We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Orchid Retreat
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$173
$127
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$93
$88
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$255
$247
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$31
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveler rating
20
14
2
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
14
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsorchidsbungalowbalconygardenguestsslopespropertyviewvalley
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 37 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is the place to stay at which we were looking for. Absolutely in the lap of nature surrounded by trees and plants with a view of huge mountains, the chirping of birds make the stay worth at Orchid Retreat. Above all the owners (Pradhans) are wonderful people. Looking forward to visit Kalimpong again.

Regards,
Kabir Arora, Ahmedabad

Room Tip: Cottages are excellent to stay
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kabir2278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Aftre we passed the clutter of Kalimpong, we reached Orchid Retreat which seemed to emerge out of nowhere and offered dense forests, nursery, few cottages, personalized chef service and an enterprising host Honey! I visited with my husband and both of us loved the set-up of the place which offers a very serene stay option with cottages on the side of a hill, surrounded with greenery. Also, was great to speak to Mr. Pradhan who was the pioneer of the nursery. Would recommend for a peaceful stay. Dello for a trek and the Kalimpong Science Centre are also worth the effort from here!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller_India_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

This place is a gem! perched on the side of the valley, with extensive gardens. It is ideal for birdwatchers; we saw many species in the gardens.
We had a very comfortable cottage down the slope. Somewhat of a hike to the dining area but that was our choice.
Management and staff could not be more helpful. Excellent local food!
Recommended without hesitation.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hasherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Unfortunately only one night but it was enough to understand that it is a special place to stay. The owner (Honey) is a very nice person and the place, outside the town but not too much, is surrounded by gardens, trees and flowers. Our room was fine but there are wonderful cottages which are absolutely fantastic.
We also enjoyed the dinner very much.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GiorgioFarao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Very basic amenities and soyabean oil was quite smelly. Food is a challenge..its okay if one wants basic amenities, also preference in service seem to be given to foreigners rather than locals. Everything gets managed by a few people so they seem quite stretched when full.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sammy1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews