We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent rooms,dont expect more than that”
Review of Tamil Nadu

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kanchipuram
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tamil Nadu
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Kanchipuram
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Stayed in this Hotel from April 6-8 2014.This hotel is less than 5 minutes walking distance from Kanchipuram East railway station(kanchipuram railway station is different from kanchipuram east railway station) and 1-1.5 Kms from kanchipuram bus stand.Autos will charge 35-40 rs from kanchipuram bus stand to this hotel.The nearest main temple to this hotel is Kamakshi Amman temple(Around 1.5 Kms)

The hotel rooms are decent and all rooms have A/C.Hot water is available 24X7.There is a restaurant attached to this hotel which we found no use at all.Breakfast starts at 8:30 am,lunch at 1:30 pm.The tea which we ordered was not so good.Room service is virtually non-existent or in a snail pace at this hotel.If you are planning to stay in this hotel plan to eat outside of this hotel restaurant.There is also a Bar in this hotel which seems good(Considering the Kanchipuram ambiance)
The staff have to be trained to be customer and tourist friendly.They were of no help for us when we tried to enquire about routes to go to different temples.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gpradeepshenoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 16 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

I have booked this hotel through Email but found a great dissatisfaction at that place. Rooms were good but the behavior of Staff were arrogant.

Hotel is near Kamakshi Temple and railway station but in early morning and in night there is not Cab or Auto available outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Book Rooms from ttdc website only
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank harshit_bly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My first time visit to Kanchipuram with my family, took three rooms. Though the stay was short, it was comfortable except few issues. The rooms were clean and neat. Friendly staff provide guidance for everything. Even though the geyser was switched on, there is no flow of hot water. It was due to the problem of taps used - Maintenance required. Breakfast should be improved a bit. Overall a good stay at Hotel Tamilnadu.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank navaneekrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

this is the third time iam staying in this hotel. the staffs are very friendly and the whole place is making the feel of comfort at home. it is near the temples and also away from the town dust and noise.the basic facilities are price worthy and very reasonable.the indian breakfast and neat car parking area are added advantages.pl keep it up. the saries we purchased are really good .

Room Tip: the rooms in the first floor are calm and comfortable on the westernside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kanchipuram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

during the month of april13 we had a chance to visit kanchipuram along with my family. thro my friends i got the chance to stay at t.t.d.c. hotel at kanchipuram . the stay was short but it was made comfortable to stay at the hotel . the rooms are quite o.k. for the tariff and the morning b/f given with some south indian foods. the hotel is neat and clean the rooms are recently done. the people are friendly . on the whole our family enjoyed our stay. pl.keep it up.

Room Tip: safe and neat place to stay. the rooms in the ground floor are convbienent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kanchipuram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

this is the first time coming to kanchipuram thro my friends advice to stay at govt. run hotel to stay at safety and secure. the ambience is ok. but very friendly people though not all things are corrcet the staffs are helping .nice to stay with family -a home away from home.

Room Tip: take ground floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kanchipuram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

the hotel ambience is good and the room we opted in deluxe double room ac. it is huge. but the problems are the geyser is on all the day but you dont get a single drop of hot water.
This place is best suitable for the group who want to drink, I mean drink, drink and drink alcohol. families cannot stay here. the corridor is full with bottles and when enquired with the manager, he says nobody is drinking, though there are alcohol bottle lying around.
tariff 1550 plus tax is waste.
there is nothing call a room service, the phone does not work and if you call them they will say nothing availbale

Room Tip: suitable for drinking alcohol only,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bvk1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kanchipuram
3.3 mi away
The Tanishq Park
The Tanishq Park
#5 of 11 in Kanchipuram
3 reviews
0.6 mi away
Regency Kanchipuram by GRT Hotels
12.9 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Tommaso Inn
Tommaso Inn
#2 of 9 in Sriperumbudur
11 reviews
10.8 mi away
Citrus Sriperumbudur
Citrus Sriperumbudur
#1 of 9 in Sriperumbudur
127 reviews
24.9 mi away
Kalyan Hometel, Vandalur - Chennai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamil Nadu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamil Nadu

Address: Opp Old Railway Station | Kamatchi AmmanSannathi Street, Kanchipuram 631501, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kanchipuram District > Kanchipuram
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Kanchipuram
Price Range: $27 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As:
Tamil Nadu Kanchipuram

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing