We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unmaintained one of the best Locations in Puri....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Puri - Golden Sands, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ranked #12 of 81 Hotels in Puri
Kanpur, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unmaintained one of the best Locations in Puri....”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My review seems to be confusing....I'll tell you why... 1. Sterling is positioned at one of the best locations in puri. Private beach , sea facing ..corner Island and lots of space.. 2. 200 + rooms ..available only 50-60 maintainable sort of one for visitors..rest excellent locations for Ramsay brothers or a horror movie...
there few months back it is huge resort with lots of facility but the only thing I didn't like it is not well maintained and it can be managed and maintained in a much better way than it is currently...

Room Tip: Corner Suies
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pradeep G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    104
    73
    23
    33
See reviews for
218
52
5
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Being a member of Streling I visited this property (Golden Sands) for about 8th times (if not more) since 1999. My recent visit had a very bad experience especially with the reception staff including the senior receptionist (Mrs. Misra). They have very poor communications among themselves and often lie over small issues. Often they try to encourage guests to speak in Hindi rather than English that also even if you have started the conversation in English. The manager (Mr. Pal) takes very less interest to talk with the guests. While they are understaffed and not able to cater the member/guests who are boarding, the management arranged a "Holy Party" by inviting so many local "Members" for some Extra payment and arranged lunch for them!!!
The planning of party games were terribly poor quality. No innovative moves were there. There were no staff at the Holiday Activity room. The Spa rooms I felt suffocating and dared not to take a spa/massage session.
The reception persons could not transfer an incoming call to my room. When enquired, the main receptionist told "There is some problem and as soon as that is solved, we shall inform you". I waited for that moment for more than 2 days and the moment did not come and no information also was given to me in that regard.
The maintenance of the swimming pool also have deteriorated.

Room Tip: If you still want to visit, ask for a room in block A e.g. 209, 210 .... 216 etc. The main reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UjjalBhakat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We're regular visitors to Puri and our preferred place to stay is Golden Sands. Though not members, we are accommodated on package basis.
The property is at the end of the road. Its western boundary is the river Bhargavi and southern, the sea across that river's mouth.
As we like to get away from it all once in a while, Golden Sands is good. The property is adequately large, all accommodation units of good design for convenience and well ventilated. The food and service is also good.
There is no sea view rooms as such. Its a slightly physical effort to get to the sea. The beach is exclusive simply because its at a distance from Puri. And there is the river to provide a fresh water experience.
Its not for those who would like to be in Puri itself.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank ArindamGSinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranchi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

My review seems to be confusing....I'll tell you why...
1. Sterling is positioned at one of the best locations in puri. Private beach , sea facing ..corner Island and lots of space..
2. 200 + rooms ..available only 50-60 maintainable sort of one for visitors..rest excellent locations for Ramsay brothers or a horror movie location...Management least concerned on it
3. Food served..good, homely ..less spicy and staffs take care of you.Thats the only reason for your survival for two days here..
If you are laid back..want to hit the bed only and eat..sleep..eat..sleep..sterling is the best place...on high budget.......

This can be one of the best locations...management needs to utilize its space and make their staffs more aggressive to business and service...or else its in verge of slow death.....Hope to visit a metamorphosed sterling next time if ....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
2 Thank ravishverma21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

been there few months back it is huge resort with lots of facility but the only thing I didn't like it is not well maintained and it can be managed and maintained in a much better way than it is currently...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winneralltheway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Level Contributor
57 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Rooms- though the rooms are spacious but they are at best functional. The interiors of our room was alone a work of art with patches of black on brightly painted walls. The wooden plank was conspicuously visible under the dunlop. The bathrooms shower was so intense and and funnily tilted that one could easily take a shower inside the room. We in fact got it readjusted.
Food- well. That was a saving grace. Breakfast spread was elaborate and delectable. Even other major meals were sumptuous.the staff were gracious and accommodating and was helpful through out our stay.
Location- pretty far from the market or for that matter any form of habitation except a hotel nearby.for people yearning for solitude and peace wont be disappointed. But there is a catch. If one wants to the beach which is right across and can be seen from the resort, sterlings boat is required which charges rs 50 per person since the make shift bridge linking the resort to the beach is broken.so the beach is accessible only from 7 am to 7pm.
Oh yes one major draw for weary souls is that brahmakumari centre is near by which actually teaches you how to live life life to the fullest and fine tune your reception towards gods vibrations.

Room Tip: Ours was a studio. Check out the regulars also
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivekindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

It was a total disappointment staying.in sterling. This resort must have seen its glorius days, but now its 70 percent rooms are deserted and give haunted look.its approach road is terrible ,although surrounding is.good with river and sea facing . But its prices are exorbitant in compare to property maintenance and condition. Staff i found friendly and cooperative but they have nothing else to offer even food was very ordinary.
Only savimg grace was there spa ang guy there named Gautam trying very hard to relax you in spooky massage room with rickety sauna and old music system which tried to spook me several times.
Its look like you got in a haunted mansion , good for shooting.horror movie than staying.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Yayavarforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Puri - Golden Sands, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Sterling Holidays!

We understand that you were dissatisfied with your stay. Please be assured all the necessary steps shall be immediately taken to look into the issues put forward by you. We would like to inform you that our resorts in Ooty, Munnar and Kodaikanal have undergone extensive renovation. We will slowly be renovating all our properties.

Thank you for your positive feedback on our staffs' behavior and spa services.

We value our guest feedback immensely and want to thank you for taking the time out to let us know your views. We sincerely hope you will visit us again and give us an opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely,
Member Relations - Sterling Holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puri hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puri hotels
4.1 mi away
Hotel Holiday Resort
0.2 mi away
The Chariot Resort & Spa
4.1 mi away
Chanakya BNR Hotel
Chanakya BNR Hotel
#8 of 81 in Puri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel Gandhara
Hotel Gandhara
#7 of 81 in Puri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Sonar Bangla
Hotel Sonar Bangla
#18 of 81 in Puri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Hans Coco Palms
The Hans Coco Palms
#6 of 81 in Puri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri - Golden Sands, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri - Golden Sands, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Property: Puri - Golden Sands, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Address: 255/2 And 255/3, Puri 752002, India
Location: India > Odisha > Puri District > Puri
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 81 Hotels in Puri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Puri - Golden Sands, A Sterling Holidays Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Puri - Golden Sands, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing