We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall good but beware what you book!”
Review of Toshali Sands

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Toshali Sands
Ranked #7 of 81 Hotels in Puri
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We booked a room at this resort after visiting their website--which showed very well appointed rooms, resplendent landscaping and boasted a private beach,no less ! With such preconceived ideas, we booked a so called "deluxe" room. To our utter disappointment it was a stark room, with a distinctly run down air ,located in a peripheral building that itself resembled a construction site. The bathroom was also poorly maintained and not too clean. True the room was large and in fact was a two room apartment, but the quality was in more keeping with a nondescript lodge. Ironically this "deluxe" room was only slightly cheaper than their cottages showcased on the website. We protested strongly , and I am happy to say the experience was a very pleasant contrast after that , They shifted us next day to a villa ,and it was all that the web site promised. Well furnished,and with a lovely ambience. Full marks to the the front office manager who was very helpful and responsive and defused the situation to our entire satisfaction. We happily paid the extras they charged us. The " private beach " is some 3 km away and visiting hours are only 6 AM to 5 pm, located in the midst of a wild life sanctuary. The resort provides transport regularly and the breach itself is pristine, clean and uncluttered with a backdrop of Casurina trees. The resort restaurant has a limited menu, but having said that, the quality of food is good. We were also happy with the service . All in all worth a stay, but do make sure to get a commitment from them what they are going to provide you when you make a booking.

Room Tip: Confirm that you are getting a room in the resort proper, and not in the peripheral buildings
Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank pvaidya2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (526)
There are newer reviews for Toshali Sands
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

364 - 370 of 527 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013

Toshali sands is a good resort with all that is required for a cool, calm unwinding experience. Rooms are Okay, food is also just Okay but palm trees and coconut trees add to beauty of the resort. Service is having some issues at times but then that is the norm with the resorts. Its little far off from Puri town so stay only if you have a vehicle at your disposal.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YogeshSriva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Location of the Hotel is nothing great but the Hotel has a private beach about 2 kms away which is clean and has no crowd, the drive is through a forest. The Hotel has free transport to the beach.
We had a cottage overlooking lawns. The flooring had soil stains. The bathroom is moderately big but odd shaped. On both days of our stay, there was water choking in the bath area and we had to call the plumber who came after 2 calls. Toileteries were of low quality and inadequate for a couple. For a cottage priced around Rs 6,000 per night, one would expect bottles of good quality shampoo, bath gel and moisturisers, not just 2 sachets of shampoo and low qualty soap. Hangers in the wardrobe were inadequate.
There is only one restaurant but it is a multi-cuisine one. All preparations were good and staff was friendy and courtious. The young Chef was genuinely interested in feedback.
The Hotel has nice sand sculpures and a very nice organic farm that ensures supply of most commonly used vegetables in the restaurant.
The Gents' SPA is a rip-off. The ambience was bad. It has no reception area worth the name, just a functional office. Massage rooms are only cubicles with hardly any space for changing. The lighting is bad too- just tube-lights. There is no space or even a hook with a hanger to hang clothes, just a nail at the top of the cubicle.The SPA area has a ramshackle feel.
There is a nice shop in the Hotel with good collection of quality "Pattachitras", the art for which some villages around Puri are famous.
Overall, the Hotel is overpriced, specially for a small town like Puri. It needs re-furbishing.

Room Tip: Cottage Rooms overlookig the lawns have a nice sit-out outside the room but in case of a function on...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirishrege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We had booked 2 deluxe cottages for two days at the total amount of Rs 26600 which was a very huge amount and was expecting a good luxury but was disappointing when we had seen that cottages. They are just like a hostel room ,we were two couples having two small Children with us but cottage was so congested that if we take extra bed then there was no space left for even walking. Then we had upgraded by giving Rs 18000 which included child charges and up gradation to villas.

Villas were also not upto the mark as per the rates they have charged. There were too much mosquitoes that no body was able to sleep in the night. Food is o.k specially breakfast and their private beach was also at a very lonely place . It was in the forest area.This hotel is also at a lonely place specially it is dangerous to go their after 8 P.M.So we do not recommend this property to anyone looking for luxury.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pran_panipat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We had a wonderful three day stay at Toshali Sands Resort in January 2013. The resort grounds are well maintained and quite luxurious, the cottage we had was modern, clean, and comfortable. All the staff was very friendly and efficient. The food at the restaurant for dinner, as well as breakfast, was delicious. On our last night the chef even came out to greet us and prepared a special dish according to our wishes. The travel office made expert arrangements for a half day trip to Konark Temple and a full day trip to Chilika lake – where we had a private boat ride and even saw the famous Irrawaddy dolphins. A free shuttle to the train station in Puri made a perfect end to our visit. This resort is very much to be recommended for anyone who wants to explore this fascinating region of Odisha.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The rooms in the cottages were nice, and clean. No wi - fi in rooms. Good restaurant, with fresh and organic food. Lovely place to get around. The beach was closed, but we realized that only after being taken there (its about 2 km from the hotel) and the road was blocked. We were supposed to leave at -08:00 which is extremely early. We got "leave" till 10:30. The shops in the resort were quite pushy. The driver supplied by the hotel travel agency was very good. All in all - good,but not excellent.

Room Tip: i havent seen the rooms, but the cottages were very nice, though they cost a bit more.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ora005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Hotel is little far from the city center but quite comfortable. The hotel has pick-up and drop facility every now and then to the rly station bus stand and the city. Food quality is OK with a taste of Odia dishes but food in restaurant is little expensive. Overall service and performance is very good.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaymamtani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puri hotels
4.2 mi away
Hotel Holiday Resort
7.9 mi away
The Chariot Resort & Spa
6.6 mi away
The Hans Coco Palms
The Hans Coco Palms
#6 of 81 in Puri
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Pramod Convention & Beach Resort
4.7 mi away
Mayfair Heritage
Mayfair Heritage
#4 of 81 in Puri
429 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Gandhara
Hotel Gandhara
#8 of 81 in Puri
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toshali Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toshali Sands

Address: Konark Marine Drive Road, Puri 752002, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Odisha > Puri District > Puri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puri
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puri
#4 Family Hotel in Puri
#5 Spa Hotel in Puri
Price Range: $62 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Toshali Sands 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Toshali Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toshali Sands Puri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing