We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“its awsm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chilika Lake

Chilika Lake
Ranked #5 of 37 things to do in Puri
Attraction details
pune
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“its awsm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

This one is worth a visit,it feels really great.But take a personal boat,not the group one,you could enjoy it fully.It stays at a place wchih gives you a fell of small island.You could order a fish here,it will be caught in front of you and prepared,gr8 place,beautiful

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank samsher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    271
    174
    63
    37
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent journey on boat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We visited Chilika Lake (from Satapada) on last week of November 2012. Our journey was memorable. We got an excellent weather there. We booked our private boat for Rs. 1800.00 and for 4 hours. We see many local birds, migratory birds, dolphins and fish.

Winter season is best to visit Chilika Lake. From October to March is good.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank Souvik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patna, Bihar, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“serene and calm!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

very good place to visit especially during dec and jan as migration birds visit the place ... so it is paradise for bird photography ....
If you reach chilka around 2:30pm you will there to enjoy a sunset a well :-)
but don't get sad if u can't see dolphins there, enjoy the lake and island where u can eat good sea food :P

Don't miss this tour :)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank sachin_shukla_612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“romantic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

The most romantic place in Puri I guess.
You can see dolphins and if you want you can go and swim with them which I would not recommend as the boat does not get the right equipment for that.
If you reach chilka lake aroiund 2:30pm you will be bale to enjoy a fabulous sunset :-) Don't miss this tour, the best one I think.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank perlana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calicut, Kerala, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

nice place to spend a day on boat with family..we did not see many dolphins.there are many boats there when u start from satapada though govt regulations say that only five boats should go at a time..there are no good restaurants nearby and the ones available charge big rates.there are no good toilets available there...

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank dranoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chilika Lake also viewed

 

Been to Chilika Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing