We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Samthar Farm House
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Windsongs(Kalimpong)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Yuru(Kalimpong)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Deki Lodge(Kalimpong)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveler rating
29
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed teabeautiful gardensinghjimmymountains
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 30 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2011

The "Farm House" provides a very special experience. Accommodation is spacious as well as attractive. All rooms have a beautiful outlook regardless of the season. The day starts with bed tea delivered to your room, with the sound of animals and birds in the background.
If you wish to eat inside, you can. If you wish to enjoy the beautiful garden and spectacular scenery of mountains and valleys then part of the package can be lunch in the garden. You can always rely on high quality food and service. The staff make you feel special and very much at home. There are many interesting walks. You can observe the locals going about their daily chores that could involve harvesting rice, maize or cardamom.. If you wish to spend the day at the "Farm house" there are plenty of nice places to relax both inside and out.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matisse08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

If you're looking for a genuine experience of rural India, while staying in comfortable, friendly accommodation with a personal touch, Samthar Farm House is highly recommended. The food is first class and from the delightful garden there are magnificent views of Kanchenjunga on a clear day.
Samthar Farm House is part of an eco-tourism project which aims to bring employment to the local people. All the profits go to support an experimental, English-medium school for the local children. Treks and cultural shows can be organised on request.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank helena67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

We stayed here for 2 days. The farm house is situated at Samthar valley with great surroundings and it also boost a very well kept azalea garden. The food is superd and Jimmy is a great host. The cottages where we stayed in was gorgeous, and the hot waterbags to warm up the bed is so thoughtful! The small treks that we have organised by the farm house is also scenic and also cultural. The only noise that we hear during our stay is that 5.30am jeep that horned for villagers to go Kalimpong. Perfect place to relax and enjoy the scenery. Highly recommended.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
4  Thank Bulldogfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

Lovely farmhouse in remote area, great rooms in separate bungalows in the garden, service and hospitality second to none, food was inspiring, my wife and I had a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prackham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

I have trouble believing that the Farmhouse is on the same planet as the one we live on.

This is truly a place where you can lose yourself in the physical and cultural beauty of your surroundings. This is a complete escape.

It's incredibly remote location appears at first to be a detriment, but in actuality it's one of the most suprisingly appealing things about this property. This provides you with the rare chance to truly immerse oneself into a place where few have ventured.

Transport is arranged by the Farmhouse. From the moment that you step into the jeep, everything is taken care of. Although the trip up from Siliguri or Kalimpong is difficult, it's well worth both the experience and the effort.

Upon arrival at the Farmhouse you're instantly made to feel at home.

There are several places to stay in the compound. The cottages at the top overlooking the mountains were our favorite.

Hospitality is superb. From beautifully maintained facilities to the delicious homemade food, every aspect of your stay is incredibly comfortable and inviting.

As you are in the mountains, not all creature comforts are available or reliable. But all of these are easily accomodated by the Farmhouse. Electricity is known to flicker off at times in the afternoon, but the solar lights and fires make this an un-noticeable occurrence. There is no running hot water, but the spectacular hot-water bucket baths are so enjoyable that you may not want to return to standard showers ever again. There's no hardwired Internet connection, but this is solved by USB dongles which allow you to connect to GSRP services if you have a laptop with you.

The hot water bottles placed under our blankets at night were quite possibly our favorite touch.

General Singh is a fascinating host. His stories are wonderful and his passion for the region and the people is infectious.

The Farmhouse is located immediately above the spectacular Awake and Shine school. A delightful and special place that's well worth a visit particularly as it's existence is partially funded by the tourism at the house. It's great to see such sustainable development at work.

We've traveled the world, and this was one of the most unique and enjoyable travel experiences we've ever had.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3triple9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews