We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wanted to like this hotel more”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Chanakya BNR Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chanakya BNR Hotel
Ranked #7 of 80 Hotels in Puri
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
143 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Wanted to like this hotel more”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Our large group of 12 stayed at this hotel for 2-4 nights last month. It is well-located and lovely to look at - a heritage property that has been modernized without sacrificing its "feel". Rooms are simple, but totally adequate for a hotel in its class. Still, there is much room for improvement. Customer service is earnest, but verging on poor. Requests made (setting up extra cots for kids, for example or servicing hot water heater/tank) were, it seemed, not passed on to the appropriate parties; as a result multiple calls were necessary before these tasks were completed. I daresay that even room cleaning, including the removal of dirty dishes from room service, was not a given. One especially annoying thing was that it was impossible to make change anywhere in the hotel. Even a IR 100 note presented challenges for the staff. The front desk (and restaurant) at a hotel should always be able to make change for customers! The hotel's credit card machine was not working on both occasions when we needed to make payments. Thankfully we had the cash, or we would have definitely missed our early morning train on our final final day in Puri. If our travels ever find us in Puri again, I think we will have to look elsewhere for accommodation, unless current reviews of the BNR lead us to believe that vast improvements in customer service have been made.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twinssing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    70
    27
    15
    5
See reviews for
101
38
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I went to stay at this hotel in Puri on my honeymoon for the reason that in UK I know a lady, now in her late 80's who used to live in the hotel in the days of the Raj. I loved the hotel mainly I think for that reason as I was walking down corridors and into rooms where she had been as a little girl. I think the hotel has been done up a lot since I was there but it was lovely anyway - clean rooms and very pleasant staff, always willing to help. The food was good and there are plenty of other restaurants in Puri to go to. Would definitely go back to this hotel. They have their own website now so you can check out the rooms that have been done up. I am still in touch with some of the staff from there via Facebook. Lovely people, lovely hotel. Thank you for making my honeymoon so special.

Room Tip: I would always request a room at the front of the hotel so you get the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I stayed in Chanakya BNR Hotel from 28th to 31st Dec 2012 . It was a peaceful and relaxing stay in compare to the corwded hotels and beach at sea beach hotels at marine drive road. Hotel is truely a heritage hotel and if you need good relaxing place to stay surely this is the choice.
Hotel service is average , food is very hygenic and good. The only disadvantage is the auto fare when you to go to the swargadwar beach which is 50 to 60 rupees each trip one way.
I still feel it can be maintained a bit more on the furnitures etc , the lawn is good but the TT table and the badmintion court shows the lack of maintainence . Over all I had a nice stay and good ambinece.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaushik_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

We spent our honeymoon at the BNR and have come back to the day 40 years later. The building, rooms and garden have been renovated by the new owner remakably well keeping in place much of the heritage angle of the property but at the same time modernizing the rooms, plumbing etc. But all the good ends here.

The hotel now lacks an approach to the beach - to get to the sea you need to trudge 700m down crowded roads. The service is quite terrible, staff untrained. Concept of making up rooms does not exist. We needed to call 4 times and yell twice before we got our room cleaned after 2 days. They are completely understaffed also in the dining room with very poor service. There is no bar. No swimming pool. Its possibly for these reasons that the occupation is very low while other facilities in Puri are overflowing. The management has entered into contracts with State owned corporations who send their staff on subsidized holidays. So you have extended families coming in who make a lot of noise and dry their linen on the front verandah railings.

Koch and Krishna

I will give Chanakya BNR a year at best before it goes under again. So our 50th anniversary will be some place else!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kokr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We really enjoyed this wonderful 19th century Raj era hotel and it has been well renovated. The food is excellent. I would stay here again as it is comfortable, peaceful and retains a charm of a past age. The front of house staff however are not so good. There seems to be an underlying theme of extracting money from guests which is not on keeping with printed charges. In addition there seems to be a lack of communication between the staff so that arrangements made with one member are not passed on. If you stay here you need to get all charges to made clearly stated up front before signing anything. Service in the dinning room is good and the house keeping staff are excellent.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are the best with good views and sea breeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed for five days in this hotel. I have visited Puri numerous times but never stayed in this hotel. This time I chose it in spite of some reviews about not so good service. It was mainly because of the heritage associated with this place. Well the hotel was nice, I just loved the photographs of Indian railways. If you are looking for a sea-beach property , this is not the right choice since it is quite far from sea. But it has its old world charm. Rooms were big, renovated with adequate accessories. Long corridor with old time wooden windows. balcony that open to a view of sea. But you certainly miss the sound or breeze of sea. But the location is good since it is far from the popular sea-beach which looks like a fair more than a sea beach. The food can be improved. The choice is either continental food made in very Indian style or quite oily Indian food. Service wise, I didn't have any expectation . But didn't have any major issue. They do not provide towels to carry to sea-beach which is a bit inconvenience. Also they did not provide station drop as I thought was part of the package. Didn't have energy to question that so do not know the reason also it was very nearby. Overall, I would say my experience was quite good .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sumana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
182 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed for five days, it was a mixed bag! since my childhood days, have seen this hotel been regarded as the most elite hotel in Puri, but somehow this stay did not seem to justify that!
Rooms are fantastic, nicely pepped up, fantastic ambience, you seem to go back to the colonial era, given the way property is maintained, but where this hotel will fall short is quality of service.
The hotel staff are extremely friendly and helpful, but only if they are there! During my stay, the hotel was suffering from a manpower crisis, and basic requests like water would take 45 mins!
Had the service been good, i would have rated this hotel as fantastic, but that was the dampener!
If you are ready to ignore that, i will rate this hotel highly for a relaxed leisurely stay!
Another negative is the approach way to the beach.... the straight road has been blocked by Railways, and it takes a long route to reach the beach which is just in front of you.My request to the hotel management would be to sort out the issue and get a clear path to the beach

Room Tip: Go for the Royal Saloon or the Princely Railway States, these room offer a better view of the sea, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SMITRA_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puri hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Holiday Resort
3.9 mi away
The Chariot Resort & Spa
2.6 mi away
The Hans Coco Palms
The Hans Coco Palms
#6 of 80 in Puri
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gandhara
Hotel Gandhara
#8 of 80 in Puri
206 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mahodadhi Palace
Mahodadhi Palace
#17 of 80 in Puri
166 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Sonar Bangla
Hotel Sonar Bangla
#18 of 80 in Puri
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chanakya BNR Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chanakya BNR Hotel

Property: Chanakya BNR Hotel
Address: Chakratritha Road, Puri 752002, India
Location: India > Odisha > Puri
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 80 Hotels in Puri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chanakya BNR Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chanakya BNR Hotel, at Puri awaits you with the timeless grace of old world charm and all modern day amenities. We give you expansive rooms, tantalizing corridors and well-maintained terraces all telling the story of India's magnificent Railway inheritance. The Chanakya BNR hotel has a royal history and is located just 200 meters from the picturesque Puri beach. We are proud to be the only heritage hotel in Orissa as well as uniquely, the only railway theme hotel in India. Each room, as well as its public area, display rare photographs that convey the achievements of the Indian Railways - one of the world's largest employer. After evaluating over 18,000 photographs we have handpicked a few for our distinguished guests. We are proud to be the only hotel in the world to display such a rare collection of photographs that leaves one in awe of India's glorious Rail heritage. One cannot help but admire the courage of the founders of this magnificent monolith known as the Indian Railways, which was instrumental in crossing great rivers by building grand bridges or supporting the Indian Army during times of war. We would only be fair in concluding that the Indian Railway is undoubtedly one of India's greatest infrastructural achievements. Being one of the famous Railway Heritage Hotels, the Chanakya BNR strives to apprise our guests about the intriguing history of the Indian Railways via these photographs. These historic pictures will greet you in every nook and corner of the hotel and will take you on a fascinating journey back in time. It's our promise! All 37 sea facing rooms at the Chanakya BNR are equipped with customised art work from the glorious Indian Railway and have been furnished keeping in mind the heritage nature of the property. Apart from the vintage design room furniture, the rooms truly take you back in time yet provide all amenities desired by today's traveller. Space is not a constraint in these palatial rooms and each room is of a different size depending on which part of the building one might find oneself in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Chanakya BNR Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing