We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury at an Exorbitant Price”
Review of Mayfair Heritage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mayfair Heritage
Ranked #4 of 81 Hotels in Puri
Certificate of Excellence
India
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 401 helpful votes
“Luxury at an Exorbitant Price”
Reviewed May 22, 2011

We went for a day here primarily to visit the Puri temple and to enjoy the beach. Mayfair has a private beach. The entrance to the reception is beautiful with greenery alround. The staff have problems speaking and interacting in English. So Hindi is a better option of course if you do not know Oriya or Bengali. The hotel can be very noisy and disturbing as it is let out for various functions.

The rooms are not up to the mark. Room service is poor. Amenities are old. Atimes the water leaks in the bathroom. The pricing of the room is very high for the services provided.

There is a restaurant that serves different types of food both vegetarian and non-vegetarian. You have to be careful with your order of the type of food as communication is a problem. The vegetarian al carte food is tolerable. For the quality of food, the pricing is very costly.

There is a swimming pool. The water it seems is not replaced regularly and smells. The private beach is a part of the regular beach and not a private one. There is no support from the hotel to take care of the belongings.

Based on its location, getting an auto to move around and to return to the hotel is difficult. There are no local buses also.

And do not forget to tell the reception to inform the housekeeping not to enter the room when you are away.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cancer_Moon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    145
    50
    11
    10
See reviews for
236
91
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2011

We stayed in Cottage Room and I must say it was one of the best experiences of my travel. The Resort is beautiful with a private beach. Breakfast was good if not great. Autos available outside the Resort to go to Jagannath Temple as well as Swargadwar. The fair is about Rs. 50 for both the places. The Staff is helpful and very hard working. The Cottage is comfortable and has a large LCD TV and DVD Player. The only minus point in the Cottage is that the Shower Area is very small. Food is good although a bit pricey. The Swimming Pool is a really beautiful. Landscaping is also very good.

As in many good hotels in Puri, this one also lets out it's huge lawns for Marriages and Parties. While we were there, there was a small Party in the Lawns. Although a little loud, we really enjoyed the orchestra from our Cottage Extension Area which is a little elevated from the Lawn Area.

Overall, a little expensive preposition, but it is well worth it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandipG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2011

We had just spent two nights at the Mayfair Bhubaneswar and was expecting the same level of comfort. This is not the case. The staff in Puri were charming and very helpful but the hotel is shoddy. No comfortable outside space to sit and relax. The restaurant was a stuffy air conditioned room with little / no view of the sea. Based on the poor quality of the accommodation and the lack of things to do in Puri we shortened our stay and left after two days.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nickyhomoeopath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamshedpur
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2011

This resort is small & cozy, the staff is very friendly & courteous. Excellent food.
It's very close to the railway station. The resort is well connected to the beach.

On a whole we enjoyed our stay at Mayfari, Puri.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaurav_jsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2011

The Mayfair Puri has very willing staff, beautiful cottages, clean pool, an independent access to the beach and great food. We watched movies late into the night and ordered hot food from the room service, had a long swim in the pool and ate a lavish breakfast every morning. Best choice for stay at Puri.
Room service is great, we requested for a change three times (being with a baby and thus in a constant state of cleaning); each time done by the staff willingly. Much appreciated by us.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niharika_Nangia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2011

we stay there for 3 nights and 4 days, everything was just perfect, our cottage was sea facing with excellent view, food was good, staff for friendly, best place to stay in puri though bit expensive then other places in puri

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shikha03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2010

The Mayfair hotel sits right on the beach at Puri, away from the crowds, and with its own patch of cleaner-than-usual sand. It's got a nice restaurant, a bar and a terrific pool and it's also convenient for dashing out to some more interesting eateries in the town.
I'd suggest haggling over the room rates. We intially booked a regular room only to be disappointed with the rather ageing ill-maintained room they put us in. We complained and were moved to a cottage suite which was a million times nicer. I got the sense that haggling a bit worked.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AndrewBWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puri hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Holiday Resort
2.0 mi away
The Hans Coco Palms
The Hans Coco Palms
#6 of 81 in Puri
371 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pramod Convention & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Gandhara
Hotel Gandhara
#8 of 81 in Puri
219 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chanakya BNR Hotel
Chanakya BNR Hotel
#9 of 81 in Puri
181 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Chariot Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfair Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Heritage

Property: Mayfair Heritage
Address: Chakratirtha Road | Plot No 122, 124, 125, Chakra Tirtha Road, Puri 752002, India (Formerly Mayfair Beach Resort)
Location: India > Odisha > Puri District > Puri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puri
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puri
#3 Spa Hotel in Puri
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayfair Heritage 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MAYFAIR Puri is a star category luxury beach resort in the holy city of Puri. Ideally situated in close proximity to the breathtakingly beautiful beach in Puri, the luxury beach resort offers the scintillating combination of sun, sand, and sea. Apart from this, you can also pay homage to Lord Jagannath during your accommodation as it is also in proximity of Lord Jagannath Temple and other famous temples. A perfect gateway for luxury accommodation in the reign of Bhagwan Jagannath, MAYFAIR Puri offers 34 centrally air-conditioned and well-appointed rooms. All the rooms are replete with modern amenities including Room Service, H/C running water, Telephone, Fax, T.V. and offer a comfortable stay in Puri. Multi-cuisine restaurant, spa, fitness center, swimming pool, etc, make it an ideal destination to accommodate in Puri. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mayfair Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Beach Hotel Puri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing