We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If heaven falls, it falls in Aveda”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Chariot Resort & Spa
Ranked #24 of 81 Hotels in Puri
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The staff is really happy to be working here, hence us guests get the best service from the lovely staff. My room was clean and bright, bed very comfortable, all facilities at 5* standards. In particular, boys from house keeping department looked after every single need to perfection. They were kind, courteous, friendly yet extremely professional. They had done a great job in my room. Nothing was too much trouble for them.
The complimentary breakfast buffet was of superior quality food all served with a smile. ALL the restaurant staff was very keen to ensure my every requirement was met. I am very fussy and had special requirements which were again met with perfection and a big smile. The staff quickly learns the likes and dislikes of the guests and prompts the superb service. What a lovely personal touch.
The hotel is modern and classy.
The General Manager Mr. Sanjit Paul made sure for the comfortability of my stay. He showed me various options to suit my needs. Mr. Paul always asked me if there was anything I was not happy about the hotel - shows he cared about meeting the guests needs. He gave me all the information I required about Puri and where to go. Very helpful and very charming. Great guy!
Would have loved to have listed more staff names, eg. The restaurant manager but did not catch his name. His ethos too was to please the guests. Wi-fi speed excellent. I will be back again.
Only one drawback It was slightly annoying that the road stretch towards the main hotel is in pathetic condition and the management needs to look after.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mantushashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjit P, General Manager at The Chariot Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Aveda Chariot Resort & Spa , Puri

I thank you for your comment on trip advisor and your experience at our Aveda Chariot Resort. Your comments were duly shared with the team and there were delighted and motivated. We believe is providing seamless experience to all our guests and make special occasion memorable. I look forward to welcome you soon.
Should you require any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Best Regards

Sanjit Paul
General Manager
7381035000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
There are newer reviews for The Chariot Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 294 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

We visited puri recently for two nights and stayed at Aveda.The approach at night looks scary and is on the edge of the town.So land there in the day please.Once inside the hotel is well lit and rooms are clean.The food was a pleasant surprise though the layout sometimes scatters away once people pounce on the food.Probably they need to rethink on how to lay the buffets! The pool was fine and the beach is exclusive and well laid out.You can spend hours on the beach.There is enough security and life guards to help you enjoy the water!That was great.However room service is slow and not to the detail.On the whole a good stay but can be a lot better.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank rooony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chariot2015, General Manager at The Chariot Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2016

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Chariot Hotel & Spa, Puri !!!


Thank you for sparing your time for updating your experience on Trip Advisor and for your kind words of praise on our product, ambiance, food and service.

Your compliments are a great source of encouragement which will help us further to strive for higher standards of service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Chariot Hotel & Spa, Puri on your next visit soon.

Regards,
Alok Ranjan Senapati
+917381035000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We paid in advance through makemytrip.. and an hour after arriving we wanted to leave. We had spent a lot of money to have a few relaxing days in what looked like a nice hotel.. it ended up being our worst stay and we were trapped here for 4 miserable days as they have a no refund policy.

I tried to claim on the money back guarantee on makemytrip.. but they called the hotel, and the manager lied and assured them everything was fine and in order!! Despite the hotel not actually having half of the advertised amenities!

I don't like leaving bad reviews for hotels where many people work.. because some of staff we met were very nice and kind.. and the hotels problems are not their fault but managements.. However..

Don't bother putting your 'Do Not Disturb' on, it will be ignored. In fact, one morning staff just entered our room without knocking (sounded like 3 of them) When shouting 'Hello' they left, leaving the door open! Little bit worrying when the advertised safe doesn't exist.

With 'Spa' in the title, one would expect a spa perhaps, but no.. its closed.. infact, when looking for it it we found the whole bottom floor is derelict.

The pool was dark green with algae for the first few days, didn't look very safe.. and the day after that it was emptied so out of use.

There is no business center

There is no in room WiFi and definitely no wired internet in most rooms

There is no Bar.. the place doesn't even have a licence. Its still being built.

The road to the hotel is very poor too and rickshaws will charge 300rs into Puri, often refusing to take us there on an evening.

Privacy and room security is ignored

Reception staff are so rude and unhelpful.

This place could be so nice.. but its simply not finished..and not worth the advertised price. Its simply a con!! Watch out for the 'Small Print' on booking and on their website.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chariot2015, General Manager at The Chariot Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2016

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Chariot Hotel & Spa, Puri !!!


Thank you for sparing your time for updating your experience on Trip Advisor and for your kind words.
At the outset, we regret for the inconvenience caused to you. The Hotel Management is equally disappointed that you were not happy with few of the services, but we promise you that we will certainly work on the observations you had.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Chariot Hotel & Spa on your next visit soon.



Regards,
Alok Ranjan Senapati
+917381035000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

we looked at several hotels in Puri, and there really are few high end options. Aveda Chariot charged 5,000 INR per night, which is definitely top end for Puri. but they need to improve rooms+restaurant to merit this price. Checkin and checkout were fairly efficient, but they can get mobbed (not enough people at reception to help) and don't seem to know how to manage large #s of people. One young woman was especially clueless at reception. The most helpful person was Samer, who seems to be the day manager-- very helpful and proactive. The room was billed as having 'beach view' and we could indeed view the distant water through a few buildings and with our zoom lens on camera--- but we had a balcony that overlooked the construction+garbage site next to the hotel. The room itself was decent sized, but very 1960s decorations and lights. The bathroom was reasonable and modern. The bed was not very comfortable-- hard with very basic sheets/fittings. Make sure you ask for a room in the 'new' section-- i believe ours was there, but even that was not so 'new'. however i heard people complaining about the 'old' section being unbearable. The wifi was supposed to work in our room, but i never managed to get it to work and had to sit in the lobby and be devoured by mosquitos to do anything on the net. My airtel connection for phone and blackberry also had no reception in the room...but partial/fleeting reception in the lobby. The restaurant offered buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and the selection was reasonable for both veg and non-veg--- nothing special, but definitely edible. We availed of airport transfers, which were 2,500 INR from Bhubanweshar, which is a 1.5 hour drive--- good car/drivers both ways. The hotel has its own beach access---- over a rickety old bamboo bridge over an estuary--- and very nice to be there at sunrise and sunset--- clean and fewer people than in the main part in Puri town. Since the hotel is a few km from main downtown Puri area on the beach, it's quieter and much nicer than other options in the middle of the beach crowd. The pool looked pretty dirty, but it's in a lovely garden area with lots of beautiful flowers.

Room Tip: make sure you have a room in the 'new' section. be sure you're getting a real beach vi...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenabaintheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjit P, General Manager at The Chariot Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Guest,
I thank you for your comment of Trip Advisor. Post reading your feedback I do understand that there are various areas and opportunities to improve in terms of service and product. Be rest assured that we value voice of customer and this is how we stop and look back on our deployed process wherein we make necessary changes. We want all out patrons to be our ambassadors.
I am happy to learn that you were impressed by our associate warm and friendly gesture. We do believe that people are our principle asset. By sharing comments like this the team becomes highly motivated and committed. Request you to take this experience in isolation. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you require any assistance in future booking with us. I look forward to welcome you soon.

Best Regards
Sanjit Paul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Water in pool was dirty.room service vry poor.maintaince bad.had to wait for a long tym at billing.staff was less not Abel to manage.only thing I enjoyed was beach.am very much disappointed.please renovate your old block rooms.it was not feeling as if am staying in a delux sweet rooms

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AgArw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chariot2015, General Manager at The Chariot Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2016

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Chariot Hotel & Spa, Puri !!!


Thank you for sparing your time for updating your experience on Trip Advisor and for your kind words.
At the outset, we regret for the inconvenience caused to you. The Hotel Management is equally disappointed that you were not happy with few of the services, but we promise you that we will certainly work on the observations you had.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Chariot Hotel & Spa on your next visit soon.



Regards,
Alok Ranjan Senapati
+917381035000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Huge hotel, very nice with a private beach. well decorated, good swimming pool & fitness centre. Maintainance is poor. Very frequent power drop & AC failure & this part took my patience. They couldn,t help me with that. takes time for room service. Clean & tidy. Otherwise the hotel is really nice.

Room Tip: Away from crowd. Nice hotel with big area. beautiful private beach. Power drop & AC working is a...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sinchanghosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjit P, General Manager at The Chariot Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Aveda Chariot Resort & Spa ! Puri !
I thank you for taking time post your comments on Trip Advisor.
I am happy to learn that we were able to live up to your expectation, rather exceed it. Your comments and ratings really mean a lot to us and this is how we in hospitality service keep our spirits high and continuously strive to provide seamless and intuitive service.
We value your patronage to Aveda Chariot Resort & Spa, Puri and to Aveda as a group. We have discussed your comments in detail in an appropriate forum. We do honor voice of customer.
I shall be happy to meet you in person in your next visit and should you require any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
The entire team of Aveda Chariot Resort & Spa, Puri looks forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Sanjit Paul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Excellent resort. We stayed in a suit room in this resort for 3 days for spending our silver jubilee marriage anniversary. The Friendly behavior of each hotel staff right from the top up to the hotel boy are really beyond expression. The full-swing evening house keeping service amazed us. The trade mill in the gym was out of order, but we didn't feel it because of the close proximity of private sea beach. We received a complimentary anniversary-cake from the manager without any action from our side. My wife gave me the compliments for choosing such a hotel, and she evaluated this hotel as the best one ever we stayed including the foreign hotels. We wish many success of this resort.The hotel is.... no doubt... costly....But, still then.....we feel it is cost-worthy. During our departure the hotel staff were all standing at the gate waiving their hands, it was really touchy. We committed to the hotel staff that we will come in this resort again and again.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor corner suit is the best room.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sanatanum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjit P, General Manager at The Chariot Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Aveda Chariot Resort & Spa,Puri !

I thank you for your recent stay with us and your comments on Trip Advisor.
I am happy to learn that we were able to live up to your expectation, rather exceed it.Your comments and ratings really mean a lot to us and this is how we in hospitality service keep our spirits high and continuously strive to provide seamless and intuitive service.
I sincerely look forward to welcome you in near future and ensure that same level of service will be provided to you.
Should you require any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me.

Best Regards

Sanjit Paul
General Manager
7381035000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puri hotels
3.8 mi away
Hotel Holiday Resort
1.4 mi away
The Hans Coco Palms
The Hans Coco Palms
#6 of 81 in Puri
384 reviews
3.8 mi away
Pramod Convention & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Gandhara
Hotel Gandhara
#8 of 81 in Puri
223 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lucky India Royal Heritage Hotel
0.2 mi away
Puri - Golden Sands, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chariot Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chariot Resort & Spa

Address: | Sipasarubali, Baliapanda, Puri 752001, India
Location: India > Odisha > Puri District > Puri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 81 Hotels in Puri
Price Range: $52 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Chariot Resort & Spa 2*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of the Bay of Bengal and surrounded by the peaceful serenity and backwater, Aveda Chariot Resort and Spa is a unique place where you find absolute bliss! Spanning across 3.5 acres, Aveda Chariot Resort & Spa has a total of 144 rooms including The Deluxe Suite, Platinum Suites, Executive Classic, Premium Room & Deluxe Rooms. The resort is well connected to Puri city centre (7 kms from the railway station and 3 kms from the main market) and is 65 kms away from the international airport located at Bhubaneswar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Chariot Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing