We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“tibetan environment,english descipline,indian hospitality,delicious food in reasonable price”

Gompu's Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 28 Restaurants in Kalimpong
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
kolkata
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“tibetan environment,english descipline,indian hospitality,delicious food in reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

stayed this hotel for 4 days in oct2009.but still remember the cleanliness,security,reasonable price,the good manners of staff and good view of the hill.every question answered.still recollect roomboy amit.they boiled potatoes when asked for my 2 years child.co operative and responded promptly whenever needed.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank banibratar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    36
    26
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Siliguri, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food at reasonable price........”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Pork Dumplings are huge (almost the same size of taipo), four is enough, except that Mixed Haka Noodles or Rice are speciality here. And in the evening Pork chilly Dry Fry with liquar which you like. But the shop closes early max 8:30PM. and the Bar is not well stocked.
But food is awsome!!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Suman_tutu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best food in Kalimpong but that's not saying much!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

To begin with there isn't much by way of choice for western travellers looking for food in Kalimpong. If you ask locals Gompus is where you will be directed to. Inside the decor is dark and faded. The staff however are very welcoming and happy to answer all questions when asked. There is a wide selection of Chinese and Nepalese food available. Our food was fine but way overpriced for what we received..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghaziabad, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Avarage food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We ordered Veg noodles, fried rice and manchurians... very average taste and the ambience was also not remarkable. Hygiene was poor..had a dirty green fly hovering around our table throughout our lunch.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Snigdha_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indore
Level Contributor
131 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Largest Momos to be had!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Whenever we are in Kalimpong we have most of our meals at Gompu's. They have a reasonable sized menu of usually very tasty food. All their dishes are value for money. Just never miss out on their huge steamed momos!!
Their noodles, thukpa are excellent too. To top it you can also catch a quick drink at this comfortable restaurant.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ashok123w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gompu's Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Kalimpong, West Bengal
Kalimpong, West Bengal
 
Kalimpong, West Bengal
 

Been to Gompu's Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing