We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Indian Food”

Sood's Garden Retreat and Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 28 Restaurants in Kalimpong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Indian, Nepali, International, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Right near the entrance to Kalimpong itself and in the Sood's Garden Retreat Hotel. It is by far the best restaurant we ate at in Kalimpong and much cleaner than the ones downtown.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good Indian Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

This place is close to Holumba Haven and serves good Indian Cuisine as well as Chinese Cuisine. The restaurant is clean and offers a nice view of the hills around...

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sanjoyghosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    30
    10
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Pleasant, Charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

Sood garden retreat is a classy & elegant hotel to stay at kalimpong. We had a three hour road journey after almost a day long delayed from delhi was exhausting but made fairly comfortable by efficient hotel pickup by the hotel & happy looking driver. As we moved on in hotel the room was attractive, spacious, warm room , highs- comfortable. As on I stayed it was like a great sleep quotient is high. Very efficient staff, housekeeping extra ordinary so spotlessly clean & shinning. Food served here is amazing they serve tempting Mughals cuisine. I can say for me this is best place to stay & bring back good memories of this place..........

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ricky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food in a town where it is hard to find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

I stayed there a while ago, this time I was elsewhere, so I only sampled the restaurant for lunches, which was as good as ever, and the garden as lovely. Delicious, clean, unpretentious North Indian dishes. Much appreciated especially since Kalimpong does not have much to offer in terms of this type of eating out and my otherwise excellent homestay did not offer lunch.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank joTO_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 557 helpful votes
“Good ambience, tasty food & good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Good ambience, tasty food & good service
A little expensive, thats all
Just opp our hotel Mountain View, it has free WiFi as well, (only in the reception)

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank drsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
142 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“"Tasty tale"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

I am a resident of Kalimpong and Sood's is a regular hangout for the residents here.
Perfect Indian and Chinese cuisine that will appeal to all palates...beautiful location...admirable service and perfect getaway to loosen up and relax..

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Khushboo_Golyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sood's Garden Retreat and Restaurant also viewed

Kalimpong, West Bengal
 
Kalimpong, West Bengal
 
Kalimpong, West Bengal
Kalimpong, West Bengal
 

Been to Sood's Garden Retreat and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing