We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best female dorm ever”
Review of Z Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Z Hotel
Ranked #13 of 81 Hotels in Puri
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I usually don't write reviews, but hotel Z definitely calls for one.
The building itself is beautiful, spacious, extremely well kept and assiduously cleaned, with really nice and comfortable common areas. The manager and the stuff are really friendly and helpful and always do their best to make you feel welcome.
Rooms are quite expensive (the cheapest double is 1500 Rs) but the dorm (only for girls) is simply excellent (6 COMFY beds, mozzie nets, plenty of space for every occupant, functioning fans) and only costs 150 Rs.. and sure, somewhere else in Puri you can get a room for yourself with only 200 Rs, but not one as nice and convenient and clean and comfortable. Plus, some of the shared bathrooms have just been renovated and are quite fancy (the others are normal but perfectly clean and with hot water).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela86Gaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 76 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

Room no 24 was by far the cleanest room during my 4month trip in India this time, it is a single room without a private bathroom. But the shared bathroom next door is kept immaculately clean too so would highly recommend this option to budget travelers.

Rooms are nicely decorated with dark wood cupboards and writing desks and all are equipped with mosquito nets.

Hotel has an amazing library (but unfortunately no book exchange) so you will never run out of reading while you are staying there. Excellent selection of DVDs too.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lilli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

After the chaos of the Puri bus station, I would be happy with just a place to rest my legs. But no, this place is an absolute steal. I paid 150 rupees a night for a bed in the womens' dormitory-- one of the best decisions on my trip.

The hotel is immaculate, two of the shared bathrooms are newly renovated, huge and spotless. The dormitory is large with has comfortable mattresses, functional mosquito nets and clean linens. There is a nicely decorated living room area with couches for watching movies, reading, escaping the midday sun with a borrowed book from their library.

The staff is courteous and helpful without being overbearing. Did I mention there's free filtered water and free wi-fi?

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJL1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I recently spent four days at Z Hotel in Puri and it was one of the best places I stayed in India. I loved the old building, with its mis-sized wooden stairs and iron railing and the big outdoor dining porch where I spent most of my time. I had one of the non-renovated rooms and I'm glad I did -- the newly-renovated rooms are nice and big but $50 and a bit charmless. My room was big, clean, with character at only $30 (room 21). The food was great, the staff really pleasant and the location is good. There are also dorm rooms and shared bathrooms but I didn't see those so don't know what they are like.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I always go back to z hotel.. it always becomes cleaner and better.. its the first hotel in India gets cleaner and better, the rest when i go back after few years, it gets worst year by year...
Than,k to the Manager Taz, to keep this Hotel in serves. the food is very good and its home made cooking. I love souko.cream camel an Mani the funny man.
If you are in Puri... don't miss your stay in the Z Hotel.

Jeremy Smith
Switzerland

Room Tip: I love room NO' 21 or 22, I like them rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Foodcooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I have come to stay at Z hotel since 1997. unfortunately, the place is under renovation since quite a while, with all the noise and inconveniences that come with it. the place is changing & about to lose its genuine serenity & spatious feel. rooms are refurbished to a luxurious standard of sorts with prices going up from below INR 1000 to 3500 & perhaps even beyond. this will of course attract a different crowd & those who know the Z as serene, peaceful place to meet other travellers & not just india-in-three-weeks-tourists, might feel out of place now.

recently free wifi was installed, which is of course a major convenience, although it also seems to ruin one of the nice traditions at Z: gathering around the long table on the veranda for meals & long afternoon/evening conversations. as everywhere else the species of internet-hikkomoris seems to take over, the other choice being to crowd around the recently installed gigantic flat-screen in the lobby.

the food at Z is as delicious as ever, staff is friendly. the view from the rooftop is wonderful & it still is an island away from the hustle & bustle of chakratirtha road.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank yamunavanamali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is an amazing place to stay! The rooms are big and clean, and the price is excellent too. The staff is friendly and the atmosphere is one of relaxation and peace. Here, I had my first good sleep in India! Not interrupted by street noise or noisy staff. Just peace and quiet.

I loved it and will definitely stay there again next time I am in Puri.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llhvam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puri hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Holiday Resort
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gandhara
Hotel Gandhara
#9 of 81 in Puri
223 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chanakya BNR Hotel
Chanakya BNR Hotel
#10 of 81 in Puri
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Jeevan Sandhya Inn
Jeevan Sandhya Inn
#8 of 81 in Puri
54 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pramod Convention & Beach Resort
1.9 mi away
Mahodadhi Palace
Mahodadhi Palace
#17 of 81 in Puri
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Z Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z Hotel

Address: Chakratirtha Road, Puri 752002, India
Location: India > Odisha > Puri District > Puri
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 81 Hotels in Puri
Price Range: $23 - $26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing