We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is not a hotel by any defination”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Mahodadhi Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mahodadhi Palace
Ranked #17 of 80 Hotels in Puri
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
115 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“This is not a hotel by any defination”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

I am not sure how anyone can ever rate this place anything else than terrible. First the hotel. It has literally no reception. A person is standing with a manual register on a single deck. The rooms are large but the two plank doors ensure that you hear everything being said in the passage as well as in rooms across. The toilet does not have a overhead shower. So you need to bathe with only the hand shower. No shower curtain. The basin has only cold water tap. The curtains are not full height. So the room will never be dark.

When we landed, we did not know what was happening. The lawns were rented out we were told to a company holding customer meet. There could have been over 500 people milling around. It was belting out Hindi film music at over 150 db sound level. We could not even hear what the receptionist was talking. Drinks were flowing. The few seating places in the reception were occupied by these "customers" talking loudly and drinking. We wanted to have lunch. We were told that the only "restaurant" was closed for the day as all the staff were busy in the lawn. We can get room service with the food coming from their open air restaurant near the gate--around 25 meters away from the hotel building. The restaurant as we say in the evening is like an open air shop. One can go on and on. We were lucky we were staying only the night transiting thru' Puri.

Room Tip: If you get a budget hotel or a lodge, go there. Do not waste money here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nickyban07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    58
    33
    13
    12
See reviews for
116
25
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
195 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

An old palace with limited rooms and ample drive way located bang on the beach. The property needs serious restoration to the level of good hotel to make it a comfortable and enjoyable place. The maintenance is lacking in terms of repairs. Facade is falling. Service is very slow and not very responsive. During my stay, they had issues with catering in their open air dining also. Beach front is crowded without any privacy. Roof top breakfast seating offers good views. Food quality and service is just about average. It has the potential of being developed into an excellent heritage property but needs attention to details.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goyalair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

The Hotel
Pros:
1 - Bang on the sea shore, which implies the sea and the beach was all the more accessible.

2 - Excellent restaurants to boot. GAA, The Veg restaurant, the BAR and The open air restaurants(not available during the monsoon months) serve good food and quality alcohol.
I have seen several tourists as well as locals frequenting the restaurants.

Cons:
1 - The furniture is pretty aged.
When compared to: Chevron Rosemount Ranikhet and Chevron Fairhavens Nainital had gleaming furniture pieces.

2 - Rooms were not up to the mark
a. The photo of the rooms are mentioned in the website does not provide the whole picture. There were termite infested windows where we stayed - Room #104.
b. The paints on some of the walls were falling off.

3 - The balcony floor and chairs on the balcony were pretty dusty - showing signs that it was not cleaned in quite sometime.

4 - Service at times was pretty rusty. I will detail on this in "Our Experience".

This property has tremendous potential, if only proper maintenance is done.

Our Experience and Stay:
The following is our overall experience and it might include some singular experiences which might have only occurred to us and not apply to all.

#1: We were 3 adults and had initially reserved a "Suite Room".When we arrived at 5 PM IST, the receptionist showed us the way to Room#104. On entering the room, we found only a single room instead of 2 rooms of a "Suite". On inquiring, we found that the the Hotel's General Manager(who usually handles the communication and reservation) went home and had asked his deputy to assign us Room#104. When the GM returned, he came to our help and immediately they showed us a suite room - which we found to be quite stuffy. It looked as if the rooms had not been opened in quite sometime.We instead opted for the room where we were initially allocated and they adjusted the rates accordingly.

#2: On the third day of our stay - we went around Puri in the morning and returned back to the room at around 3 in the afternoon. But found that the room service hadn't arrived to clean up the rooms. It was only after ringing up the reception that the room service was provided.

#3: Room service was a tad to slow at times.Breakfast when ordered at 8 in the morning got delivered at 9.

#4: We left Puri quite early in the morning - at 630HRS. And the manager assured us of packed breakfast. But the sandwiches that were provided were prepared the previous day and even though the weather was cool, the food got rotten and we had to throw it away. I donot blame the hotel staff because the hotel kitchen opens up at 0700HRS. But it could have been an additional service if provided.

Additional Tips:
#1 - The rates which the hotels website indicate are pretty over the top and they are negotiable.Strike a hard bargain and the hotel management will usually accept because most rooms remain vacant. The displayed tariff of a suite room is 6999 plus taxes, but we got it for 5500 for 3 persons inclusive of taxes.But we stayed in a deluxe room - due to the first point mentioned above.

#2 - Always check beforehand in case there is a cocktail party/wedding reception etc going on. The room service becomes even more erratic during such times. Even though we had extremely good sleep for the first 2 nights - the loud music of the cocktail party on the 3rd night ensured that we could not sleep till 1 in the morning. And even after the music got switched off at 1, the party mongers shouted over the top of their voice through out the night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sayak_chakraborty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puri hotels

D
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Seafront hotel with its old fashioned palace charm. Enormous room, lacking its recent refurbishments a bit. They could do more to upgrade their place in a rather average neighbourhood. Helpful staff. We had a relaxing stay in this throbbing beach side town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in the month of july last year, i can say it was overall a nice experience at Fort Mahodadhi. This is one of the best hotel located right next to the beach just opposite . Even from most of the rooms you can have a clear view of the beach. Mahodadhi is a different kind of hotel, if you are expecting LCD tv, wifi Internet zone, gym then this is not the right place for you, but if you want to stay at a heritage property with sprawling lawns and spacious surroundings and just relax, then this is the perfect place for you. The entire hotel is nicely cleaned although the property is very very old or may be looks very old because of improper maintenance work which they should pay some extra attention on. Food and service is good staff are very friendly well behaved.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Real2dream2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

Very very nice stay at Fort Mahodadhi. This is one of the hotel located right next to the beach. most of the other hotels i found were cramped along the road next to the beach. But Mahodadhi was different. The hotel is located in a huge campus with sprawling lawns and spacious surroundings. The stairs at the entrance was grand and so was the feeling as we entered the rooms. HIGH ceilings. BEAUTIFUL BEDS. RICHLY furnished rooms. CLEAN bed sheets and towels. And the SEA FACING BALCONY was large and with nice sea view and I had an amazing time sipping few cups of tea every morning of my stay. Very nice feeling overall. I dined outside during both the days of my stay (one full day was out at Konark and shopping). This stay was one of the best parts of my trip and Mahodadhi made it very relaxing.

Things that I did not like was that the corridors and the doors / windows were still very old style but I guess this is a heritage hotel and they are probably not allowed to do a lot of structural modifications. But I just ignored that part, and my stay was fantastic. The ocean view from the rooms and large balcony was worth every Rupee I paid.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony. They are slightly more expensive but worth your money if you can affo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sekhar73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkata
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

A short trip in mind.!!Looking for Sand , Sea and Spirituality……your destination is Puri.

Require comfortable stay with grandeur of the Raj in a Princely property and flavor of modern amenities with the added sauce of optimum hospitality …… and your search ends at the “Fort Mahodadhi “Puri.
Located right on the beach of Sargadwar, Puri ,this vast property is unquestionably the best stay at best price that you can enjoy. Hotel has three restaurants and a Bar. One pure veg (The Vithal) at the entrance of the hotel, Other at the roof top of the Hotel ( GAA with ethnic Odishan Village decor---Multi cuisine) and the “Mostly Grilled which opens during evening is an open air restaurant and deals with Tandurs and Bar-B-Q items. Of course the “The Baron” is there to greet you with the warmth of a British Pub. Prices may be a bit on the higher side compared to other restaurants of Puri but you won’t mind paying this premium considering the ambience and quality.
Delux and Suite are the two variety available in the Hotel having 6 rooms in each category. If you are looking for a suite Room opt for Room No 102.
For best bargain in tariff you may directly contact with Mr. Sanjay Mondal (09090093451)

Room Tip: Room No 102
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joyofeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puri hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Holiday Resort
1.5 mi away
Chanakya BNR Hotel
Chanakya BNR Hotel
#7 of 80 in Puri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sonar Bangla
Hotel Sonar Bangla
#18 of 80 in Puri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Hans Coco Palms
The Hans Coco Palms
#6 of 80 in Puri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Gandhara
Hotel Gandhara
#8 of 80 in Puri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pushpa (Berries Group of Hotels)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahodadhi Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahodadhi Palace

Property: Mahodadhi Palace
Address: Sea Beach Road | Near Swargadwar, Puri 752001, India
Location: India > Odisha > Puri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 80 Hotels in Puri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mahodadhi Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mahodadhi Palace is the perfect amalgam of old-era charm, contemporary opulence and absolute comfort. Gazing the vast Bay of Bengal is Mahodadhi Palace, an impressive red stone monument that once was the summer palace of Maharaja Panchkot. Today, Mahodadhi Palace is a world-class hotel that offers top-of-the-line facilities for travellers who love to have a perfect vacation. This Puri Beach hotel is one of the best heritage hotels in Puri, Orissa, and is the perfect haven for people seeking respite from mundane affairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Mahodadhi Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing