We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Service. Disappointing for a GRT Property.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Regency Kanchipuram by GRT Hotels
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Kanchipuram
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Terrible Service. Disappointing for a GRT Property.”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Having been to 2 gorgeous GRT properties in Chennai & Mamallapuram, the restaurant at this hotel was a shocking disappointment. The hotel itself doesn't appear to be as well-maintained as its sister facilities. The parking is cramped and difficult to manuever through the small driveway.
We ordered prawn-friedr rice, chicken-fried rice, a veggie platter and chicken tikka masala. Granted, I'm in South India, so I wasn't expecting the tikka masala to knock my socks off, but we would have liked to have seen more meat in the entree dish. There was plenty of oily sauce and maybe 4 chunks of chicken. The prawn-fried rice must've used minced prawns because we did not see anything resembling a crustacean in the dish.
We ordered cold bottled water and after a prolonged wait, our server returned with a warm bottle of water. After sending it back, we waited for a while longer before getting the water.
Not sure what other options exist in Kanchipuram, but this experience definitely left us disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whiskeyknits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    100
    53
    10
    4
See reviews for
111
44
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coimbatore, India
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

The hotel is hidden in a small by-way from the arterial road. Parking space was rather cramped. The hotel and room were clean and well-maintained. The restaurant food was quite good. The complimentary breakfast buffet had limited options, but was adequate. Overall satisfied with our stay, but for some reason, I feel it was not living up to the GRT standards I have seen elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suresh_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

This is the only decent option really in Kanchipuram. The historic city is bustling with activity but there is not much of a tourist infrastructure for tourists who desire a comfortable and luxurious stay. So, many stay in Chennai and drive out here early morning for an hour to visit the numerous temples in the city. However, if you really want to see this place, you must stay in the city so you can experience it.

All in all, the hotel itself is decent with reasonably clean rooms; the sheets, towels, and bathrooms are clean. However, it does not help when guests smoke or eat greasy meat products and leave them in the corridor. The tropical climate makes these smells cling on to everything. The rooms are decent in comfort but do not open the drapes lest you want to see the ugly neighborhood around.

The restaurant is mediocre but has air-conditioning!! The staff try to help and please every chance they get. Usually, breakfast is included in the room rate and has a decent spread. What we do is to stay here but eat at Saravana Bhavan next door.

Best way to see the monuments is to get up early and visit one monument from 6-8, come back for breakfast, see another monument, and come back by 10:30. It gets really hot afterwards and one can get their feet burnt in the sun. After an early lunch and siesta, visit a couple of other monuments after 4pm when there is a cool breeze. Since foot wear is not allowed in temples, take a pair of socks to wear in the outer areas. Remember that each temple is very big and usually have large crowds. Please wear traditional Indian clothes; they show respect for Hindu sentiments and are also immensely more comfortable to combat the heat. Tank-tops, shorts, swim-wear are really not appropriate. If you really want the locals to respect you, women should wear some jasmine flowers on their head and men behave less aggressively.

The hotel is placed close to several temples. Since you would mostly likely drive into Kanchipuram, you would have a car available to go to various temples. Let the driver take care of parking and ensure you have his cell number to call him when you are about to come out so he can pick you up. If you need a car from the hotel, you need to let them know ahead of time. Parking is a big problem in this place since the approach driveway is very narrow and the parking lot very tricky to go to; you have to almost make right angle turns with centimeters to spare to get your car through.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the road so you will get less road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaataan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

The good thing about this hotel its that its not very far from the main attractions (temples) of the town. The place itself is rather small. Food options were limited and parking was cramped. Rooms were rather small but then it also costs lesser than other GRT hotels. Overall , it was a reasonably good place.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tvasumathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed as a Family there and found the rooms to be untidy, ill trained staff. The Air Conditioner did not work properly and they attended it at around 0100 hrs. When they could not set it right, offered us another room but by then our Childern were already sleeping and we could not shift. The Breakfast (Complimantary) lacked the spread and not tasted good. I was offered a discount on my bill for the problems I faced but that was not what I needed. I wonder if it is expensive for a city like Kancheepuram.

Room Tip: Very Expensive considering the Value they provide. Check In expecting to make compromises
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adithyanag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

It is a good Hotel about a kilometer away from Meenakshi Temple. The Breakfast is just okay but food served in restaurant or room is much better. The staff are helpful and friendly. Good experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sivasankar54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Didn't have much options when started to search for some hotels in Kanchipuram for two night stay. Had to settle down for this after reading some reviews in trip advisor even though found it bit expensive for a small town like Kanchipuram. It's close vicinity to famous saree shops & temples combined with a friendly hotel staff makes this place ideal for short stays. The extra bed is also expensive & too many taxes are not shown outright which could bloat your bill if stayed for too long. Overall had a decent stay & will definitely recommend if you can afford it.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank navjyo08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kanchipuram
11.3 mi away
Citrus Sriperumbudur
Citrus Sriperumbudur
#1 of 10 in Sriperumbudur
125 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Mile Stonnez Hotel
#3 of 11 in Kanchipuram
1 reviews
17.7 mi away
Sathyam Grand Resorts
Sathyam Grand Resorts
#3 of 10 in Sriperumbudur
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chennai Mahindra World City
36.4 mi away
Green Coconut Resort
Green Coconut Resort
#6 of 11 in Kanchipuram
42 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sri Hari Residency
Sri Hari Residency
#1 of 18 in Kanchipuram
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Kanchipuram by GRT Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Kanchipuram by GRT Hotels

Property: Regency Kanchipuram by GRT Hotels
Address: 487 Gandhi Road, Kanchipuram 631502, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kanchipuram District > Kanchipuram
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Kanchipuram
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Regency Kanchipuram by GRT Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GRT Regency, Kanchipuram offers 36 centrally air-conditioned rooms, comprised of 3 suites, 3 single rooms, 12 double rooms and 18 master rooms. The hotel offers facilities and services like color TVs with satellite transmission, safe deposit lockers, Broadband/Wi-Fi facilities and 24 hour hot and cold water in rooms and also has a 24 hour Restaurant - Dakshin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Regency Kanchipuram by GRT Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grt Regency-Kanchipuram Hotel Kanchipuram
Regency Kanchipuram By GRT Hotels Tamil Nadu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing