We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and super staff”
Review of Phool Mahal Palace

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kishangarh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Phool Mahal Palace
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kishangarh
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location and super staff”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in Jan, when the weather was cold even for that time of year. Our room was spectacularly different with terrace on the lake side. Food was ordered in the morning and deliciously served up at our selected time. Though it was so cold we needed the fan heater on all night we ate outside courtesy of a huge log brazier. Breakfasts were good and served on the terrace by the lake as the sun came over the fort. They have beer and wine and astonished us by producing schweppes tonic for our locally acquired gin! The staff were always there, friendly and obliging. When the hot water didn't work it was rectified immediately, and when the power in the town cut out, on came their own generator. The star turn is the manager "DD" Purohit, who showed us round the old town and helped us buy local spices and trinkets at non-tourist rates. Everyone seems to know DD. Next day he showed us round the local fort, and arranged for us to visit their sister hotel at Roopengarh, even despatching his assistant to show us around (you should visit it - its rooms are colossal and the suite would swallow many a British house, but I would recommend choosing the summer months as heating it would require Battersea Power Station!). Kisangarh new town can be given a miss, but its convenient of both Ajmer and Pushkar. Cant recommend it enough, but its quirkiness isn't for all.

Room Tip: Try the octagonal room with its own terrace on the lake side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalKishangarh101, Owner at Phool Mahal Palace, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for your kind response, we are glad that you were taken care of and that you enjoyed your stay. And most of all we are glad that you saw scenic beauty of Kishangarh. Do come visit us again. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    23
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
16
16
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I stayed here for 3 days in mid October during a photo trip and I can not recommend it highly enough.
The hotel manager , Kamal, was really kind and helpful and even managed to find a beautiful woman to model for my photos !.
The rest of the staff were very good too and the food was great.
I think I was really lucky to have stayed while the lake was full so that is something you might want to check with them.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalKishangarh101, Owner at Phool Mahal Palace, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are happy that you had a pleasant stay and that you enjoyed the lake as much as we do. Do visit us again. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I would love to come back here. So much history, very well kept and elegant rooms, great service, remarkable views, wonderful food, felt like we were the only guests there.

The only reason I gave it 4 stars is I don't know what it is priced at, as the accommodations were part of a group tour I took.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank BMelanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Should visit as a tourist if not as a guest. The palace is besides the lake and the other side it the Palace of the king. The rooms are well kept, with different elegance in each room. And the rates are reasonable too!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sneha06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I stayed here with 2 friends en route from Jodhpur to Nawalgarh - and was delighted with what we found. The hotel is beautifully situated on the edge of a huge lake, well maintained and with very friendly staff. We were offered a walk into the old city in the evening, which was fascinating and very enjoyable as there are so few tourists that the people are genuinely pleased to see you. Everyone was unfailingly polite and friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. Before leaving (we only stayed one night) we visited the fort and had a private tour with a very knowledgeable member of the royal family's staff which was most interesting - in its own way just as good as Meherengarh Fort, yet it has a fraction of the visitors. We were pleased to see that maintenance work is going on and in fact the fort is in surprisingly good shape as they have managed to keep it pigeon and rainwater free! I would strongly recommend this place as a worthwhile stop if you are in the area - it is owned by the same people as Roopangarh Fort, but I think has considerably more to offer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aj300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed here in October 2012 as part of a tour... it is a lovely place! As everyone on the tour was family, I was able to visit six of the guest rooms and was amazed to find how unique each one was. Each room has quaint furnishings and artwork. My room had murals of horses on the walls. The views are outstanding and we had a lot of fun walking around on the estate grounds, especially in the mornings before it got hot. The wildlife there included wild monkeys, lots of birds, geckos (including some in the guest rooms, watch out!), and a water monitor lizard. The hotel employees were helpful and friendly, the food excellent. We enjoyed visiting the local village, everyone we met was so nice. There were a few instances of power outages during our stay, but what can you say? This is India. The employees were always very quick to turn on a generator and get things going again.
I would definitely recommend this beautiful palace as a unique place to stay in Kishangarh.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SunKachina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

I had a great experience here - the food is excellent and the staff goes out o their way to accommodate guests. My room looked like something out of the days of the Raj - it had beautiful paintings on the walls and the doors and high ceilings were spectacular. It was very comfortable, quiet, and safe. Kishangarh is a great, off-the-beaten-path village, and this is a good place to stay in the area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BeatletteFrankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kishangarh
1.4 mi away
1589 Royal Heritage
1589 Royal Heritage
#3 of 4 in Kishangarh
55 reviews
1.5 mi away
Love Kush hotel
Love Kush hotel
#4 of 4 in Kishangarh
9 reviews
7.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Ajmer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Crystal Park
Hotel Crystal Park
#1 of 4 in Kishangarh
11 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hotel Banwar Singh Palace
Hotel Banwar Singh Palace
#2 of 4 in Kishangarh
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phool Mahal Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phool Mahal Palace

Property: Phool Mahal Palace
Address: Old City Kishangarh, Kishangarh 305802, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Ajmer District > Kishangarh
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kishangarh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phool Mahal Palace has the massive Fort of Kishangarh as its backdrop and is washed by the monsoon fed Gundalao Lake in front, an architectural setting very rarely seen in Rajput history. Dry and drab though it may seem in the summer, the first magic showers transform it into a serene and smiling land. Originally the Payandaz Bagh or the garden at the foot of the fort, this pleasure garden of the Maharajas of Kishangarh was a source of inspiration to a number of famous Kishangarh miniature artists like Nihal Chand and it's easy to identify it in many paintings of the 17th century. Even today its setting and the myths related to it, provide themes for the painters of Kishangarh, executing in the classic style of the Kishangarh school of painting on paper, cloth, wood, marble etc. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Phool Mahal Palace Hotel Kishangarh
Phool Mahal Palace Kishangarh, India - Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing