional. The staff are helpful and they gave us lots of good inputs for sightseeing. The ambience of the restaurant was really good but hope the quality of food could match up which was mediocre.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shubhda7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Well maintained property with a flavor of the British Era. Food is good and service is excellent. Two dogs in the property made our stay even more enjoyable. Wi-Fi service is weak and does not work well. I recommend the property.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maxrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We tayed here as we had our summer home in Kalimpong many years ago.
The gardens in Kalimpong are still beautiful.
However the resturants are not of the same quality.
Some of the wait staff just do not want to be there and are surly.
Dr: Grahams homes are still helping the poorer people by giving them a good education.
It still is a good experience coming here, however Kalimpong has suffered over the years.
The hotel is about 3.5 to 4 star.
Siniliar to the Darjeeling Elgin, but not quite as good.
There are good views from the hotel Raj style .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rickberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
196 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Chose this property as I was told its the best around, and is closer to Bagdogra airport than Gangtok. Here are the pros and the cons...


Pro's

-check was fast.
-Saw the first room, had twin beds, was given a double room later on the first floor, last room 50 or 51 or something. The corner one.
-Large restaurant.


Cons:

-The room was small, stuffy, had old sofa which was not comfy sitting on.
-TV was very low on a stool.
-The windows had no meshing, so if you left it open in the night which we did as it was very very stuffy, insects come in.
-floor near the door creaks so much, everytime I walk on it, the cupboard opens
-Barthroom is small and was smelly
-toileteries like in all elgih hotels especially the soap was low quality.
-Also problems with hot water - like in all elgin hotels.
-2 big dogs bouncing around and all they say is, it wont do anything, wont assist you to get past it as not everyone are dog lovers.
-garden in front is all driedup.
-my room was next to someones house. At 5am the cock crows non stop every 3 minutes or so, and then the damn pigeons keep cooing - no sleep after that.
-when we checked in, we could bedsheets, table covers all dumped in heaps everywhere, not a pleasant sight.
-We were on a set menu, and found the food average. Food at dinner didnt agree with us and both me and my wife had a severe running stomach.
-Staff are not as efficient and friendly as at the other Elgin hotels
-Room was dull, one of the bedlights didnt work, we were too tired to tell anyone to fix it.

This place lacks something, cant quite place what ! Its old and tired !


We visited Deolo Hill - nothing there..... for the long drive, except for a bit of a view and we saw better views at other places. Went to the Oldest Roman Catholic Church, it was closed. Went to the Cactus Garden , that too was closed, so came back to the hotel.

On the whole, Kalimpong is a waste of time. Would never visit the hotel or the place again !

Room Tip: Take the rooms which has a sofa, atleast is comfortable to sit on and watch TV
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vinn_2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Elgin Silver Oaks, Kalimpong, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Sir !
We value your feedback ! The hotel manager has personally briefed the staff on their service and guest relations skill based on your feedback . We are sorry that you were unhappy with your room in the old wing of the hotel . We could only offer you this room due to high occupancy and no availability in the new wing . However we wish to inform you that the old wing bedrooms will be refurbished and renovated this off season .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel twice, and have -- for the most part -- enjoyed myself both times.

As others have mentioned here, the hotel feels like an old, colonial lodge and is quite charming, despite being a little worn around the edges. The furniture is old and in some places a bit shabby, but in the quaint, grandmotherly kind of decor sense.

The location for the hotel is great, and is close to town. On clear mornings, you can take tea in the garden and enjoy a wonderful view of the Himalayas.

The staff is helpful, and the place is kept tidy. I do think, however, that this hotel will need to update and to attune itself to the needs of modern, international travels if it is to continue its success in the face of growing competition.

My biggest complaint is with the lack of wi-fi. Our team stayed for ten days, and the wi-fi was broken, unreliable or turned off for most of that time. When we asked the staff about it, they always insisted that the problem was with the service provider, but our local office -- just a minute's walk away -- shares the same provider and had fast, constant service the entire time. On the days the wi-fi was working, the staff turned it off at night so none of us could communicate with our offices or families at home.

I have a few other minor quibbles that indicate that this hotel can improve its efforts on behalf of its guests. The bar was never restocked while we were there. They ran out of Kingfisher beer (hardly difficult to come by in India), which our team was keen to enjoy after a long day. We were told by the bartender that they would have it "tomorrow." We left town for a few days, and when we came back, they still didn't have it. Nor did they the next day. They offered us Fosters, but who comes to India to drink Aussie beer? Also, one of our rooms had a plumbing problem that made the bathroom smell awful, and there were a few electrical outlets that didn't work.

All in all, I'd love to stay at this hotel again. None of the minor quibbles would stop me from doing so. But if I check in on my next trip and there is no suitable wi-fi, I will check out, and I probably will not come back. Even though we negotiated a good rate, I would much rather stay at the cheaper Soods Garden, which also doesn't have internet. If I'm going to be isolated from the web or forced to settle for 3G from my phone, I might as well do it while saving a little money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_McCo11um
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalimpong
0.6 mi away
Summit Barsana Resort & Spa
12.6 mi away
The Elgin, Darjeeling
The Elgin, Darjeeling
#4 of 97 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kalimpong Park Hotel
Kalimpong Park Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kalimpong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
The Elgin Nor-Khill, Gangtok
21.5 mi away
The Elgin Mount Pandim, Pelling
12.7 mi away
Mayfair Darjeeling
Mayfair Darjeeling
#2 of 97 in Darjeeling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elgin Silver Oaks, Kalimpong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elgin Silver Oaks, Kalimpong

Property: The Elgin Silver Oaks, Kalimpong
Address: Ringking Pong Road, Kalimpong 734301, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kalimpong District > Kalimpong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kalimpong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elgin Silver Oaks, Kalimpong 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elgin Silver Oaks was built in 1930 and once belonged to the prominent architect Frederick Desraj who built the old Teesta Bridge. It is now converted into a luxury hill resort in the Himalayas. Lounging in the landscaped gardens in a profusion of colour, one is treated to breathtaking views of the Himalayas. The natural decor is characteristic in the imposing Kanchenjungha which can be seen on a clear day, blooming petunias and asters, the serrated violet edges of iris, iridescent butterflies flitting through colourful azaleas, drooping geraniums, proud orchids and heaven, temporarily descends on earth. Sitting in one of the quaint gazebos, the tea seems to be flavoured by the refreshing winds of the Himalayas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Elgin Silver Oaks, Kalimpong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elgin Silver Oaks Kalimpong Hotel Kalimpong
Silver Oaks Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing