We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place to Relax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hans Coco Palms
Ranked #6 of 81 Hotels in Puri
Certificate of Excellence
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Perfect Place to Relax”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Though the rooms do not have an open view of the ocean, but nevertheless one can get a glimps of the sea through the nicely planted trees inside the resort. The resort has a perfect plush of green and a decent sized swiming pool to accomodate the limited guests in the resorts. The number of rooms is a maximum of 20 and thus it is not congested even during peak seasons. The staff is extremely hospitable and the food is mouth watering and fabulous ... The best part was the one kilogramme sized tandoori pomfret that they treated us with ... What one should try and avoid is the hotel paanda if you have any other alternative arrangement, however, if one does not have any other alternative arrangements, one can rely on the hotel paanda rather than fixing someone unknown from inside the temple premises ... If flight prices don't pinch your pocket much, then avoid train journeys even if you have to travel for more than an hour on road from Bhubaneshwar to Puri and even if you find it tiring as the trains are disgustingly dirty and unhygenic even if it is the recently launched Duronto Express which offers extremely poor quality food and is equally unclean and dirty.

Room Tip: Take rooms on the 1st Floor ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arijit750260416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanscocopalms, Manager at The Hans Coco Palms, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your Feedback of your stay . Our Resort is being blessed by the Nature with lots of Greenery reason being the view of the Sea is partly visible from the room. We are glad to know the quality of food & services of our Resort was able to reach your expectations. We will definitely take action against the Priest .

Warm Regards
Team Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    176
    36
    9
    9
See reviews for
229
76
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

This is a beautifully located property, right next to the sea. The rooms have a great view of the manicured gardens and the sea. Very well maintained rooms, clean and cool. Great service. The Best Hotel in puri i have ever seen. The pool is the best part surrounded with trees. Birds do drink water from it and you might find the occassional frog swimming with you...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 848rajesh848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

This is a beautifully located property, right next to the sea. The rooms have a great view of the manicured gardens and the sea. Very well maintained rooms, clean and cool. Great service. The pool is the best part surrounded with trees. Birds do drink water from it and you might find the occassional frog swimming with you, but that adds to the flavour. Nice little Library with plenty of good books. Food is a bit of an issue. Continental food is a no no.. You might try Indian dishes.
Overall, a lovely place to relax and do nothing..

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AMMira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and I would say it was a very pleasant stay over there. Location excellent away from the maddening crowded beach side. The part of the beach they have is quite clean, less crowded. From the temple of Jagannath its around 2 to 3 kms away but commuting there is no problem. The rooms we were offered was R no: 214 which was quite big in size. The bed comfortable , AC's effective, toilet amenities and room facilities in good supply and condition, bathroom clean. Housekeeping staff and room service staff always happy to help. Breakfast was good in taste as well as variety. The lunch and dinner timings are strict so if you want a lunch after 3:00 PM you won't get. They will be happy to provide some snacks. So be prepared for that. The dinner we ordered was good to taste, service quick and after 10 mins of serving the dinner in our room they called us again to ask for anything like chapati or rice if we needed. So I would say a five star for the service. In all a very nice place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maketrip7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

This is a very good hotel, and the location is extremely good far from the noise and dust.
The beach is just adjacent, and clean
Rooms very good and bath room also
Restaurant top service excellent
A location to be recommended

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patkat08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

I would start by saying this place is little costly stay. You will have no complains with the comfort, view, stay, overall a well maintained hotel/resort. The rooms are bit smaller. You should not stay here for a single night, at least 2 nights to enjoy the place in wholesome. You can have your dinner near swimming pool side with candle light. The place is quite romantic. The pool is neat and well maintained. One of the best above average hotel/resort in Puri. To reach the beach you just have to cross the road, it's neat, and hotel people would be there to assist you. Nice place to spend couple of days if your budget is high.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luckyb56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

This was my first visit to Puri.

The hotel is expensive but no complaints, nice rooms, good food. The rooms are are that of any standard business hotel. Its well maintained. Beach is walk able. Well maintained swimming pool, but when you have the beach who goes swimming in a pool.

We had hired a cab for the whole trip, it was good as you get rid of all the travel hassles. orissataxiservices provided the cab, they are listed on the net.

Place to visit
1. Jaggannath temple - 'The lazy darshan', we went to the temple after 10.30 pm. We drove the car right upto the temple. During the day you cannot do the same as the road is blocked.
One thing you cant miss is the flag hoisting, it happens during the evening when a temple priest will climb the temple wall from outside and hoist the flags he carries at the top.

2. chillka lake - If you are lucky may find some dolphins. But the boat ride is good.

3. Sun temple - the obvious. Do take a guided tour as you will get to know a lot of intricate details. Beware of touts, just in front of the temple entrance you will find govt authorized guides with proper ID card, you can hire them.

Place to eat - Must eat
'The chung wah' - It is a chinese restaurant in the hotel Lee Garden (VIP road). Cannot afford to miss the food here. The place is bit shabby but dont go by the looks. One of the best chinese in one the most unexpected places. Dont be late sometime they run out of food after 9.30 pm. Still have salivating thoughts.

Hope the info is helpful to someone.

Room Tip: If you are booking 2 rooms, tell them to book connecting rooms where you can open the common door if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank amalin1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puri hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Holiday Resort
2.0 mi away
Mayfair Heritage
Mayfair Heritage
#5 of 81 in Puri
421 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pramod Convention & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Chariot Resort & Spa
2.6 mi away
Chanakya BNR Hotel
Chanakya BNR Hotel
#9 of 81 in Puri
183 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Gandhara
Hotel Gandhara
#8 of 81 in Puri
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hans Coco Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hans Coco Palms

Property: The Hans Coco Palms
Address: Swargadwar | Near Light house, Puri 752001, India
Location: India > Odisha > Puri District > Puri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puri
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hans Coco Palms 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Hans Coco Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Palms Puri Hotel Puri
Coco Palms Hotel Puri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing