We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hans Coco Palms
Nearby Hotels
$41
$40
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$31
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$55
$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$54
$52
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$44
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reba Beach Resort(Puri)(Great Value!)
$10
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$114
$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$111
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (417)
Filter reviews
417 results
Traveler rating
167
191
40
10
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
167
191
40
10
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool sidedhalsmall roadfirst floorlocal cuisinecandle light dinnerlovely pooljagannath templebreakfast spreadmini barwonderful propertythe ground floor roomsceiling fanlight housepuri beachsea viewmaintained garden
Filter
Updating list...
365 - 370 of 417 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2010

We had planned this as a small retreat from the whole din and dust of the city and it was exactly that !! I had been traveling for almost a day and was exhausted!!

But the way we were welcomed and understanding the exhaustion we were checked in very quickly and left to ourselves though reminding us of the closing time for the kitchens !! Dinner was calling and one of our family friends came down to pick us for dinner !!

Room was small but cozy though bathroom was tiny and we expected better !! And also the mini bar was almost nonexistent !! So we stuck to the room service which was fine !! The weather and the location with each balcony facing the sea was fantastic !!

Food was a mix of good and bad as the lunch served was amazing but the dinner was inedible and we felt cheated because of this !! Breakfast was a very relaxed affair though surrounded by screaming kids we decided to cut it short !! Loved the pool area though was a bit cold to go swimming !! was very very clean !! And though we didnt eat near the pool the candle light dinner being served looked really romantic !!

All in all a good experience though the place has a lot more potential !!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank runtothebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2010

it is an amzing hotel with a beautiful beach as well as swimming pool,,,

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ramKolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2010

Like many Hindus, Puri is an important pilgrimage destination of ours. However, Puri is also attractive to many because of the sea and its close proximity to Kolkata. This has led to a situation of demand supply mismatch with respect to hotels of Puri and the destination is very much in the sellers’ market. So rule 1, do not complain.

You may be a pilgrim and chose to stay at a ‘high end’ hotel of the city, but remember that this most expensive hotel of the city is actually a budget resort destination. Rule 2, accept things as they come.

With this backdrop and our bitter experience at Mayfair, we were pleasantly surprised, when we were given rooms on arrival, since you are generally kept waiting at other times / places. However, we were still wondering as to why did the driver of the pick up car, (we paid separately for “AC CAR pick up”, which so reflected in our agent’s voucher) laughed and mocked us, when we had asked him to switch the AC on. The Rs.50/- tip, for a 15 minute drive, thankfully restored our honour.

The rooms were small, given the price, but clean. The upkeep was a bit dated and the age of the hotel was visible.

Breakfast was quite depressing. This was the only meal we had from the hotel as the rest was bhog from the temple. We did have a light snack on the day of check out, which was quite ill cooked.

General behaviour of staff was courteous, but one has to see it in light of the fact that we had low expectations.

There was a ‘makeshift’ open-air disco right below our room, with deafening noise and we stayed awake till it was over (as per Rule 1 above!). The DJ played the ‘gayatri mantra’ with strong disco beats and people were dancing to it!! (Rule 2!)

While checking out (after our mini bar was inspected twice) we saw the hotel’s copy of our agent’s voucher, where it was written in pencil to give ‘Non AC car’. When we pointed this out, the receptionist gave us an innocent helpless smile that is quintessential of budget resorts. Even after this when we entered the car, the driver did not switch the AC on, saying it was a ‘Non AC car’. We did not follow Rule 1 in this case, but as expected, without result!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mira270503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2010

Hotel has a beautiful landscape garden,a spacious swimming pool and a restaurant serving quality food.It has also a lovely balcony/terrace on the first floor overlooking sea of course where romantic couples can spend long memorable hours in a moonlit nights unobtrusively.All this apart rooms are not roomy.The bathroom/toilet are most unspacious,though very basic toiletries are provided with.There is no shower cubicle.With only a shower curtain to divide the bathroom,the entire floor gets wet after every shower.No dry cleaning facility available.Clothes are just washed and ironed.Morning tea/coffee with complimentary daily newspaper is there on chargeable basis.There is no tea making facility in the room.You can have panoramic view of the sea while sipping your drinks in your room.But problem is that you do not feel like sitting down in that confined space too long.There is a small balcony attached to the room.If you open the balcony door within minutes the moisture accompanying the sea breeze makes the room wet and strewn with salt, You have a choice of having open air dinner in the lawn. But mosquito bites are inevitable.I preferred the air-conditioned restaurant instead. Locationwise you are assured of peace and quiet.Swimming pool and surrounding lawn/garden are well looked after.The quality of food in restaurant is better than almost any other local restaurant.But it is expensive. Bar service is acceptable in terms of choice of drinks.On the whole it was a comfortable stay but at an inflated price.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amitab10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2010

The Hans Coco Palms is an absolute haven (heaven ?) located on the Beach Road in Puri. Located at virtually the western end of the road, this 32 room property gives visitors a totally relaxing stay amidst lovely landscaped gardens, a proper adult sized pool and access to the beach which is clean and empty at this location.

Rooms are smallish, but nicely appointed with a balcony facing the sea,

The staff are extremely friendly and helpfull.

The food is excellent with an adequate buffet breakfast thrown in the package. The Chef knows his stuff and produced an authentic Tiramisu with mascapone cheese for us !

Dining al-fresco by the poolside under a million stars and the sound of breaking waves is pure magic.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BanditJamshedpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews