We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic stay, BEACH views from room”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mahodadhi Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mahodadhi Palace
Ranked #17 of 80 Hotels in Puri
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fantastic stay, BEACH views from room”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Very very nice stay at Fort Mahodadhi. This is one of the hotel located right next to the beach. most of the other hotels i found were cramped along the road next to the beach. But Mahodadhi was different. The hotel is located in a huge campus with sprawling lawns and spacious surroundings. The stairs at the entrance was grand and so was the feeling as we entered the rooms. HIGH ceilings. BEAUTIFUL BEDS. RICHLY furnished rooms. CLEAN bed sheets and towels. And the SEA FACING BALCONY was large and with nice sea view and I had an amazing time sipping few cups of tea every morning of my stay. Very nice feeling overall. I dined outside during both the days of my stay (one full day was out at Konark and shopping). This stay was one of the best parts of my trip and Mahodadhi made it very relaxing.

Things that I did not like was that the corridors and the doors / windows were still very old style but I guess this is a heritage hotel and they are probably not allowed to do a lot of structural modifications. But I just ignored that part, and my stay was fantastic. The ocean view from the rooms and large balcony was worth every Rupee I paid.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony. They are slightly more expensive but worth your money if you can affo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sekhar73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    58
    33
    13
    12
See reviews for
116
25
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
kolkata
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

A short trip in mind.!!Looking for Sand , Sea and Spirituality……your destination is Puri.

Require comfortable stay with grandeur of the Raj in a Princely property and flavor of modern amenities with the added sauce of optimum hospitality …… and your search ends at the “Fort Mahodadhi “Puri.
Located right on the beach of Sargadwar, Puri ,this vast property is unquestionably the best stay at best price that you can enjoy. Hotel has three restaurants and a Bar. One pure veg (The Vithal) at the entrance of the hotel, Other at the roof top of the Hotel ( GAA with ethnic Odishan Village decor---Multi cuisine) and the “Mostly Grilled which opens during evening is an open air restaurant and deals with Tandurs and Bar-B-Q items. Of course the “The Baron” is there to greet you with the warmth of a British Pub. Prices may be a bit on the higher side compared to other restaurants of Puri but you won’t mind paying this premium considering the ambience and quality.
Delux and Suite are the two variety available in the Hotel having 6 rooms in each category. If you are looking for a suite Room opt for Room No 102.
For best bargain in tariff you may directly contact with Mr. Sanjay Mondal (09090093451)

Room Tip: Room No 102
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joyofeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I stayed in this hotel (in the suite)recently for about 4 days.It is clean,staff is very good and courteous.Service is good and the buffet breakfast(on the house) was quite good.The location is good- almost bang on the beach and yet there is hardly any noise in the hotel as it has large garden in the front keeping distance from main road.The main market at Swargadar and the Shri Jagannath temple are nearby.This hotel was once a retreating house of a noble person as I understand and later was a Govt. office.Now it is a full fledged hotel but still retains somewhat the old days charm and nobilty.The ethnically decorated rooftop restaurant is quite unique in a place like Puri.The swimming pool was well maintained and the split airconditioning machines were running perfectly in the room.The toilets have their own Geiser and thus hot water supply was abundant.Overall experience was very good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chirantan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in Fort Mahodadhi Puri in Oct end 2012 , i found it the best hotel in Puri , food was really very good , and Staff is really very cooperating , and their service was also very good , our room was Sea Facing , and room size and the decor of the room was excellent . And they have big Lawn which is not available in any other hotel in Puri .
Over all i will really recommend everybody to go to this Hotel .

Room Tip: I think you can choose Suit or Delux room , but Sea facing .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coolnoida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Despite being from Odisha, and having been to Puri many times, I had never heard of this property. I found it from Tripadvisor and must say was by and large happy with the discovery.
Standing right on the beach, in the midst of more well-know names such as Puri Hotel and Victoria Club, this one is positioned as slightly upmarket hotel for young couples, lone travelers and the like, not so much for big families or big groups. Its tarff on the site (Rs 5500/Rs 7000) is a little high for what it offers. I got it at less than Rs 4000. For that price, it is excellent.

This is right in front of the beach and you can enjoy the beach scene from your room balcony, which is spacious, but not that well-maintained. In fact, what is even better is that it is a little away (half a kilometer) from Swargdwar, which is extremely crowded. So, while you are not too far away from the activities, you are saved from the crowd/noise.

It is a very good property, though I won't say it is quite well-maintained. Nothing problematic or specifically bad but a great property like this deserves much better. Services is warm and good, but not what you expect from an upmarket hotel. But there is hardly any hotel in that area at this price that has such a large space outside.

The in-house dining is limited, though they run two restaurants outside, which are pretty okay. But one tricky thing: they have a check-in/check-out time of 8 AM, something that I have not come across anywhere else. If you travel by Air from outside Odisha, you can never reach Puri before 10.30/11; so the early check-in does not help much. If you book directly, negotiate a late check-out.

Summary: a good place for lone travelers/couples/small groups if you get it at the right rate (below Rs 4500). I think a little effort in beautifying it would make it one of the best properties in that location.

Room Tip: Any sea-facing room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shyamanuja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Plus;
1. It has excellent location, if you consider the most crowded beachfront of Puri to be an excellent location.
2. It's an old style building with oodles of frontage and parking, giving it an excellent set-back from the road. something no other hotel can claim.
3. The ceilings in the building and rooms are sky high, giving a good feel.
4. Room basically clean and spacious.

Minus
1. No hot water tap in the washbasin. Go figure if you need hot water for a shave.
2. Lizard in the room (anyway, this is India, no?)
3. Breakfast was pathetic, though this being a Kamat Hotel, the sambar was good.
4. The front desk was clueless. No offer of help in taking the luggage to the car.

Overall impression: A great property, run in a bland fashion with no feel or passion.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanjay44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

Excellent rooms, off season discounts available, nice pool, nice beach view, and delicious food.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naveen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puri hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Holiday Resort
1.5 mi away
Chanakya BNR Hotel
Chanakya BNR Hotel
#7 of 80 in Puri
176 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sonar Bangla
Hotel Sonar Bangla
#18 of 80 in Puri
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Hans Coco Palms
The Hans Coco Palms
#6 of 80 in Puri
356 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Chariot Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Hotel Gandhara
Hotel Gandhara
#8 of 80 in Puri
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahodadhi Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahodadhi Palace

Property: Mahodadhi Palace
Address: Sea Beach Road | Near Swargadwar, Puri 752001, India
Location: India > Odisha > Puri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 80 Hotels in Puri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mahodadhi Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mahodadhi Palace is the perfect amalgam of old-era charm, contemporary opulence and absolute comfort. Gazing the vast Bay of Bengal is Mahodadhi Palace, an impressive red stone monument that once was the summer palace of Maharaja Panchkot. Today, Mahodadhi Palace is a world-class hotel that offers top-of-the-line facilities for travellers who love to have a perfect vacation. This Puri Beach hotel is one of the best heritage hotels in Puri, Orissa, and is the perfect haven for people seeking respite from mundane affairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Mahodadhi Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing