We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home Away from Home”
Review of Holumba Haven

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holumba Haven
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kalimpong
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
165 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Home Away from Home”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I have been staying here a week every year and find it one of the best places to stay to relax, ideate, think and write. The home food is wonderful and serenity breathtaking. Good place for "Blackberry or Smartphone Detox" where one can continue to explore the inner self. Highly recommended for writers who want to look for the elusive solace of thinking space.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank ArthaBeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    56
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
60
47
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The hotel has excellent location. Right off the main oad but yet aboslutely away from the rush traffic and noise. Totally gaden and landscaped cottages... all the amenities present except TV... that is desirable!! Step down the steps or climg up, get the magnificient view of Kanchenzonga peak in the early morning. Wodden cottages are a nice place to stay. Food is overproced... but you have options outside. Nice garden to rest. Thumbs up for Holumba Haven

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoopRanjanGhosal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangladesh
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We spent 3 nights in Holumba Haven - 1st night in wood cot , then 2nd night in Tree Tops, which is at the highest location among other cottages and then on 3rd day we were shifted at Bamboo Grove. we just loved the heritage atmosphere with wilderness of Holumba ..
Their Service , value , hospitality was remarkable and everything was too good.

It's a heaven of orchids , macro photography and inspiration ! We will definitely come again and stay only at Holumba Haven !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cyntree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkata
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Tranquil...just relax in the surroundings...take time to browse through their library and enjoy stupendous home made food. One won't feel the need to visit out. The owners will do everything to make you comfortable.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank shubhojit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

As most of the other reviewers have pointed out - Holumba Haven is true to its name - a quiet, green, lush, peaceful retreat from the noisy and hectic traffic of Kalimpong. My husband and I spent 3 nights in the half of Magnolia (the oldest cottage) with the queen size bed, and then 1 night in Tree Top cottage - the cottage at the highest location on the terraced grounds. (Got moved because Magnolia was already booked by a prior reservation.) Both were very comfortable and charming. Everything was clean and worked well.
As important as the unique lushness and beauty of the setting of the cottages, is the remarkable Tibetan family who have owned this estate for at least 80 years. Norden Pempahishey, his wife Thinlay, and his sister Kesang, extended themselves to us far beyond what one would expect of a hotel host, and made us feel like their home guests. I had amazing conversations with Norden and Kesang, who both were generous in sharing their familial, cultural and political history - as well as their library - with us. They made reservations in Darjeeling for us for a hotel they referred us to, and then with a trekking outfitter/guide service. In both cases, the owners were Tibetan friends of theirs, and outstanding choices - for which we are very grateful to them.
Great place to de-compress from the unattractive aspects of India. Next time we're there, we'll plan it so that we can stay there longer.

Room Tip: Magnolia is older and quainter, and closer to the entrance (and therefore, lowest location on the gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tandembkrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

The place is tucked away up the steep hillside a couple of miles outside the main bazaar so you could easily miss it - a hidden jewel. Altogether I spent almost two weeks at Holumba Haven, coming and going and sampling three different rooms during that time, and I will most certainly return. I arrived with a group of buddhist pilgrims, visiting the place where our teacher Sangharakshita used to live for some time in the 1950's - in the oldest cottage there, the Hermitage, which has real historical character. On clear days you can see Mt. Kanchenjunga from its porch. I then stayed on for a few days with one friend, moving up to the top of the garden to Tree Tops - my favourite (see below). Returning for another week alone I stayed in Bamboo Grove which was much smaller but quite cosy, consisting of three adjacent rooms - I liked it for meeting some interesting fellow travellers there who were my room neighbours. The orchid garden is stunningly beautiful and clearly lovingly cared for by its owners - a calm oasis in the at times quite noisy and bustly but very interesting town of Kalimpong. The Pempahishey Family are very open, knowledgeable and welcoming, and many of the travellers I talked to were involved in interesting social, artistic or horticultural projects - there was a palpable atmosphere of creativity and intelligent sharing of world views and experiences around the Orchid Lounge and Garden. A place for finding inspiration and for potentially going quite a bit deeper than just being a tourist while you're there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluedakini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This place is amazing: the flowered terraces hosting old fashioned bungalows, the profusion of flowers and perfumes, the beautifully decorated rooms, dining hall and reading hall, the serenity of the place and the warm welcome of the hosts! Everything is outstanding. It is a haven. We loved the town too, due to its people and the nice temple on top of the hill. Had we have more time we could have easily spend a week and Holumba just reading, relaxng, writing. It's an environment that nourishes creation. And it proves that it's possible to be perfectly clean in India even if you are not a 5 star hotel. Loved everybody there and we are grateful for what they created.

Room Tip: Even the bungalows close to the road are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ailenroc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalimpong hotels
0.2 mi away
Summit Barsana Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Elgin Silver Oaks, Kalimpong
2.3 mi away
Dhardo Retreat and Resort
Dhardo Retreat and Resort
#7 of 14 in Kalimpong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Garden Reach Hotel
Garden Reach Hotel
#9 of 14 in Kalimpong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sood's Garden Retreat
The Sood's Garden Retreat
#1 of 65 in Kalimpong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
1.8 mi away
Shikher Guest House
Shikher Guest House
#4 of 65 in Kalimpong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holumba Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holumba Haven

Property: Holumba Haven
Address: Cable Holumba P O Box 50 | P.O. Box 50, Kalimpong 734301, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kalimpong District > Kalimpong
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kalimpong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Holumba Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holumba Haven Kalimpong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing