We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Samudra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Samudra
Ranked #5 of 105 Puri B&B and Inns
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

stayed in this hotel for 2nights....lovely location....but can say its a budget hotel....still been maintained very nicely...rooms r clean n spacious.....sea view from the room is awesome...best part is private beach owned by the hotel.....room service is very very poor.....food is okay....staff is good friendly n well mannered specially the one at the restaurant.......

Room Tip: go for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priyanka01_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    29
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
33
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Hotel samudra is a very average budgeted hotel..mostly suitable for those who are on tight budget..!!.their suites are very spacious but double bed rooms are very average...the food served are all basic staple bengali food and not much variety or options are offered moreover it has to ordered 1 hour before..!!the staffs are all very friendly and cooperative but lack specialized service training!!

Room Tip: go for the suites..!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sukanyadas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dharamsala, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

I just spent couple of nights in Hotel Samudra with my family. The property is nice, but it lacks maintenance. I must say the food quality is awesome, staff are helpful & rooms are clean. If you're looking for a peaceful stay without the crowd of New Marine Drive of Puri, then Hotel Samudra must be your choice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anibiswas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Recently I spent three nights in this hotel with my family. The main attaraction of this hotel is it's location. All rooms are sea facing. Particularly Room No. 301 & 318 of top floor are the best. You can see the sea as well as hear the sound of the wave 24 hours from any room. The food quality is also good however menus are limited and little costly. House keeping services are not up to the mark. Some parts of the hotel including bathroom fittings are need to be repaired / replaced. Lighting arrangements inside the room and lobby are inadequate. A little renovation can make this hotel one of the best budget hotel of this city.

Room Tip: Room No 301 & 318 (2nd floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debasishalder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

I am a frequent traveler to Puri and have stayed in many hotels and here this is my 24th time. I never had any problems with the hotel as the room service and food quality is very good. The hotel is situated on the beach and the beach is less crowded so it is very good to have a bath and enjoy. The staff are very friendly and will help you always. This time however I didnt have good experience with the food as the grade of food has reduced. The new staff in the hotel were also not good and didnt have proper behavior. The room and toilets were cleaned daily and the Hotel is totally clean always. There are beautiful flowers all around. The hotel is a good place to stay but check the food quality if they have improved then only eat food from there. It was always good in the past and infact the best but this time dont know what happened they gave so poor quality food and wasnt even cooked well.
This hotels are good for foreigners who want to stay away from the crowd.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank traveller963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

This is not a modern hotel - but is totally functional, and would recommend this Puri hotel to the Indian religious traveler.

Me and my mother stayed in the standard AC room(302) for three days/night and were happy with the stay.

Pros:
- Location - centrally located, near Orissa tourism office, away from crowded area of the beach
- Beach facing, very nice view from room balcony and terrace
- Tasty Indian food
- Good service - room service and house keeping
- Awesome value for money
- Courtesy and service

Cons:
- Old building
- Everything about the hotel feels old
- Hotel can use modernization and renovation


We were lucky to catch the international sand art competition - part of Konark festival.

If you stay in this hotel would strongly recommend masseur 'Narendra' who may walk up to you when you relax in the adjoining beach.

I would again stay in this hotel if I visit Puri again.

Room Tip: Choose the room closest to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WithoutTicket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Samudra in June, 2012 for 2 days. I reached by Duronto in early morning. Since manager was asleep, the guard opened the gate and allowed us in. We have to wait for few hours before the manager came. We were allowed to go to the beach through the garden of the hotel. Once in the room, the stay was pleasant. This is my second visit in the last three years. We stayed in the same deluxe room on the right wing of the hotel. The sea-view from this room is awesome. One can spent hours watching sea from the room. The room service was prompt. Food was really awesome. The beach is stone's throw away and not crowded. We really enjoyed our stay. If you want to be away from crowd, one of the best place to stay in Puri.

Room Tip: The delux rooms are great. You can view sea from the comfort of your room without going to the balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chologhuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puri hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Holiday Resort
0.0 mi away
Chanakya BNR Hotel
Chanakya BNR Hotel
#7 of 80 in Puri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Sonar Bangla
Hotel Sonar Bangla
#18 of 80 in Puri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gandhara
Hotel Gandhara
#8 of 80 in Puri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mahodadhi Palace
Mahodadhi Palace
#17 of 80 in Puri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Shakti International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Samudra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Samudra

Property: Hotel Samudra
Address: C.T. Road, Balukhand, Sea-Beach, Puri 752002, India
Location: India > Odisha > Puri
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Puri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 52

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing