We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our stay at Toshali Sands” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Toshali Sands

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Toshali Sands
Ranked #8 of 78 Hotels in Puri
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our stay at Toshali Sands”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

This resort has a very nice location though at a secluded area. The facilities are very good.
Some problems are non-ac lobby, wifi does not work in the rooms, no safes in the room to keep the valuables. Staff is very polite and the private beach is cherry on the top. I wish they had nicer vehicles to take the guests to city and places.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Motimittal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToshaliResorts, General Manager at Toshali Sands, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback in trip advisor.

We are really sorry for the inconvenience caused due to Wi-Fi not working in the Room .

We are very much concerned on our guests' comfort, Service and Satisfaction.

Looking forward to welcome you in future.


Warm regards,

Genaral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    127
    58
    27
    44
See reviews for
258
70
9
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, B.C., Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Toshali Sands near Puri is a huge, sprawling place. I found the layout confusing and got lost trying to find my room (it was a cottage). But once oriented, I found it a good place to stay. The room was on the small side, but this was made up for by the enclosed shower and apparently endless hot water.

Dinner at the restaurant begins at 8:00 p.m., which is a bit later than I would prefer. But I found out that it’s not a problem if you want to go earlier and order off the menu. Food and service were good, though the room was extremely dark – impossible to read except with a backlit e-book reader!

There were Internet connectivity problems while I was there, but I was able to connect from the reception area. This service was chargeable at a reasonable rate. It was on the honour system, although I am not sure if that is a typical thing as the recent cyclone and heavy rains caused so many practical problems.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToshaliResorts, General Manager at Toshali Sands, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was indeed a pleasure and privilege having you with us. We were equally delighted to learn that you considered our resort for your stay in Puri.

While expressing our earnest gratitude, we thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you during your most recent stay.

Your thoughtful opinion and annotations will be shared with my team to inspire and encourage them to further enhance their service and perform even better, going forward.

We would look forward to your continued patronage yet again so that we can serve you even better in your successive visits.

Yours truly.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

strategically located at a place which is free from crowd.... yet gives a fantastic exposure to beach, greenery and even wildlife. One can sight spotted deers freely roaming in the nearby jungle. The trip to nearby places like Konark is nearer from this resort.

The cottages are well designed, giving private balcony for all and beautiful sight of palm trees, well groomed green lawn and flower plants.

Restaurant is excellent coupled with responsive service.

A bit overpriced but good value for money...

Room Tip: Cottages are preferable rather than rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Navin_K_Adarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToshaliResorts, General Manager at Toshali Sands, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings !!

I was delighted to read your comments in praise of the property. The team and I work as together to make the best available to our patrons. Our guests' satisfaction is the best possible reward we can receive.

Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to welcome you back for many more enchricing experiences on your next visit .

Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranchi, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Toshali Sands was,i believe,the first in Eastern India to bring in the resort concept.I went there after ages and it's still so prim and proper!We stayed in a cottage..which was a great idea-with a small sitting area outside and a mini-garden.Check-in was swift and warm.On check-in,the AC in the cottage malfunctioned.Within 5 mins,2 maintainence staff were attending to it in all earnest.When a solution was not apparent,they swiftly changed us to another cottage.Had a good time at the swimming pool.Food was decent.However,i'd like to mention one thing i didnt like-this was the time when news came in that a cyclone was brewing up and heading to the Puri and adjoining coast.We decided to check out a day earlier than planned.Though they agreed with some reluctance-i did find it surprising that instead of informing all guests of a potential emergency-they were actually trying to retain guests-even called in a DJ for the night before the cyclone hit-so that checked in guests would be retained.Now,if i were the owner of a responsible resort-i'd not care of business loss(which could be made up eventually) and be more worried about the potential human loss that could have happened,the way things were turning up.That said,a cyclone is a rarity.One cannot deny that in normal circumstances,this is still an excellent resort,with very good service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dude4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToshaliResorts, General Manager at Toshali Sands, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was indeed a pleasure and privilege having you with us. We were equally delighted to learn that you considered our resort for your stay in Puri.

While expressing our earnest gratitude, we thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you during your most recent stay.
Your thoughtful opinion and annotations will be shared with my team to inspire and encourage them to further enhance their service and perform even better, going forward.

We would look forward to your continued patronage yet again so that we can serve you even better in your successive visits.

Yours truly.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west bengal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

I must say Its a great Resort with Pool, large gardens, laws, message & spa........Food quality is very Good. Its a Great place to be there.

ONLY 1 POINT KNOCKS -Over priced when this resort is far far from the beach, But they provide compl pickup n drop to a nearby private beach.!!

Otherwise its a great resort

Room Tip: Take Cottage to Spoil yrself, But it a point its far from the city n swargadwar beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pawanash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToshaliResorts, General Manager at Toshali Sands, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings !!

I was delighted to read your comments in praise of the property. The team and I work as together to make the best available to our patrons. Our guests' satisfaction is the best possible reward we can receive.

Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to welcome you back for many more enchricing experiences on your next visit .

Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Located strategically between Puri and Bhubaneshwar,Toshali Sands Resort truly strives to cater ethnicity to it's valued customers in the most modern manner.It's sprawling extent,exquisitely landscaped grounds,cozy cottages loaded with the most modern amenities,rejuvenating sauna,pool,massage,gym,indoor & outdoor games is a near complete feast.The platter is complete with Toshali's pristine,private,virgin Balukhanda Beach.The approach to the beach is breathtaking-ripping right through the heart of a deer sanctuary.Courtesy,cleanliness,cooperation of staff is worth mentioning.Thorns are two in this rosy review:1.Food-couldn't match the expectation at all.2.Overpriced tariff.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JITABRATA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToshaliResorts, General Manager at Toshali Sands, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review through TripAdvisor.

We are all delighted to note that the services offered by our team were consistence at all times.
At Toshali sands Puri, the team is committed to quality service and your feedback motivates all of us to enhance our focus on every detail of our guest’s comfort.

We eagerly await your return to Toshali Sands Puri.
.

Thank you,
Warm regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

If you are going to Puri for a relaxed sea-side vacation, Toshali Sands is an excellent choice. The property itself gives you a choice of semi-detached cottages as well as room-blocks spread out with some lush well-maintained greenery. The central facilities of a swimming pool, bar, restaurant etc. are quite adequate. A pleasant surprise was the Ayurvedic treatment center where both of us got some real relaxing body massage from well-trained staff. The restaurant staff were extra helpful and indulged us with the special requests that we made, and the housekeeping, laundry were in good order during our 4-night stay.

The surprise package is the few-kilometers-long pristine beach, though a little distance away across a protected forest. You could spend many hours here in relative solitude and quiet and enjoy the sea as best as one can. Unfortunately, there are signs of littering now (including dangerous broken bottles) which I am sure is in the interest of the hotel to manage better with some little extra effort.

Puri is a busy town now and as an overseas tourist, it is worth visiting the neighborhood of the famed Lord Jagganath Temple, even though you may not be allowed inside, for the shops, textiles and roadside activities.

We had four enjoyable days, including an excursion to Chilika Lake, which has rather minimal basic facilities, though once again, a lovely beach at the end.

Room Tip: Cottages near the end of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToshaliResorts, General Manager at Toshali Sands, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings !!

My team and I deem it a privilege to have served you and we are happy to read such a delightful review from you. Every guest is very special to us and it is our endeavour to make sure that they have a memorable experience. Your compliments will certainly act as a source of great motivation for all of us to strive even further for excellence.

We thank you once again for your time and look forward to having more opportunities to be of service to you.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puri hotels
4.2 mi away
Hotel Holiday Resort
7.9 mi away
The Chariot Resort & Spa
4.3 mi away
Chanakya BNR Hotel
Chanakya BNR Hotel
#7 of 78 in Puri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Hans Coco Palms
The Hans Coco Palms
#6 of 78 in Puri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mayfair Heritage
Mayfair Heritage
#3 of 78 in Puri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Gandhara
Hotel Gandhara
#10 of 78 in Puri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toshali Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toshali Sands

Property: Toshali Sands
Address: Konark Marine Drive Road, Puri 752002, India
Location: India > Odisha > Puri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puri
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puri
#4 Family Hotel in Puri
#5 Spa Hotel in Puri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Toshali Sands 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Toshali Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toshali Sands Puri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing