We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Victoria Palace , Puri”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Victoria Club Hotel
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels in Puri
Certificate of Excellence
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
105 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 376 helpful votes
“Victoria Palace , Puri”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Dear All,
If you want to spend a couple of nights in near puri beach with calm & quite, with modern facilities including lift. we would recommend you to try for victoria palace, puri. The new building is good to sooth your all kind of requirement , stuffs are good , temple is nearby 1.5 km, rickshaw will take 35 only. food is also good. you can also try near by fish fry from diff stall at sea beach. enjoy & happy journey.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iandyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    420
    55
    15
    13
See reviews for
781
152
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We visited Puri in the first week of February and of our several visit to Puri stayed at Victoria Club for the first time.....As you enter the property it impress you with its imposing and well laid out, very well maintained structure but interaction at the reception is pretty cold and unwelcoming which may not be a good experience for some sensitive travelers......... our rooms were on the right side of the entrance and the view of the sea from the room balcony is good, room size is average but the bed size is good and adequate even if you are traveling with a small kid of 5yrs or under........ rooms and toilet's are clean though the toilet lacked some basic fittings like a toothbrush holder, hangers etc... Food is average both Dinner as well as in lunch and you have to order well in advance on what you want to have which I found quiet restrictive while on a leisure trip.... the location of the Hotel is one the best you can have except if you are not looking for a private beach. The upkeep and maintenance of the hotel is one of the best around.

All in all it was a moderate experience......could have been better with slight improvement on the reception interaction and food...... any ways they have been there around for more than 100 years now .....

Room Tip: Should always book First floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anuj P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Clumsy reservation system. You have to go to Standard Chartered building at BBD Bag Kolkata to book. Front rooms are booked almost 4 months ago. Rooms are not exceptional but good. Clean, good service. Kitchen is good for Bengalee tongue. Food is priced a little higher as compared to Puri standard but it's worth paying. One black spot is the drivers of Victoria travel. They will try to take you to places of their choice for lunch. Believe me, those places are terrible. Take your own decision regarding places to eat. If you go to Chilka tell them to take you to OTDC Satpada Yatriniwas. Hire OTDC boats. They will tell you that it is no longer operative. Don't believe them. For each private boat they get 300 rupees commission. OTDC boats have chairs to seat and insurance. Their restaurant is also good.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank drabhijit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 3 days.Very good location.Rooms are nice.Restaurant bengali food is good.Room service is also good.However, some of the points that needs attention are

Don't ever book this hotel fom kolkata travel agent.They will charge you 10% extra.

Reception guys are bogus.They don't know how to smile and talk to customers.They are always busy in talking among themselves.They need a little training.I guess they don't have any professionalim.This may impact the hotel's future.

Rooms service is good.But .while you check out they would ask for tips as usual.However,it's better to keep a tip box.

Among all the things the worst part seemed to be is the reception guys.I did not have any tiff with them.But I think even room service stuffs are more professional than these reception guys.The hotel authority should think some changes in this front.It's my view only that this may impact the hotel's reputation instead of the hotel being good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank soumiitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Dated on 8th of January 2013, I had took boarding at Victoria Club Hotel at Puri along with my family & was there up-to 12th of January 2013.
During staying there, I always feel that I am not in any hotel but in my house. The total team of hotel, those who are working, are so nice & efficient, it is unspeakable.
The cleanliness is really so nice & in one word I would like to say '' I am too pleased''
Few photographs I would like to produce here in favour of this hotel.

One thing I will request to the management, Please do arrange one ''Clock'' in every room, it will be more helpful to all boarder.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funtu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed here for 3 days, love location and rooms. Rooms are specious, especially the new block. Food is homely and good, but order should be placed earlier, if you want to do lunch or dinner. Value for money

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Animesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagpur
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Excellent place to stay with family, amazing sea front hotel with clear sea view from room. Good service, mouthwatering bengali cuisine in the hotel resturant. Great value for money. Rooms need to be booked directly at hotel or through the hotel website. We travelled in a group of 4 adults and 4 kids, stayed for 3 days. Kids had a fun time. Would suggest to one and all to stay at this place during their visit to Puri.

Room Tip: Book rooms preferebly with 4 Beds AC in the middle of the Old building. Otherwise also all rooms in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mPinaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puri hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Holiday Resort
1.3 mi away
Hotel Sonar Bangla
Hotel Sonar Bangla
#21 of 81 in Puri
192 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pushpa (Berries Group of Hotels)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Gandhara
Hotel Gandhara
#7 of 81 in Puri
214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mahodadhi Palace
Mahodadhi Palace
#17 of 81 in Puri
170 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chanakya BNR Hotel
Chanakya BNR Hotel
#9 of 81 in Puri
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Club Hotel

Property: Victoria Club Hotel
Address: Sea Beach, Puri 752001, India
Location: India > Odisha > Puri District > Puri
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels in Puri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the four celebrated religious centers of India, Puri, the abode of Lord Jagannath needs no introduction. According to tradition Puri was once a thickly wooded hill inhabited by the Sabaras (Pre-Aryan and Pre-Dravidian tribes of the Austric linguistic family). The sunny beach at Puri is one of the finest in the world. Watching the sunrise in a symphony of colours is a wonderful experience. It is one of the most popular sea-side resorts where visitors from any part of the globe can comfortably relax. Victoria Club Hotel stands right in front of the beach, where your room will be situated only a few steps away from the beach. Catering to guests since 1907, you can enjoy your stay in Puri with comfort at Victoria Club Hotel. Affordable rooms to lavish suites are at your disposal. Fully equipped rooms with modern facilities ensure that your stay here is as comfortable as possible. Come experience Puri at Victoria Club Hotel. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing