We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World class hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hans Coco Palms
Ranked #6 of 81 Hotels in Puri
Certificate of Excellence
Puri, Orissa, India
1 review
“World class hospitality”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I was there for my business trip, reached tired at the hotel for check in, i was recd with fresh face towel with a soothing smell of rose. first go nice experience, then when i reached in the room, i found my bed was folded nicely to make me slip inside easily , it was nicely done turn down service. In the morning i gave my laundry to one house keeping gentleman named Amarnath, my shirt collar button was half broken, i should really appreciate the service of housekeeping team that i got my shirt back with a half broken button replaced with the new same color(don't know how they got it of the same color, had never experienced this kind of service before in other budget hotels ,as i am a business traveler).

I didn't got time to enjoy other hotel services due to my busy schedule, but surely they are perfect in all the areas.

I am planning to visit with my family for few days and i recommend all travelers to Ludhiana, kindly try Aveda n try take pool facing room nice look

cheers aveda n thanks.

Sachin Bansal

Room Tip: i stayed in room 421 so i advice all ppl to take this side rooms as they are pool facing, hotel is l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    172
    36
    9
    9
See reviews for
221
76
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
308 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 584 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Coco Palms has the possibility of providing a peaceful retreat away from the maddening crowd and litter of the beach area around Swargadwar in Puri. The property has an easy access to the beach which is quite clean. Ideal for people who wish to enjoy tranquil moments on the beach.
The hotel itself is well maintained. Meals, provided as a part of our package, were quite decent.
On one occassion, mahaprasad from the Jagannath temple was served for dinner to our group on special request. A performance of gotipua dance which is a predecessor of the Odissi dance style was also arranged one evening. Overall the experience was quite enjoyable and satisfying.
The hotel definitely needs an improvement on its professional outlook. One evening, most of the kitchen staff were diverted to a wedding reception on the lawn leaving only one person to manage the kitchen and one waiter to attend to the hotel guests in the dining room. This obviously led to frayed tempers and arguments.Some wedding guests drinking on the lawns were creating a huge ruckus disturbing the sleep of hotel guests as late as 2 am. Only after repeated complaining to the reception, this issue was taken care of. No one grudges the hotel trying to make extra bucks by letting out their grounds for such events. But it should be at the minimum inconvenience of hotel guests.
I would love to go back there only for the location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debarati D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanscocopalms, General Manager at The Hans Coco Palms, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very much thankful to you for sharing your view.

We are really sorry for the inconvenience caused due to dinner party in the lawn.

We are very much concerned on our inhouse guests' comfort & will definitely try not to repeat such kind of scenario in future.

Thanking you once again on your compliments.

Warm regards,

Biraja Dhal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This hotel is rather average. Garden and pool surroundings are well maintained but the rooms are not as clean as you would expect from the best rated hotel around. The room was dark and dump and the AC pointing straight at the beds made it unpleasantly windy at night even when we turned it down to minimum. Also have to note that as a couple we didn't get a double bed but two singles only. The worst is the check-in desk service-rude and unfriendly. The waiters to the contrary were trying hard to be helpful despite the fact that their English wasn't great. Variety of meals was good especially after eating only Indian food for a while. Overall though it is not worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Makucech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanscocopalms, General Manager at The Hans Coco Palms, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is our pleasure to have you with us and we appreciate your feedback on this forum.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay. We, at Hans Coco Palms, always try to take care of our guest's comfort upto fullest extent.

However, we will definitely take remedial measures on your feedback.

Hope you will give us another chance to serve you in future.

Warm regards,

Biraja Dhal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I would say this is nice property with an amazing view of the swimming pool and the well manicured lawn having the roaring sea as the backdrop.
Location wise it’s a bit away from the main point of attraction- Swargadar (around 600 meter) and the beach is also less crowded here. They have also arrangements for two canopies as well at the beach with chairs for the resident guests of the hotel.
The 3 day long stay at the hotel is a mixed bag of experiences. The room is decently done up with adequate furniture and some standard add on like electric kettle, mini bar and safe locker box. The bed was comfortable. The room, common area, linen and towels were cleanly maintained. Of course there were some signs of ageing on the walls and at the door leading to the balcony. The bathroom seemed to be a bit small. About the staff’s behaviour it was somewhere in between responsive and non responsive. While I mentioned that the TV wasn’t working to the reception, they just didn’t care. Though the receptionist said he would send the technician, but I never saw neither the technician nor the TV during my entire stay. And the wi fi service which is complementary also didn’t work. On other occasions they helped with whatever they could. The check out time is very odd too (8am), though upon request I got 2 hours extension.
The breakfast which is complementary has a moderate spread of choice. As I only had the breakfast at the restaurant, so don’t know exactly how the offering as a standalone restaurant for the lunch or dinner is.
The hotel’s also equipped with spa service which is basic and it’s somewhat acceptable.
I would conclude that the hotel doesn’t score high on the ground of value for money as there’re lots of rooms for improvement. Wish them all the best in serving guests in a more professional way.

Room Tip: Go for the 1st floor room for a great view. Though the rooms are bit smaller compared to the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prosenjit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanscocopalms, General Manager at The Hans Coco Palms, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your view which always helps us improve our services.

We apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay.

We appreciate your detailed observation and take these noted points as ready reckoner to upgrade the standard of delivery.

Looking forward to another chance of serving you & your family in future.

Warm regards,

Biraja Dhal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Staying at this hotel was such a treat. Beautiful place by the beach and walking distance of the places we wanted to see. The buffet was good, although it seemed to have the same things everyday. A little variation could help.

The service was great MY ONLY CONCERN is the check-out policy. They throw you out of the room quite early because they have bookings of people arriving. They should stick to the timings which other hotels use about checking-in hours at noon. The newly arrivals could have breakfast or whatever, but to be kicked out of bed at 8 am seems rather rude. Although we managed to keep the rooms until a little bit later, but after a lot of begging took place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenBliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanscocopalms, General Manager at The Hans Coco Palms, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your appreciation.

Regarding the check out timing, we also feel very embraced when our guests get disturbed.
But we are helpless, as all the hotels in Puri maintain same timing keeping the train arrivals in mind.However, we do not disturb our guests when room is free for next day.

Looking forward to serve you in future.

Warm regards,

Biraja Dhal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
559 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This resort is located at an excellent location with a great beach. The beach is neither too crowded nor deserted. There are two small shacks on the beach with lots of plastic chairs and their private lifeguard is always at hand. The amenities at this place are also great with a great pools, nice sea view rooms, great restaurant, etc. The only issue with this place is that its a bit expensive, but be assured you will receive your money's worth back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sudipnandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanscocopalms, General Manager at The Hans Coco Palms, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is indeed our pleasure to have you with us.

Thank you for your appreciation which is always a tremendous driving force for our staff members to serve our valuable guests with right attitude and hospitality.

Looking forward to welcome you in future.

With warm regards,

Biraja Dhal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuttack, Orissa, India
1 review
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I recently stayed here.
During the NCC meeting
the swimming pool is excellent
and staying in those A/C rooms was like i was in heaven
food is also very very good
but a quite expensive.
and it is also very near to the beach.
The staff is very excellent
i will give 5 out of 5.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anuragadviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanscocopalms, General Manager at The Hans Coco Palms, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. My staff members are my strength. It is my privilege to share your view with my team members. We are happy to receive guest like you at our property.
Looking forward to welcome you in future.

With warm regards,

Biraja Dhal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puri hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Holiday Resort
2.0 mi away
Mayfair Heritage
Mayfair Heritage
#4 of 81 in Puri
417 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pramod Convention & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Chanakya BNR Hotel
Chanakya BNR Hotel
#9 of 81 in Puri
180 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Chariot Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Hotel Gandhara
Hotel Gandhara
#7 of 81 in Puri
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hans Coco Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hans Coco Palms

Property: The Hans Coco Palms
Address: Swargadwar | Near Light house, Puri 752001, India
Location: India > Odisha > Puri District > Puri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puri
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hans Coco Palms 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Hans Coco Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Palms Puri Hotel Puri
Coco Palms Hotel Puri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing