We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Worst” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Panthanivas Satapada

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Panthanivas Satapada
Ranked #12 of 104 Puri B&B and Inns
Cuttack, India
Level Contributor
121 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“The Worst”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

ABOUT PANTHA NIVAS: I had been to this Panthanivas back 5 days along with my office friends and stayed for a day and night. I had never come across such kind of worst standard hotel in my life; even hotels available @INR300 in many cities of our state/country can be termed better than this. We had taken 7 ACDR(what the Govt has named it) rooms by booking in advance since a month back. The condition of the rooms was terrible. Towels were as good as foot mats. Water Heater were operative in only 2 rooms o/o 7. At night 1am power supply went away in 2 rooms and no one was there to take care of and it was restored in morning. No DRINKING WATER filter were there in the Hotel. They supplied tap water in rooms and the restaurant as well. Mosquitoes were the ruler of the rooms. Could not check whether there were liquids in side the repellent or not? No extra keys of the rooms with the management were there. By mistake one among us locked the room with the keys inside and the staffed braved well to open the back door by pushing and kicking! This is also a very special kind of thing I found in this property. I don't want to say anything specifically about any staff or managers. I also found few staffs to be friendly and co-operative. I strongly advise people not to opt for this Hotel for a stay or food, whatever it may be.
ABOUT THE LAKE: One can easily visit the scenic beauty of this Lake by staying at Puri or even Bhubaneswar. From Puri it will take around 1 hour and from BBS, 2 hours by Car. Private Boats capable of taking upto/around 15 people may charge around INR600-700 for a 3-4 hour trip to Sea-mouth, during which they can also show you Dolphins. I think this the cheapest kind of boat ride @INR50-100/person in the world. On the Island fresh fish/prawn/crab prepared dishes are available at very very reasonable rates. Coconuts and other fruits are also available there. The people and shopkeepers of this area are fully dependent economically on the tourists. The local people are very good and helpful. I would suggest and request all visitors to help them by buying edibles from them rather than taking all those from Puri and Bubaneswar. I found the Govt.'s role here to be useless in developing this beautiful place. One day is sufficient to enjoy this place which can be done even at staying in Puri/Bhubaneswar/Cuttack which would take around 10-12 hours. Every visitors coming to Orissa must visit this place. This is really beautiful. I came to know some local people that some private hotels are under construction, which may come up in a year.

Room Tip: No Rooms are good to suggest a tip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sanjaya_Kr_Rout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
6
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is right on lake Chilika. We did not stay here, but had lunch in the restaurant. It was about 12 noon, and the restaurant was deserted probably because it was a little too early for having lunch. We were told that we would have to wait for about 20 minutes as the ordered food would need to be prepared. Each of us ordered dishes as per our individual choice.

We were happy to find food beginning to arrive before 20 minutes. None of us likes plastic plates. Hence we decided to overlook them. We shared different dishes, mostly comprising fish (Parshe - supposed to be fresh from the lake) and found them to be generally good. We reordered one dish (Parshe curry) since we liked it. But we were very disappointed when we found the look and taste to be completely different from the one that was served first. Eventually we ordered fried Parshe, which was good.

Price is reasonable, and you will not be disappointed if you are hungry and do not have a high expectation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We reached Satapada on Dec 24, 2012 from Konark Panthanivas. All bookings were made 3 months before from Kolkata. The ordeal started the moment we landed. The Satapada Panthanivas did not have a booking for us (group of 14) for Dec 24, 2012 even though we showed them our receipt. Finally after much heated exchange of words we were provided 3 AC Bedrooms and 1 Non AC room and were asked to adjust. The AC bedrooms were amazingly sad state –
1. Wardrobes were broken
2. One room did not have a TV
3. Geysers were not working
4. Window panes were broken
The Non AC rooms had
1. Amazing number of cockroaches in the toilet.
2. Broken main doors
3. No clean bedspreads
4. The roof looked as if it wall fall any moment
The hotel has the most advantageous location yet in a sad and ugly state. Renovation work is going on everywhere and it would have been advisable to close the entire old wing and operate only one wing. Here tourists come in hoards and as a day service center this is worse. The toilets are in a sad state.
The only good point was the food which is of good quality – please make sure to taste the fish.
The worst part is on the Managers Desk I found a “TripAdvisor recommendation” sticker.

Room Tip: Currently the NON AC rooms on the first floor have the best view. Others are being renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KSen_Kolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puri hotels

Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

If you want to relax for a couple of days and enjoy the lovely breeze of the Chilika, this place is definitely the one you want to be in. There are two separate hotels - one with the suite and a/c rooms, and another non ac. The non ac is undergoing a complete renovation. The food is very good, and the hotel offers some delicious fresh fish from the lake, and its really cheap. The rooms of the non ac hotel are not maintained properly. But if you are planning for a budget hotel with friends, then you can opt for this one. One can also go for a boat ride in the early morning and get a glimpse of dolphins in the lake. You can directly talk with the locals in and around the lake and ask for a ride. You may book the entire boat or go on a sharing basis. But the shared ones only depart after 10 o'clock. A better option is to reserve a boat and go for a ride early in the morning when you have a chance to see the sunrise..
The road that leads to Satpada from Puri, is about 50 kms and has got some bad stretch in between, with plenty of bumps that you have to look out for.
Nothing much to do here except a weekend getaway from the city rush and relax
There is a problem of mosquitoes, and choose a room (non ac) where you get the breeze from the lake

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sumit_Trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puri hotels
23.9 mi away
The Chariot Resort & Spa
27.7 mi away
Hotel Holiday Resort
25.2 mi away
The Hans Coco Palms
The Hans Coco Palms
#6 of 78 in Puri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.2 mi away
Mayfair Heritage
Mayfair Heritage
#3 of 78 in Puri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
27.9 mi away
Hotel Gandhara
Hotel Gandhara
#10 of 78 in Puri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
27.7 mi away
Pramod Convention & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panthanivas Satapada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panthanivas Satapada

Property: Panthanivas Satapada
Address: Via Brahmagiri | Saptapada, Puri 752001, India
Location: India > Odisha > Puri
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 104 B&Bs / Inns in Puri
Number of rooms: 28

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing