We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent!”

Ekambareshvara Temple
Book In Advance
More Info
$60.00*
and up
Private Tour: Kanchipuram and Mahabalipuarm Full-Day Tour from Chennai
Ranked #1 of 34 things to do in Kanchipuram
Certificate of Excellence
Palghat
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Magnificent!”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The architecture and sculptures are unique. We found so many Western tourists who felt sad that they weren't allowed inside the temple. We felt sorry for them.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KEdilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    98
    13
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chengdu, China
Level Contributor
1,420 reviews
862 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,239 helpful votes
“Holy Kanchipuram”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

If you make it all the way to Kanchipuram, it is very unlikely you wouldn't stop by this, its most famous temple complex. With a steady flow of pilgrims entering this temple offer 'puja' at this famous shrine, it is a good place to see Indian religious practice in action. It is a sensuous and colorful affair which makes some of the world religions seem unnecessarily austere. Culture vultures will also delight in the towering 'gopuras', which give this place a decidedly Tamil flavor. This place is worth an hour or two's wandering for all but the most jaded of temple-goers.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Raymond W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Very Spacious Temple”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Very spacious, long walk, good architecture, good and tasty prasadam to buy. Be careful about the ants near the stalls.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cmaheshwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
146 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Super”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

It is one of the 5 element places( sthallas) of lord Siva and here is represented by element earth. The idol is made of sand/earth. The outer structure is super size and as for the sanctum it is a matter of faith.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karjanmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“For Me, The Most Impressive Temple In Kanchipuram”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

While visiting Hyderabad, a friend extolled the virtues of Kanchipuram. She knew that I was interested in Shakti Peetams, and that I was going to Tamil Nadu. She said, "Go Kanchipuram, too many temples, too big, too beautiful...Shakt Peeth!" As she was an expert on practically every South Indian temple known to man, I took her advice. I wasn't overly impressed by Kanchipuram as a city, but the temples were absolutely amazing. I spent my birthday receiving darshan at Kanchi Kamakshi, Ekambareshwar and Varadaraja Perumal. For me, the sheer scale of the Ekambareshwar complex was overwhelming and the power of the Prithvi lingam was palpable.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank garthastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ekambareshvara Temple also viewed

Kanchipuram, Kanchipuram District
Kanchipuram, Kanchipuram District
 
Kanchipuram, Kanchipuram District
Kanchipuram, Kanchipuram District
 

Been to Ekambareshvara Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing