We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Temple Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Regency Kanchipuram by GRT Hotels
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Kanchipuram
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Bathroom ... nasty. Small botigue type hotel. Overall stay was comfortable. I am not sure what all options are available in Kanchipuram, this was the highest rated, thus why I selected the hotel. Price seemed comparable to level of accomodations.

Location was good. I liked that one could walk from the hotel right onto the city street.

Food was good. 1 resturant, 1 bar.

The main morning/daytime hostess at the restuarant was not a happy one.

Service in the evening was much more pleasant without the main female hostess.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler3652014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unitmanager_11, General Manager at Regency Kanchipuram by GRT Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear Guest,

I had gone through your review, thank you for taking time to point out the derailments in the service. I had addressed the issues highlighted to the concerned areas.

I assure you Sir, your next visit to the hotel would be a pleasant experience.

Looking forward to receive you with warmth and focused hospitality.

Regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 225 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2014

A group of us stayed at this hotel in Jan and most were satisfied with our stay. A few could not wait to get back to the Hilton in Chennai. The rooms are 'run down' by western standards but I liked the hotel well enough. There are buckets in the showers that none of us ever figured out. I bumped my review up to 'very good' because I lucked out and got a two room suite that was quite spacious and had excellent working areas. The furniture has surely seen better days but the restaurant was very good for both breakfast and dinner, and the bar downstairs had a nice dark atmosphere to it. This is supposed to be the old silk capital and a couple of us walked up and down the dirty crowded streets in front of the hotel and unless you want to see a few silk shops, we decided there is no reason to walk and down the dirty crowded streets. We had our fill of Temples a few days earlier in Mahabalipuram, so the temples were not alluring for us.
There ARE monkeys running around the hotel so keep the windows locked. Each room had a 'Monkey Menace' sign on the counter top.
If you are going to stay in Kanchipuram, this is a fine place to stay.

Room Tip: Each floor has a 'suite' type room with a living and dining area. Ask for this if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unitmanager_11, General Manager at Regency Kanchipuram by GRT Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear guest,

We thank you for taking your precious time to write about your stay experience with us. We are glad to learn that you had a pleasant stay.

Your appreciation of the services rendered by my team would be conveyed to them, and this would be surely an encouragement to them.

Do let us know about your next visit plans to Kanchipuram,

we would be more than glad to receive you.

Regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

GRT Regency is located in the middle between Kailasanatha temple to the West and Devarajaswami temple to the East. which are an estimated 5 and 3 km away. The other major temples are even closer which makes GRT Regency the perfect base for temple explorations. The hotel is not the newest but still in good shape. Staff is mostly friendly with good English. My room (Superior) was spacious and very clean - except for the windows which were quite dirty. Furnishing was a bit dated. All common facilities including the restaurant were spotless. The breakfast ranged from good to outstanding. Dinner prices were on the high side. In general food and drinks were delicious and special requests (I like my lassi only half sweet) were accommodated. The coffee was very good too.
I can only recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erdenkind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unitmanager_11, General Manager at Regency Kanchipuram by GRT Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking your precious time to write about your stay experience with us. We are glad to learn that you had a pleasant stay.

Your appreciation of the services rendered by my team would be conveyed to them, and this would be surely an encouragement to them.

Do let us know about your next visit plans to Kanchipuram,

we would be more than glad to receive you.

Regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

GRT is located well with decent rooms that are a bit small. Rooms are clean. Artwork in the corridors are really beautiful sketches of temples in south India. The access to the hotel is a problem as is parking and negotiating the tight entrance space. Staff is very courteous and helpful overall. Food is standard, not spectacular. They could incorporate more simple south Indian food in their menu.

Room Tip: Ask for non-smokin gif you are particular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank modernyatri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unitmanager_11, General Manager at Regency Kanchipuram by GRT Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sparing your valuable time and efforts to comment about your stay at GRT Regency, Kanchipuram.

We have taken your valuable comments in regards to the food.


Do let us know about your next visit plans to Kanchipuram,

we would be more than glad to receive you.

Regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I used to stay in the GRT Regency hotel during my earlier visits to Kanchipuram. The location of the hotel is good. The hotel staffs, room service, cleanliness was above average and he hotel restaurant offering wide variety of foods which are a bit expensive but taste good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Balan_TJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unitmanager_11, General Manager at Regency Kanchipuram by GRT Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sparing your valuable time and efforts to comment about your stay at GRT Regency, Kanchipuram.

Do let us know about your next visit plans to Kanchipuram,

we would be more than glad to receive you.

Regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

GRT kancheepuram is a fairly decent place to stay. Situated in the heart of the city , it provides easy access to all the places of interest in and around the area. The room tariff includes a complimentary breakfast , which is very very average. After the first day, we skipped the breakfast and headed out to Saravana Bhavan 2 buildings away. Service was so so. At almost 3000-3500/--per night, it could be better. But it offers a standard stay option.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nirmala16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unitmanager_11, General Manager at Regency Kanchipuram by GRT Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sparing your valuable time and efforts to comment about your stay at GRT Regency, Kanchipuram.

We also noted the commsents on breakfast its seems to be it is not your expectation we will look at the issue seriously and review our breakfast menu.

Do let us know about your next visit plans to Kanchipuram, we will ensure your stay and food has been takencare.

we would be more than glad to receive you.

Regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed in GRT Kanchipuram for 2 nights during Dec 2013. A very nice experience. Although we had some difficulty locating the hotel entrance from the main Road, there is no indication of the hotel unless you are right in front of the pathway which is narrow. However once you are in , then you are very well taken care off, from vallet parking , to prompt checkin and very helpful staff throughout the stay.

The rooms are very comfortable, though slightly cramped for the price. Overall a very good stay and experience. It was also very convenient with the eatout Savanna Bhavan right next door, shopping places right in front of the hotel, we shopped at Praskash Silks for the Kanchi sarees.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller_prk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unitmanager_11, General Manager at Regency Kanchipuram by GRT Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sparing your valuable time and efforts to comment about your stay at GRT Regency, Kanchipuram.

We have taken valuable comments in regards to the indication board for the hotel we will ensure that try to bring more visibility to locate the hotel.

Your appreciation of the services rendered by my team would be conveyed to them, and this would be surely an encouragement to them.

Do let us know about your next visit plans to Kanchipuram,

we would be more than glad to receive you.

Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kanchipuram
3.6 mi away
The Tanishq Park
The Tanishq Park
#3 of 11 in Kanchipuram
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
11.3 mi away
Citrus Sriperumbudur
Citrus Sriperumbudur
#1 of 9 in Sriperumbudur
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tommaso Inn
Tommaso Inn
#2 of 9 in Sriperumbudur
11 reviews
20.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chennai Mahindra World City
36.4 mi away
Green Coconut Resort
Green Coconut Resort
#5 of 11 in Kanchipuram
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Kanchipuram by GRT Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Kanchipuram by GRT Hotels

Address: 487 Gandhi Road, Kanchipuram 631502, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kanchipuram District > Kanchipuram
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Kanchipuram
Price Range: $54 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Regency Kanchipuram by GRT Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GRT Regency, Kanchipuram offers 36 centrally air-conditioned rooms, comprised of 3 suites, 3 single rooms, 12 double rooms and 18 master rooms. The hotel offers facilities and services like color TVs with satellite transmission, safe deposit lockers, Broadband/Wi-Fi facilities and 24 hour hot and cold water in rooms and also has a 24 hour Restaurant - Dakshin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Regency Kanchipuram by GRT Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grt Regency-Kanchipuram Hotel Kanchipuram
Regency Kanchipuram By GRT Hotels Tamil Nadu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing