We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Panthanivas Puri

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Panthanivas Puri
Ranked #12 of 83 Hotels in Puri
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is a OTDC hotel with the as usual Government characteristics. But this is a very good hotel with excellent location where you can enjoy the beach quietly even in the night also. They have an excellent view of the beach also from the hotel where you can hear the sound of the waves. The usp of the hotel is the value i.e. the much costly Mayfair Hotel is just nearby the hotel. The food is also good and standard.

Room Tip: The rooms towards the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alok4modisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 135 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013

We booked an AC double room at the OTDC office at Utkal Bhavan, Lenin Sarani, Kolkata. The payment is by cash, as they have to card facility. The full amount for the stay has to be paid in advance, and cancellation terms are a bit unfair.

We arrived by the early morning train, and reached the hotel much before the check in time, We were given chairs in a messy hall, where we could keep our luggage and visit the toilet. We used the time to steal an early morning stroll by the sea, which can be reached via the garden. We got our room as soon as the day-manager reported, and that was still before the check-in time.

The rooms on the AC block all have sea facing balconies, but 2nd floor is the best, where we got ours. The room is big with a king size bed, and we could fit in 3 of us easily. Since we did not require an extra mattress (btw they don't have foldaway cots for extra person), and managed with an extra pillow and blanket, we were not charged the Extra Person charge. This was amazing. The bathroom was of standard size, a bit dirty to start with, but we got the service team to work, and they did a great job.

The AC works, as long as there's power, which goes off for about 3 hours in the morning every day.

Food at the restaurant in good, and they can customize the spices a bit according to your palette. The service is excellent and we had friendly waiters delivering tea at 6.10 AM, and waiting with breakfast packets, at 6.30 AM, when we took excursion trips.

We booked trips to Chilika and Konarak/Bhubaneshwar from the hotel itself, and the OTDC gave us fabulous days of sighseeing. Thanks a lot, OTDC - keep it up.

Room Tip: 2nd floor in the AC block, all rooms have sea facing balconies. The corner room is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Kolkata_Babu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We had booked 2 Double-Rooms AC and no sooner we checked in...Large Bathroom Tiles fell like pack of cards marginally missing my feet. The accident would have definitely chopped my few toes if not fracture my ankle. Government Hotel with poor maintenance. After persistent callling, the manager emerged. Commented..You have blessing of Lord Jagannath and no harm done. However he shifted us to Super-Deluxe Rooms.. Quite large and clean...may be because they were renovated just then. The property is located right on beach..very good location. Probably the best. Food quality average.

Room Tip: Super Deluxe Room ..Newly renovated. The balcony faces the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank CarLinkMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The Pros: Reached Puri at 1.00 am, and was refused booked accommodation in a nearby resort on technical grounds. Remembered this OTDC place, where we were welcomed and allotted rooms with a smile, and without any fuss at that unearthly hour. Hence it was a soul-saver for me and my family. The rooms are spacious, airy and the balconies face the beach, which is very pleasant. The beach is 1 minute away from the hotel lawn, which, again, is very convenient. The staff are smiling, courteous and helpful. The complimentary breakfast, though limited is freshly prepared and wholesome. The restaurant, although in tatters, manages to dish out rather tasty food at reasonable rates, if one is prepared for long waits.

The Cons: House keeping is non-existent. The intercoms in our rooms could not be repaired, as a result of which, I had to trudge down 2 floors, each time I wanted a cup of tea, or a change of sheets, or a change of towels or just about anything. Very depressing. The old wing badly needs maintenance and a face lift, including the replacement of broken furniture, hanging over-head wires, shabby toilet fittings etc. Instead, they are investing in a new wing, which again resembles the hostel dorm of a medical college, instead of a hotel. Sad.

Check-in and check-out is prompt, but payment by card is not possible. Hence, the customer has to make available wads of notes, which is irritating and inconvenient. Although the reception guys are friendly, a scowling, muttering lady manning the reception spoilt my mood during check-out.

The hotel's approach is poor, and it is far from Swargodwar and Jagannath Temple, where the action is. We had our own vehicle for moving around. But for guests who are devoid of transportation, movement can be dicey, as options for local transport around not available around the hotel.

Room Tip: Take rooms on the 2nd floor. The views of the beach and the sea breeze are very satisfying. Avoid ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pcsarkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Panthanivas is a kind of hotel which will leave you with mixed feelings. The location of the hotel is so good that if they give a little importance to the maintenance of this place it can easily become one of the most visited hotels of Puri. Being a government hotel can give it the credibility too, but right now, just like anything government run, this one also is a disppointment in totatlity.

However that doesn't mean that this place has nothing good to offer. There are lot of good little things about this place which you will instantly fall in love with if you can ignore the cons.

Pro:-
1. The best thing about this place is its location. Its right on the beach which is an extension of the main beach. Unlike the overcrowded, noisy main beach, this one is calm, serene simply beautiful. It was such a bliss to walk on the sea shore with light rains. One can walk to the main beach easily from this beach and believe me that's the best experience.
2. The rooms are big enough and the view from the balcony is to die for. You can watch the sea not only from the balcony but even when u sit at the dressing table. Aah, bliss.The beds are big enough to easily accomodate a couple and a small kid.
3. The corridor connecting the rooms is so nice, one can easily spend a whole evening just sitting there.
4. the staff is kind and helpful

Cons:-
1. The rooms are just not maintained. The POPs are popping out, doors get jammed because of the damp. Though there is a lot of cross ventilation if the door to the balcony and hotel room are kept open. But if not then it has that damp smell. I guess there is a lot of renovation going on right now and hope there won't be any maintenance issue post that.
2. Staff come demanding for their tips which is very weird.
3. Restaurant was a major disappointment as it served only limited items and that too a very run of the mill menu. Though they have a lot of local recipes in there but nothing was available which was such a bummer..

All in all, if you are not very finicky about things like maintenance of a place and are on a budget, then this place is a sure shot winner. However I still hope to see an improved post renovation Panthaniwas when I next visit Puri.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank shaance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I have visited Puri for more than ten times nearly - even that Puri is evergreen to us, i.e me and my wife. When I was in Kolkata we want to be refreshed we went Puri. Lovely sea, Jagannath Temple, lots of things for marketing - mean Puri. The position of Panthanivas is excellent – it is under Odisha Tourism. We visited Puri lastly in March 2012. Our room was at second floor. It was two side opened to the sea. The size of the room/ wash room is ok. But the rooms required some maintenance work. Although when we stayed there maintenance work was going on. The restaurant was big one and food quality and quantity wise will be satisfied tourist. The service was average. But the beauty of the sea from the room will help you to prevail over the average service. The lawn is very big and maintained. Overall I can tell that Panthanivas is one of the good option to stay at Puri.

Room Tip: Corner rooms is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kajal N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We recently stayed at Panthanivas Puri. A very nice clean hotel on Puri Beach. Located right on the Beach with a lovely view. Nice spacious rooms with a nice corridor outside to sit relax and enjoy the lovely breeze from the sea shore and listen to the waves and get carried away to a beautiful world...Wonderful food and very homely service by the staff. Helpful people.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sarasrajmani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puri hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Holiday Resort
0.5 mi away
Chanakya BNR Hotel
Chanakya BNR Hotel
#10 of 83 in Puri
188 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Pushpa
Hotel Pushpa
#50 of 83 in Puri
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Reba Beach Resort
Reba Beach Resort
#2 of 125 in Puri
217 reviews
3.4 mi away
Puri - Golden Sands, A Sterling Holidays Resort
4.8 mi away
Toshali Sands
Toshali Sands
#7 of 83 in Puri
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panthanivas Puri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panthanivas Puri

Address: Chakratirtha Road, Puri 752001, India
Location: India > Odisha > Puri District > Puri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Puri
Price Range: $10 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 37
Also Known As:
Panthanivas Puri Hotel Puri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing