We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only chose the sea facing rooms”
Review of Puri Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Puri Hotel
Ranked #37 of 81 Hotels in Puri
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is one of the oldest hotels in Puri and the tallest there is. The rooms are shabby and the toilet unclean. The only good thing about this hotel is the balcony in the sea facing rooms. Very few hotels in Puri offer better view of the Bay of Bengal than Puri Hotel, almost 180 degrees view. Do not expect anything great here cause the rates are still very cheap compared to the new grade of hotels here. Service is just about ok and the food is ............. well not too good.

Room Tip: Chose only the front rooms facing the sea
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chandan144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
There are newer reviews for Puri Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 267 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012

I have visited Puri in this month of October 2012 and based on my personal experience I can say that this is the worst Hotel I have ever seen. The reasons are mentioned below:-
1) The distance from Railway station is about 3-5 KM.
2) The Hotel says in his brochure that Hotel vehicle will remain at the Railway station but this is only an announcement. you will not get any vehicle on arrival and you have to come to the Hotel by your own means.
3) The attitude of staff is worst and you cannot get any co-operation from them.
4) They bargain much and I will not advice to stay there.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GURUSINHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is one of the oldest hotels on the beach & this is well reflected in the corridor & the rooms. We were a group of 5 friends backpacking in Puri. The only advantage was the location !

The rooms are small & so is the bathroom however there was a balcony! The staff was nice, mostly aged folks who were keen on ensuring that we were comfortable. Just a 20 rupee tip was enough to bring a huge smile on their faces after they helped with the luggage. The bathroom was disappointing with its size & lack of amenities and we heard muffled voices from the next room every time we went to the loo !
The food was ok, though less in quantity. There were spooky florescent designs on the ceiling, which glowed in the dark :)

Pros and Cons:

Pros:
1. Great Location
2. Nice staff (though the receptionists are emotionless zombies)
3. A good place to travel if you are with friends & backpacking
4. A safe & affordable A/C accommodation within 1500 rs !
5. Pick up & drop to the station

Cons:
1. The place is falling apart in most places ... that's the feeling we got when we were inside.
2. Small rooms
3. Not very clean
4. long queues in the reception area always
5. Limited TV channels

Room Tip: A good cost-effective option for backpackers or when travelling in a large group.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sujan_Sarkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

i my opinion people may choose another option then puri beach resort because of these reasons.
1. it is far away from temple and the main market it is false that it is 3 km from rsilway station and 1.5 km from temple .it is also away from the main market swargdwar.
2. As seen in the pictures the rooms are not up to the mark they are different as looks in the pictures they are small and untidy , bedsheets are also very bad.
3. Most important we had booked for 3 adults and a child for the extra adult they provided the extra mattress which was horrible because it was stinking such that we had called the staff to change it, they changed the mattress but another one was also of same condition then we had managed all the members in 1 double bed in the same way the pillow and the blanket, bedsheets were stinking.
I had a very worst experience I will not suggest anyone to go to this puri beach resort and may try amother option.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vishal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

One of the best hotels in Puri. The location is mindblowing. We have been here more than 5-6 times and will stay here again when we are back. The sea facing rooms on the higher floors give you a view, unexplainable in words. The in-house restaurant is also pretty good.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RohanChatterjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The Hotel is one of the worst Hotel i ever seen. It is advised not to go such type of hotels.
The attitude of staff is very poor.Food quality not uptomark. Bed sheet will be changed with reminders. Have try with other hotel have nice stay. My first visit is the last visit.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bibhuti2000india
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

This is the best hotel in Puri. It is on the beach and only a short distance from the Jagannath temple. The price is very reasonable- sometime the price looks unbelieveably low if compared to other hotels in Puri. The management and hospitality staff isgood. We were very impressed with the food as well. Different varieties of fish- again at such a low rate. Only thing is that there is rush for booking in this hotel, so kindly book in advance.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ADITYA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puri hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pushpa
Hotel Pushpa
#51 of 81 in Puri
182 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jeevan Sandhya Inn
Jeevan Sandhya Inn
#9 of 81 in Puri
44 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Sonar Bangla
Hotel Sonar Bangla
#25 of 81 in Puri
200 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Gandhara
Hotel Gandhara
#8 of 81 in Puri
223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mahodadhi Palace
Mahodadhi Palace
#15 of 81 in Puri
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Hotel

Address: Sea Beach, Puri 752001, India
Location: India > Odisha > Puri District > Puri
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 81 Hotels in Puri
Price Range: $8 - $23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location on the Puri sea beach, with most of the rooms having a private balcony facing the sea and provides a perfect visual treat of the Puri beach. You can watch & play on the beach to your satisfaction. We have Deluxe A/C and Non A/C rooms with Facilities like Multi-cuisine restaurant, Automatic lifts, Car parking space, Music channel in every room, Cable TV, Safe deposit locker, Railway & Air ticket confirmation, Doctor chamber, Telephone, Travel Desk, Tour bookings etc. We are the most economical bundled up with all comforts of modern day hospitality industry. Being a heritage hotel, we understand the meaning of hospitality and treat you optimum to make you feel at home. Check out time 24 hours. Children below 8 years will not be charged. Free transportation from Puri Railway station to hotel & back. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing