We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE PROPERTY BUT POOR MAINTENANCE”
Review of Sterling Puri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sterling Puri
Ranked #10 of 84 Hotels in Puri
Reviewed January 8, 2012

i visited this property with my family on 2jan 2012 . i had huge expectation but i was disappointed. i stayed there for four days . it is a 3 star property in name only. food is average compared to price and lacks taste. there is lack of maintenance in all spheres . Holiday activity zone is poorly maintained .there was frequent power cut with long pause followed by generator back up.there is lack of professionalism in front desk area.only positive part is its natural beauty and silence .the staffs are friendly but the management part is poor the restaurant needs attention regarding quality and timing of food service . DR AJITESH GHOSHAL

Room Tip: rooms at the corner have good position and privacy avoid ground floor rooms opt for the south facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ajukolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 379 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in October 2011. The main purpose of staying here was to visit Puri temple and also utilise the time share which had been purchased by a family member. The road to the resort is non existent. One has to drive thru a part of the beach and there is no street lighting at all. There are just 2 or 3 hotels in this end of the road. That way, it is good as it is far from the hub and quiet. But, one cannot come here without a car. The rickshaws refuse to ply to the resort due to the rough road.
The resort spans over a large area, but more than 50% of the area lies undeveloped. The renovation and improvement has started now as per the senior personnel posted there.
The front desk was very helpful and the check in was smooth. The restaurant had an ok fare and the staff was very courteous. There was a meal scheme which one could opt for which made the food pricing very competitive. It was value for money and the fare was ok.
The travel desk was good and he offered us help for smooth darshan. We did not take the offer though. There was no extra cost involved. They also tried to organise some games, but the group was too small, since most guests were on the beach or on some sightseeing.The private beach near the hotel was exclusive, because it was far from the main beach.
The room was very spacious and we had a kitchenette as it was a time share room. The AC made such a racket and they could not resolve it and wanted us to change the room. This was very troublesome to stay in 2 rooms in 2 nights, so we opted to turn off the AC instead.
What the resort needs to do is get the road in order. From here one can easily go to the Konark Sun Temple, which is a world heritage site and also the Chilika lake. There were not much dolphins though and no migratory birds yet.
All in all, it was a pleasant stay, maybe dec/jan weather would have been more pleasant.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Prema_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHRIL, General Manager at Sterling Puri, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2011

Dear Guest,
Greetings for the day !!!

Thank you for sharing your reviews with Tripadvisor, and we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your Stay with us.

Your feedback has been shared with the entire team. Its feedback such as yours which enable us to perform and thrive better.

We have also taken note of your views, and have the pleasure informing you that resort upgrade is in progress and on your next visit would surely notice visible changes at the resort.

We once again thank you for your feedback and look forward welcoming you back soon at Golden Sands Puri.

I remain,

Sincerely Yours

Rajesh Pandey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

I was in the resort from 9th to11th Oct,2011 with my wife. The resort has no pucca road, it is dark after sunset, so you cannot move out. There is no shop for nearly 1 km from the resort. The rooms are not up to the mark for the amount they charge. Rickety beds. The room that we were given was the only sea facing one, all others are under renovation from the past three years. There is no place to relax in the lobby as there is no AC or fan. They do not provide soap, and expect you to squeeze the hand wash from the small bottle.Food is just OK. It was disappointing except for the very " KIND HELPFUL AND FRIENDLY STAFF".

Room Tip: Travelers can take better places at convenient locations on thebeach in South Puri (Marine Drive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Khanna_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Sterling resort is at the furthest point from the Puri railway station. I arrived in Puri by Howrah Duronto. It was on time at 9:40 PM and the taxiwallah charged a bomb to get me there!

I stayed in the resort for three nights. My observations are:
- The resort is spread over 15 acres. The area is clean though there are some rough patches.
- The location is simply beautiful since it is not crowded and cluttered. The Bhargavi river (as what the locals told me) flows next to it and merges to the see. Very nice view of the small river estuary and the delta. There is an access to the beach from the hotel but after you have waded thru 3 feet of river water!. it is however worth it.
- The swimming pool is nice and clean though I did not see anybody venturing in the pool.
- The restaurant had got good menu but is little on the expensive side. A veg meal for two costed about INR 650.
- The hotel rooms(Junior Suite) were clean and tidy. They had small kitchen accessories since you can cook your own food; but that is for the sterling resort members I guess.
- The hotel staff were very helpful and so was the traveldesk.
- The sterling online booking is however not good at all. You'll never get special discounted rates which I discovered later.
However the resort needs lot of investment; the owners need to deck this place up including some nice paint job. The staff did mention that they are refurbishing the resort with some good rooms and expect that to be operational by next year
Overall for me it was a good stay and would like to come back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbequinox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

If you want to stay , you have no communication with world. Because mobile network not available.
It is far away from the city .The road is really very bad. After evening it is very difficult to reach resort. Good food but no test.
Lot of space for children to enjoy . Staff are good. But Poor Management.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UTPAL_BBSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

Good Rooms.
Lot of space for children to play.
Friendly staff.
Good food.
Near the beach.

away from the city hub.
Approach road is bad.
Nothing much to do after it gets dark.
Renovation work is on.
Poor mobile network reception.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MEGYPSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

The stay at the hotel was nice and calm. We had very good food and cofee during one day seminar. We also went to Puri temple arranged by hotel staff. It was good to see hotel staff so counrteous in such a small place.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Panky1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puri hotels
4.1 mi away
Hotel Holiday Resort
0.2 mi away
The Chariot Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mayfair Heritage
Mayfair Heritage
#4 of 84 in Puri
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Hans Coco Palms
The Hans Coco Palms
#6 of 84 in Puri
397 reviews
4.1 mi away
Pramod Convention & Beach Resort
2.7 mi away
Mahodadhi Palace
Mahodadhi Palace
#18 of 84 in Puri
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sterling Puri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sterling Puri

Address: 255/2 And 255/3, Puri 752002, India (Formerly Puri - Golden Sands, A Sterling Holidays Resort)
Location: India > Odisha > Puri District > Puri
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 84 Hotels in Puri
Price Range: $51 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sterling Puri 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a spiritual tour to Puri, land of the Jagannath Temple and allow the ocean to soothe your mind. Watch the Bhargavi river merge into the sea at Sterling Puri, where the resort provides private access to the beach. A spiritual cum recreational trip? Hmmm...sounds interesting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sterling Puri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing