We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality is a concept not understood by the management of this large property.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Chariot Resort & Spa
Ranked #23 of 81 Hotels in Puri
Reviewed March 23, 2014

The best place to spend your time in this hotel is sitting in the verandah outside the reception looking out to the sea across the pool.
An ardous, long, marathon walk to the sea. A clogged drain in the toilet that can only be used by plumbing experts. An air conditioning system too high tech for mortals to operate. Hotel management that is more difficult to communicate with than the Lord Jaggannath himself, in his hometown.
If you don't want to challenge yourself on a holiday, and want things to happen easily and naturally, trust me the other options in this city are well worth your time.
Reading the comments of Mr. Tiwari, now ably and equally unproductively replaced by one Mr. A Sharma, me thinks its the top management that thinks that they are obliging their patrons not serving them.
A perfect case of a misplaced ear and an missing heart.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neetu Sureka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHREERAMTEWARI1971, General Manager at The Chariot Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Chariot Resort & Spa !!

At the outset let me thank you for taking time to give us your forthright view about The Chariot Resort & Spa, Puri !!.

It is only through honest feedback from discerning guests such as you, that we are able to gauge our services, and make amends, which is our constant endeavor.

Your feedback helps us in improving our product and services. We have noted some areas where our service has not met your expectations. We would be grateful if you would be kind enough to share some details with us on some critical areas thus enabling us to bring in improvements sought and also some details of your visit, duration of stay etc.
Appreciate if you let me know who is A. Sharma…… I have got no clue ????

We look forward to welcome you again so as to experience the initiatives.


Warm Regards

Shreeram Tewari

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 295 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2014

awesome place. was being renovated when we went. guess it will be better now. however, food was great, staff was polite and friendly. nice pool and good ambience. the Chef had taken special care for us and over 2 days served 4 cusines. had a great time all in all.

Room Tip: take rooms on the 1st and second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shrijachandak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHREERAMTEWARI1971, General Manager at The Chariot Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Greetings from Chariot Resort & Spa, Puri ! !

It is indeed wonderful feeling to get your positive review and we are thankful to you for your time. We constantly try to work on these aspects and get inspired by these comments.

It gives us great satisfaction and is a matter of great motivation to know that our hard work brings a smile on our guests faces.

We would like to thank you once again for appreciating our efforts and look forward to see you with your family once again.

Warm Regards,
Shreeram Tewari
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

we booked through panchwati holiday membership as we are member of them..but faced some problems there ....mainly they are transport problem....if you go to market and if if it becomes night then you will have to take hotel car by calling their number from the market cause many public trnsports like auto ricksaws /rickshaws refuses to comes to this resort at night cause it is too much distanced resort at the end of the town called Baliapanda..we faced that problem.but it does not matter if it is in day...overall service...design...quality....behaviours are awesome.....there are also swimming pool.. but after that till now we have visited Puri 3 times....and stayed near of swargadar hotel...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandhikshandas0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHREERAMTEWARI1971, General Manager at The Chariot Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greeting from Chariot Resort & Spa, Puri !!!

At the onset, please accept our sincere apologies for all the inconvenience caused to you during your stay. We endeavor to be consistent in ensuring that we deliver excellent services.

All other concerns raised by you, has been addressed and necessary corrective actions has been taken to avoid any inconvenience to our guests in future.

We do hope that you have the occasion to visit us again and it will be our endeavor to provide you with our best service at all times.

Warm regards,
Shreeram Tewari
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Myself along with family visted & stayed this hotel atleast twice. The last visit was June'2013. The hotel having excellent swimming pool 7 enviornment but it is far from proper puri town. The hotel food quality was good. The hotel is good to rest from out side world.

Room Tip: Good for vacation visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GOOD_MEMORIES2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHREERAMTEWARI1971, General Manager at The Chariot Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Chariot Resort & Spa, Puri !!

Thank you for taking the time out to share with us your wonderful feedback about our property. We are indeed happy to know that you had a very good experience with us.

I have also shared your encouraging feedback with our teams, and it truly drives us to give our very best.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Chariot Resort & Spa. Puri !!

Kind Regards,

Shreeram Tewari
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Quiet place away from city, good pool, Nice sea view, spacious to walk around, courteous staff, good food. Large room With gallery. Overall good experience. Bit expensive considering its away from city but given 3-4 good options in Puri, surely recommended.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank Jaspal_Aulakh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHREERAMTEWARI1971, General Manager at The Chariot Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Dear Guest ,

Greetings from the Chariot Resort & Spa !!!
It was pleasure reading your feedback on Trip Advisor. We thank you for sharing your experience at the public platform. Your word of praise encourages our team to work harder to give all the more better experience to our guests.

It takes lot of initiatives and co ordination to live up to the expectations of each guest that stays at our hotel and we try to delight them. It`s constant training which helps us to do the same.

Its our constant endeavor to give a better experience and we will keep on delivering the same. Once again Thank you for your encouraging words .

Warm Regards,

Shreeram Tewari
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Recently, I had planned the golden jubilee celebrations of by grandparents at Chariot Resorts, Puri. Going by the look and built of the resort I was attracted towards it and had booked the resort for around 125 people for two days. Unfortunately, we had one horrible experience. It was like a nightmare. Though the hotel is really well maintained and built, their staff and service is equally terrible. During these two days the management failed to deliver what they had promised and on requesting to cooperate and make necessary arrangements as per the agreement they were rude and reluctant to provide any kind of help. We had a pre-decided menu but unfortunately they could not deliver even 50% of it. I was really embarrassed in front of my guests

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S_G922014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHREERAMTEWARI1971, General Manager at The Chariot Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Chariot Resort & Spa !!!

We thank you for considering our hotel for your stay in India. We have gone through your feedback posted on the website and have found the details pertaining the same.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the same. The concerns raised by you have been taken seriously and all of them have been sorted out. We are continuously in the process of training our staff to give a delightful experience to all our guests.

We look forward to welcome you again so as to experience the initiatives.

Warm Regards,

Shreeram Tewari
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Place is far away from the main city and the temple, further down from the Marin drive. It is the last hotel in the line, a quite secluded. The approach is a bit messy and away from the happening area. Your own vehicle is a must if you stay here. Cannot go out on your own as the walking distance to main road would be almost 20-30 min. The hotel charges Rs. 1500 for a pick up & drop to Jaganaath temple, one way 450 Rs. Place is beautiful but the rooms are OK. with dirty sheets and towels.It has a good swimming pool. Sea beach is about 300 M from here. The Indian food in the restaurant here is tasty. However, the housekeeping staff was lousy, no hand towels in the bathroom, had to ask for everything.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reena_ved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHREERAMTEWARI1971, General Manager at The Chariot Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Chariot Resort & Spa, Puri !!!

I would like to thank you for your feedback on the website although it is not a pleasant one. Please accept my sincere apologies for not delivering up to your standards. We believe in constant training and improvement and the same is in process.

I am extremely sorry for the experience that you had during your last stay, at the same time i would like to assure you that your concerns has been take seriously and the same has been addressed. i am sure that you will have a better experience when you are back to us.

We look forward to welcome you back at Chariot Resort & Spa, Puri !!

Warm Regards,
Shreeram Tewari
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puri hotels
3.8 mi away
Hotel Holiday Resort
1.4 mi away
The Hans Coco Palms
The Hans Coco Palms
#6 of 81 in Puri
387 reviews
3.8 mi away
Pramod Convention & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Gandhara
Hotel Gandhara
#9 of 81 in Puri
223 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mayfair Heritage
Mayfair Heritage
#4 of 81 in Puri
433 reviews
0.2 mi away
Puri - Golden Sands, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chariot Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chariot Resort & Spa

Address: | Sipasarubali, Baliapanda, Puri 752001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Odisha > Puri District > Puri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 81 Hotels in Puri
Price Range: $49 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Chariot Resort & Spa 2*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of the Bay of Bengal and surrounded by the peaceful serenity and backwater, Aveda Chariot Resort and Spa is a unique place where you find absolute bliss! Spanning across 3.5 acres, Aveda Chariot Resort & Spa has a total of 144 rooms including The Deluxe Suite, Platinum Suites, Executive Classic, Premium Room & Deluxe Rooms. The resort is well connected to Puri city centre (7 kms from the railway station and 3 kms from the main market) and is 65 kms away from the international airport located at Bhubaneswar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Chariot Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing