We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kishangarh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Roopangarh Fort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kishangarh
Reviewed October 27, 2013

500 year old fort with build in palace, transferred into a 2*-hotel. huge rooms (50m2) with basic interior. bathroom is up to standards. food is of good india standard. breakfast (extended continental) is surprisingly good. service is friendly but reduced to a waiter who took care of everything. havn't seen anybody of the management. no internet/WiFi.
OK for an overnight or 2 night stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pedrowei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 120 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

The sun was going down as we drove, with difficulty, through Roopangarh's main street, ultra-narrow in places where shops and houses encroached onto the grubby roadway, making it necessary for our driver to brake hard or back up if even a motorbike came towards us. The road lead only to the Fort named after the town (or should that be the other way around?). There, the driver's skills were put to the test by a winding entrance gate designed to thwart attackers on elephant-back. Several three-point turns later, we unloaded our bags at the foot of the steps up to the imposing palace, for this was where we were to spend the night. With hindsight, perhaps we should have planned to stay longer here. It was to prove one of many highlights of our tour so far.

The fort and the palace inside it were originally built by Maharajah Roop Singh in the 17th century on a strategic hilltop controlling the trade route to Sambhar Salt Lake. In 1999, the present maharajah opened it as a hotel, leaving the interior and exterior little changed. Let's be clear about one thing - the fort has been renovated, not restored, so it retains its ancient space and character, warts and all!

It has 20 rooms, some of which are former royal suites with antique furniture and colourful traditional furnishings - like the two vast rooms we were given. They appeared sparsely furnished, not surprising really as each was the size of a soccer pitch with a ceiling so incredibly high that you'd need scaffolding just to do the dusting. There was a terrace at the front to catch the sunrise and another one at the back for sunset. In one wall of each was a window looking down onto the hotel's restaurant, for the rooms were once the maharanis' domains and they'd have used the windows to peer down onto what was then the Durbar Hall to see what the maharajah and his chums were up to.

In the courtyard, we enjoyed a rest on wicker chairs drawn up around a fire pit before an enjoyable evening meal. Nearby was a tennis court, sometimes used for cricket too, and a terrace where noisy peacocks roamed in the early morning sun. One of the friendly staff proudly showed us the Queen's Suite - a huge, ornate room with an equally huge bathroom, a gallery above and a staircase to a private roof terrace. Maybe we'll book that next time.

Early next morning, we ventured forth into the town just as the little shops started to open their doors. A few people sat outside reading newspapers, pigs scavenged among yesterday's detritus, and motorcyclists sped through the empty main street on their way to who knows where. The shopkeeper with his display of sweets and snacks, initially unsmiling and curious, was happy to have his photograph taken - as were the barber with his first customer of the day at his open-fronted shop, the lady selling nothing but bangles, and the elderly gent with ragged red turban and grey whiskers. A lad, smartly dressed in his Modern Public School uniform, politely asked, in impeccable English, for his photo to be taken. It seems likely that few tourists spend time wandering around the town interacting with the local people, for they were so genuinely pleased to stop whatever they were doing to spend a moment talking and laughing with us.

We would have liked another hour or two here but had to be on our way. Next time, we'll stay much, much longer.

Room Tip: Spoil yourself with the Queen's Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KeepSmilingUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Another of the collection of wonderful surprises that India has to offer! To travel through remote areas of Rajasthan and arrive at this fort was like finding an oasis in the desert. Rooms were huge and set in the original form and decor. Dinner was served outdoors on long tables by candlelight and not without being provided with traditional costumes for a dress up evening! Beautiful and amazing times

Room Tip: Ask for the honeymoon suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gidawe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is such a romantic beautiful place to stay, and so unexpected as you approach through the narrow street and through the market you begin to wonder what you are going to find, and then go through the gates and OMG!! We stayed in the Queen Suite and we were amazed at the size of the room, the standard of the bed, bedding and bathroom and we even had AC which we weren't expecting. The grounds are worth exploring, though I don't think you can access the actual fort, but there is plenty to see, including a camel which you can ride if you are so inclined, we didn't! The staff in the hotel were so friendly, and one of them took us on a walk around the village where we went to meet his family and saw many craftspeople and no-one tried to sell us anything they were just lovely friendly people. We ate on the terrace in the evening with the fort all lit up, it was one of the highlights of our holiday and the food was great.The only regret was that we only stayed one night. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katemak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Its an old fort converted into hotel.Rooms are of very big size and nostalgic which is the only attraction at this place.You would love to move around the fort as if u are the king.Sunset is really worth watching from the terrace.Dont expect a 5 star grade service or facilities.Food is served from a small room kitchen and is of average taste and quality(frankly i didnt like the food served at lunch and dinner), however is was nice to have breakfast at the terrace on a sunny winter morning.Queen's suite is worth trying.

Room Tip: Queen's suite is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank delhi_manish79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

One of the best vacations I have had with my family!
Amazingly maintained palace rooms, great fort to stroll around, camels to keep you company, friendly villagers helping you, simply superb food, right priced rooms, well what can I tell you, the whole tour package was one of the best I have been to. Not just value for money, it is actually more value for money.
Play tennis, Cricket like royalty played on the terrace court. Just sit on the lawn and read a book. You have to stay in the room to experience what the kings experienced.
There is Ajmer, Pushkar nearby to go around. Small market around. Make sure you eat the jamuns made by the locals. It is simply slurplicious.
Overall If you ask me about Roopangarh, I would say just go for it. Fantastic.

Room Tip: Make sure you take the bigger rooms. Also be clear on the menu.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vishmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

It was a small village that we were going through not expecting anything special. And there it was. I was standing in front of the main gate looking at the fort with sunlight glittering. We had a afternoon snack by the tennis court on the second floor still wowing about what we saw. The bedroom we had was just breath-taking. I do not think I will ever see another hotel like such a nice character and space.

We then took a walk in the village that surrounded the fort. I had all kinds of beautiful smiles and colorful doors on my camera. People were so friendly that I was offered chai by a family.

The costume party we had in that evening couldn't been more right and exciting! Each one of us dressed in the Maharaja or Indian Queen style. We danced and drank cocktails and laughed til it was 11pm (the party started at 6:30). Definitely something I will never forget!

Room Tip: the maharaja's room was not for rent but you can ask to tour it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kishangarh
13.7 mi away
1589 Royal Heritage
1589 Royal Heritage
#4 of 4 in Kishangarh
58 reviews
17.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Ajmer
13.4 mi away
Love Kush hotel
Love Kush hotel
#3 of 4 in Kishangarh
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Bhanwar Singh Palace
Bhanwar Singh Palace
#14 of 47 in Pushkar
270 reviews
16.2 mi away
Hotel Banwar Singh Palace
Hotel Banwar Singh Palace
#2 of 4 in Kishangarh
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roopangarh Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roopangarh Fort

Address: Roopangarh, Kishangarh 305814, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Ajmer District > Kishangarh
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kishangarh
Price Range: $68 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roopangarh Fort is a vast war Fort and has been over 350 years in the making. It has been painstakingly restored and renovated as a heritage hotel, especially for those who enjoy a sense of history and seek a story from the silent walls. Surprisingly large guest rooms, four poster beds, colonial Indian furniture, open log fires in winter all assure you of a warm welcome. Combined atmosphere of splendid views from the massive terrace and magical evenings under the clear sky with piercing desert music is intoxicating. Add to this modern day facilities and your holiday is truly memorable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Roopangarh Fort Kishangarh, India - Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing