We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You will absolutely love it if you love nature”
Review of Jhalong River Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kalimpong
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jhalong River Camp
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“You will absolutely love it if you love nature”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed as a couple in October 2013. I must say the camps are well maintained and the washroom was way beyond my expectations ..( since it was a camp, I expected basic facilities!!). The camp was clean with all "JUST" required amenities. In fact they also have multiple plug points to serve your charging needs. The location is superb, just by the river.. you can spend the entire day spotting birds.
The people were too good in terms of service and courtesy.
It is walkable from the local shops ( as I cannot really call it a market!!).

Food was basic but good. you will get limited menu options but prompt service.

I would always recommend to my friends.

Room Tip: Choose tents nearer to the restaurant as that way you will cut the climbing up and down every time y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deepa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Another excellent staying option at jhalong is green island resort just at the bank of the gorgeous river jaldhaka.The cheapest travel route to reach jhalong is from chalsa.Take kanchankanya express from sealdah to chalsa station.Take the share jeep of bindu from chalsa and reach jhalong bazar.The fare is only Rs45/person.We took a maruti van from jhalong bazar to reach Green Island.Cost is only Rs 100 for the whole car.Otherwise inform Mr Sampat,the owner of the resort.He will come at bazar to receive you with his smiling face.The cottages are enough comfortable.The mountain views are magnificient.One should experience the beauty of this place with his mind and soul.Mr sampat is always ready to cater the needs of his guests.The contact number of Mr Sampat is 9474391835.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank Sourajyoti2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The Jhallong River Camp is a charming wilderness resport owned by the West Bengal Forest Development Corporation Limited (WBFDCL). Its a journey of around 105 km. from Siliguri towards Bindu via Chalsa (depending on where in Siliguri one starts the journey). New MAL Jn. is probably the nearest railway station, however, all trains bound for the northeastern India would stop at New Jalpaiguri (which is barely 5-7 km from Siliguri). Nearest airport is Bagdogra. We had travelled from Kolkata via New Jalpaiguri (more popularly referred to as NJP). From NJP we had rented a car (an Indica Vista), which was with us for the entire duration of our trip in the Dooars. We did this trip in January 2013. Jhallong was the last but 2nd place we visited in this trip. Prior to visiting Jhallong, we had been to Suntalekhola, and Murti. Even at these two places, we had put up at the wilderness resport owned by the WBFDCL. Infact we are quite a fan of the WBFDCL properties, more because of the locational primeness of these properties, besides the unexpected good service when compared to other State owned tourism properties.
A journey thru beautiful forests, villages and hills took us to Jhallong. This stretch is home to elephants, leopards, bisons, deer, boars and a host of other un-domesticated animals. The narrow asphalt road crosses the elephant corridor at several points, as does the broad-gauge rail line to north-east India that also passes through this forested region. We were literally on the edge of our seats, but sadly, or perhaps fortunately, did not come face to face with any of these magnificient creautres.
From a hilltop, we had the first and a breathtaking view of the Jhalong township. Far below, the river Jaldhaka meandered and gurgled past the boulders towards the plain. The opposite bank (on the right) climbs up to a green plateau in Bhutan. The Jhalong township with its electric transmission substation is spread out on the left bank (the Indian side).
Our driver proudly told us that this was India’s first hydel power project and was established on the bank of Jaldhaka in 1967, and a township had slowly developed around it. Soon we reached a checkpost, and post registering our names in the visitors list we were into beautiful little friendly town. We exited the tar road and took a left turn into the hilly terrains which ran by a gurgling brook (some say that it is the river Jhallong). A few minutes drive took us to a point beyond which no vehicles can traverse. A small wooden bridge (which looked right out of a Tintin comics) over the Jhallong and the giganic boulders that jutted out of her took us right into the river camp. Once our car's engine had died down, a sense magic and peace over took us. Apart from the sound of music (music of the roar of the cascading Jhallong) there was absolute silence. A friendly villager who was also one of the hosts at the camp guided us to our luxury tent (the Niltava). The tent, surprisingly, was well insulated from the chill outside. There was a big bed inside, an attached modern bathroom, a small place for dresssing built into our tent. There was also a camp cot just outside our tent. A flgiht of stairs led us right into the sandy and bouldery beach of the Jhallong. There were around 10-11 tents, set up one after another, along the river bank, and each tent was away from the other by around 30-50 metres. This allowed for a sense of perfect wilderness and solitude. The river at that time of the year at most places was ankle to knee deep, and one could easily wade across to the other bank, from where a steep green hill rose. The place has a magical tranquility about it. Interestingly, our Vodafone connection was not available there. But where the Vodafones and Airtels don't work BSNL does! We spent the entire day by the river, and literally on the rocks. The camp has an interesting dining area, where the hosts serve you from the outside, and offer an unrestrained view of the paradise around. The hosts comprising of the team of local villagers led by a old government/forest deptt.official (who is probably retired or on the verge of retirement...not sure) are an amazing set of human beings. I wonder why an urbanite like me can't keep smiling and be ever helpful like them. I wonder how, inspite of such inhospitable and harsh conditions that they live in, they manage to be so happy and content. Their happy and content self gets truly reflected in their honest smile and behaviour. Post sun down we were treated to piping hot momos and barbequed chicken, and musical rendering of our hosts. For dinner we had ordered for hakka noodles and chili chicken. We had played safe with our choice of meals and were not disappointed, and rather pleasantly surprised by the quantity and the price they charged for it. We went to bed listening to the ever energetic Jhallong gurgling past our tent. The next morning was simply magical. I watched spellbound, the rising sun, and with it the lovely glow that spread on the hills and forest around me. Somebody got me a cup of perfectly blended hot Darjeeling tea, as I sat by the river admiring the paradise. Soon I was joined by our 4 year old dynamo (our son), who seemed to have got hyper charged here at the camp. I realised this place is so lovely for kids, as they can explore nature so much up and close. Soon it was noon, and was time to take the tar road through the elephant corridor which would take us back to civilisation where the Vodafone and Airtel tentacles awaited us. Our son kept wondering why couldn't we stay up here all our lives. I must admit, even I did.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Uddipan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkata
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

we went there in March 2013. Its a 2 hr. drive from gorumara resort. The camp site is located right beside a babbling brook and nestled among hills on all sides. A very quite and soothing place. The tents are quite spacious with attached baths. The inside of the tents are carpeted and the tents are built on concrete platforms to prevent moisture and dampness. There is no TV but the bathroom has geysers. The choice of food is limited but the food is quite ample and toothsome. The staff is quite helpful and obliging and all travel arrangements, sightseeing are arranged by them at rates fixed by the local tour operators. There are quite a number of local sightseeing tours. The best one is to a village called Today. Bindu has lost its charm as the barrage is now out of bounds for the general public since the death of a person in the reservoir some days back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank rahulrijul64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalimpong
0.0 mi away
Summit Barsana Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Dooars, Chalsa
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mountain View
Hotel Mountain View
#12 of 65 in Kalimpong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aranya Jungle Resort
Aranya Jungle Resort
#1 of 21 in Lataguri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake View Resort
Lake View Resort
#11 of 21 in Lataguri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Suntalekhola (Samsing) Nature Education and Wilderness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jhalong River Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jhalong River Camp

Property: Jhalong River Camp
Address: | Kalimpong district, Kalimpong, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kalimpong District > Kalimpong
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Kalimpong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing