We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kalimpong Park Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Kalimpong
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Place”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night coming in from Darjeeling and moving to Gangtok, to our surprise we found this hotel quite good. Located on a hilltop away from the city...a very quiet place
This place is full of antiques and the one night stay was good.
We stayed in a suite and it was huge..! The food was good and so was the service from the staff. Recommended for a nights stay.

Room Tip: Get the super deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sagro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    52
    18
    9
    3
See reviews for
44
35
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

After taking a detour from Gangtok i reached Kalimpong just before dark and found accomodation at this hilltop place away from the main marketplace.

Its an old residential Assam type property with new building being added later and the Tibetan owners staying right by side.

They have many types of room for all budget and a in house restaurent in the new building and a bar in the old. Had tried their sandwich, french fries and chicken pakora for evening snacks in the front side varandah by the bar and dal roti for dinner. Food was simple but served warm.

The room i stayed was in the ground floor, so no view but the television set kept me busy inside.

Bathroom was roomy and clean plus warm water available at all times.

The staff was very helpful to my every need and thats always the nicest thing in any property i would prefer to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeOngLe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

The hotel is located on top of a hill and is away from the main road of Kalimpong. There are not many things nearby.
The hotel is an old summer house of the local king – as told by one of the staffs. There are 2 buildings, one old one with wooden floor and about 4-5 guest rooms and another one is comparatively new construction and has many rooms. The new building is behind the old building. We stayed for a night at one of the rooms in the old building on the 1st floor at facing the valley. The rooms are big with many windows and also have spacious bath rooms; lack cleanliness.

Not much tourist activity in the month of August, hence not many guests in the hotel. There was no buffet breakfast. They have a fixed menu for breakfast – Continental & Indian which is quite basic, however we found it was sufficient. Dinner order needs to be placed as early as 6:30PM and average cost per person would be around Rs200-250, excluding drinks. There is a small bar which we did not use.

The staff is neither friendly nor rude. Overall it was a quite stay.

PS: There is not many things to do in Kalimpong, only few sight seeing places and which are nothing compared to what you get in Gangtok or Pelling. So you can completely avoid Kalimpong.

Room Tip: If you belive in Old is Gold, select the rooms in the old building, I think room number 6 and 7, rig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kishkush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed in the hotel during our transit from Gangtok to Darjeeling. Stayed there for a night and the place was very refreshing. Rooms were clean, spacious and neat. Lovely ambience for a cup of coffee in the evening. View from the hotel is good and nice for an evening walk. Food was horrible and the menu card is for only namesake.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GBSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

It's a place that we never expect to received the warm & great hospitality service from the staff. Just after a few minutes that we have checked in, it was total black out but we are prepared with torch light and the power came back after 5 minutes. That was fine because the staff were helpful and we were well taken care of. The food is good, no fuss at all when we requested for additional.
"Sure to come back"

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BNellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2011

The most cozy yet elegant hotel i visited during my Sikkim trip. The decorations consist of exquiste artifacts and antiques. Rooms are alrght. The view from this hill top hotel is beautful. Gets even better in the morning with clouds all around. A cozy porch where you can laze in the evening. Food is good too. They even have a little gift shop.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chandra_Sen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2011

The hotel is located a little away from Kalimpong town. But it commands a magnificent view of the town and the surrounding scenery.

The hotel rooms are large and cosy. But come with a lot of restrictions that make you wonder if it is a youth hostel. The hotel has a big list of Do's and Don'ts on its notice board. You can't order food in the room. If you do so, you are charged 50% more than the printed rate. You can't wash clothes in the room. Dinner has to be ordered by 6:30 PM. Tea or food won't be served in the lawns or lounge. You have to compulsorily have it in the restaurant. The bar though, appears well-stocked.

The food is good and portions are nice in size. The staff too is helpful.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VinayBavdekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalimpong
0.0 mi away
Summit Barsana Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
The Elgin Silver Oaks, Kalimpong
0.0 mi away
Dhardo Retreat and Resort
Dhardo Retreat and Resort
#6 of 14 in Kalimpong
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Garden Reach Hotel
Garden Reach Hotel
#10 of 14 in Kalimpong
112 reviews
0.0 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#8 of 98 in Darjeeling
344 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Sood's Garden Retreat
The Sood's Garden Retreat
#1 of 65 in Kalimpong
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalimpong Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalimpong Park Hotel

Property: Kalimpong Park Hotel
Address: Rinkingpong Road, Kalimpong 734301, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kalimpong District > Kalimpong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Kalimpong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Kalimpong Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing