We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chilika Lake - Lagoon & More”
Review of Chilika Lake

Chilika Lake
Ranked #4 of 40 things to do in Puri
Attraction details
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 5 Contributor
15 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Chilika Lake - Lagoon & More”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Chilika lake is about 2 hours drive from Bhubaneshwar. It is the second largest lagoon in the World. You could enjoy local sea food at restaurants on the shore. A boat needs to be hired, would cost between 1400-1800/-.Minimum time of boat ride is 2.5 hrs. At Chilika one could spot Dolphins, the boatman takes you to a spot where they can be spotted,requires patience mostly we get to see only its hump. Then you are taken to the sea mouth where the lake meets Bay of Bengal.The entire ride is pleasant , the serene ride with breeze hitting you is very relaxing. April is not a season to visit if you want to spot birds you could spot few storks, seagulls and many kingfishers though. Make sure you taste the sea food at local restaurants they are very tasty.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Deepak P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    291
    181
    67
    39
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bhubaneswar, India
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Awesome place for a group outing”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Winter is the time to visit the place because migratory birds will be found in plenty.

Go in a group of 6 to 8 and hire a boat to see the irrawady dolphins and the birds while enjoying the cool breeze. Take water and snacks along so that you can have a great 3-d movie experience.

Chilika Dhaba which serves prawn and crab curry is an absolute must if you like sea food.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RakeshJena_IIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Irrawaddy Dolphins !”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Chilika is located at distance of aroung 55 Km from Puri. It generally takes around 90 minutes by road to reach Satpada village on the bank of the Chilika. Once in Satpada, one can hire a small boat for around 1200-1800 rupees for 4-8 hrs and can enjoy the lake.
The most important attraction of Chilika is birds. However if you are not going to be there during bird watching season,(like us), you can at least see dolphins. Once in the boat, the boatman took us directly to the area where dolphin could be seen. We could see the dolphins only partially and all of them were black. Although we spent almost half an hour , we could not see beak of any of the dolphins. As a result my wife doubted whether they were really dolphins. Coming back to Puri, we saw some paintings of dolphins in the city and those dolphins did not have a beak. We though those painters probably had never seen a complete dolphin ! Finally after coming to hotel, I did some google and ultimately found that Chilika has Irrawaddy Dolphins : Dark in colour and without beak !
After watching Dolphins we moved towards seamouth, this is the place where Chilika Lake meets Bay of Bengal. On the way to seamouth we could see water in different colours green, sky blue, blue. The water was so clean that we could see bottom of the lake even at the depth of 10 ft.
Sea Mouth has some restaurants where one can enjoy local sea food. After walking through sand for 15 min one reaches the Beach. The beach is quite free from crowd and therefore very much clean. Overall visiting Chilika is a great experience and a must for a visitor of Puri.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mandarchougule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Dolphins at Chilka”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Drive till end of the lake, If you are taking exclusive boat (you should) take it for only 1 hour dolphin show as other points seem to be not good and may be scam. Avoid Rs 100 extra for turbo as all boats are same and their is little turbo

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank AjitJoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Visit to Chilika at Rambha point”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stay at OTDC Panthanivas, Rambha was awesome. The cottages are huge but could have been maintained better. Apart from the pleasant boatride and a few bird watches, just sitting on a chair and watching the vast lake from the verandah in the early morning and watching the sun rise lazily is an out of this world experience. You should just keep quiet and listen to the various bird calls with occasional whistling of a distant train passing by the lake. I thank god for this beautiful world. Try to spend the morning alone. Quality of food is good and the staff are friendly.While driving down from Bhubaneswar to Rambha, there is a point where the down lane deviates from the up lane from where you can have a vast panoramic view of the plain and if you are lucky you can watch occasional trains passing by.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank tkbose13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chilika Lake also viewed

Puri, Puri District
Puri, Puri District
 

Been to Chilika Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing