We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Right by the beach!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Sonali

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Sonali
Ranked #62 of 80 Hotels in Puri
Milpitas, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Right by the beach!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2009

Whenever we go to Puri, we stay at this hotel for these reasons -
1) It is right at Swargdwar so we don't have to walk a lot to get there.
2) Lots of shops near this area to get some local handicrafts.
3) Most of the crowd is right around this area - so people watchers this is a good place for you!
4) The little restaurant at this hotel serves good food (at least for my palate) so that's a big plus!
5) And the main thing - it is right across from the beach, just like many others but still that counts big time :)

I have stayed at this hotel many times and never thought of going to another hotel for any reason. The tariff is also very affordable, the rooms are clean and neat, the balcony has a sea view (not that you would stay in the room but still).

Eating jhalmuri right below the hotel is a lot of fun...do try it the next time you are in Orissa.

  • Liked — Its on the beach!
  • Disliked — Nothing really ...
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank apume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    13
    23
    10
    34
See reviews for
66
11
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
127 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2009

hotel sonali is a neat and clean hotel on the main road of puri. it faces the beach.i booked a sea facing room for around Rs 800 per day.i must say that the sea view was not very good because we got a room in the top floor.room service is bad but the hotel has got a good restaurant which serves basic Bengali fare. the staffs were cordial. we checked in at 5:30 in the morning and our check in was hassle free.we booked a cab from hotel for Rs 600 for a trip to konark.a budget hotel,good value for money.you wont be hurt if you are not expecting anything excellent.

  • Liked — their warm behaviour
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank silva s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkata
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2009

I had booked the room- super deluxe AC room from their booking office in kolkata.I booked a room facing the beach.Well, the actual room was on the top floor with soiled and torn bedsheet with a side extention balcony where you have to strain your neck to see the beach.The quality of food in the restaurant was like road side stalls and was smelling. I wonder why do they need to give bombastic names to their rooms when they cannot even provide proper bedsheet or even a clean toilet.
The hotels outer decoration is good while the inner facility for the guests is attrociously poor.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sumit_ghosal73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puri hotels

Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2009

I looked for a hotel at puri and decided that Sonali would fit the bill. Unfortunately, the picture of their 650 Rs room was not anything like the room itself. The room and the attached batroom were dirty and the bed linen and towels provided were soiled. When I went around and looked for other accomodation, I found much better rooms for nearly the same money. When I demanded that I wanted to cancel my reservation for all days susequent to check in (4th Jan), the hotel staff rudely refused. After a heated and protracted argument, I was given a better room (for an extra ~100 Rs per day). Better was however relative. While the room was larger, I had to pursue the staff to clean the room, change the linen/towels etc. Finally, the hotel has advertised an internet centre, a beauty salon and conferencing facilities which do not exist. The staff was unconcerned about my comfort and the restaurant was unhygenic. Overall a disappointing experience.

  • Liked — Its proximity to the beach
  • Disliked — Cleanliness, Uncourteous staff, unhygenic restaurant, not having advertised facilities
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
3 Thank RVV-AE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirsa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2008

This Hotel is Just on the beach & very near to Temple. Room Rates are very Low from other hotels. Staff are very good & responsible & also very helping You will feel at home only.

Top floor rooms are very big & have a gr8 view.

1 must stay only in this hotel only

  • Liked — Location & Excellent Staff's Behaviour
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RohitGaneriwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puri hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pushpa (Berries Group of Hotels)
1.0 mi away
Hotel Sonar Bangla
Hotel Sonar Bangla
#18 of 80 in Puri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mahodadhi Palace
Mahodadhi Palace
#17 of 80 in Puri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Golden Dust
Hotel Golden Dust
#53 of 80 in Puri
3.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Shakti International
0.6 mi away
Hotel Shree Hari
Hotel Shree Hari
#40 of 80 in Puri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonali

Property: Hotel Sonali
Address: Sea-Beach, Swargadwar, Puri 752001, India
Location: India > Odisha > Puri
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 80 Hotels in Puri
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sonali 2*

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing