We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An O.K property which can be tried when no other better options are available”
Review of Rumani Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rumani Hotel
Ranked #60 of 84 Hotels in Puri
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The exterior is humble, especially when compared to a number of new and well maintained hotels around. Rooms are spacious and airy. The room service is prompt and friendly.Our package was inclusive of breakfast, however the options were limited to Bread butter or puri sabji.Some suggestions are as follows:
1)there should be a telephone in every room.
2)Cente table should be there. Two chairs had been provided without the table.It is difficult to have your food inside the room without this.
3)The overall hotel needs a fresh coat of paint, both inside & outside.
It is a hotel which is O.K for a short stay and specially when no other accomodation is available during the peak season.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the road and with a balcony on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anoop_hazra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 57 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

I stayed at this god forbidden place from 24th December to 27th December and regret every minute of my staying.
Upon a misinformation that this place is very near to the Jagannath temple , I chose this place amongst myriad other options. As I had tagged along 9 of my relatives, I thought it will be a good place to stay so that we can walk to the temple as often as we could. However, the minimum auto fare is Rs 70 from this place to the temple. Therefore , you can choose a better hotel on the beach road.

The staff of this hotel have a very peculiar habit of not listening to you (despite your repeated attempts to explain them) and will lap up every opportune moment to irritate you by acting to their whims.

At first, the rooms were very dirty and unclean. It took them nearly 6 hours to clean the floor. In the website, the hotel boasts of running hot water. What this means in reality is that you will be made to run for the hot water. There is no geycer fitted on to the bathrooms and you have to depend on the housekeeping guys to bring you hot water in a bucket. You need to give the 'only' bucket in your bathroom and wait till they get you a lukewarm water. When we complained about the water temperature , the staff had the audacity to tell us that we should wait for 1 hour per bucket to get proper hot water.

Next comes a cup of coffee / milk. You would do well to drink plain hot water and be content for your morning beverage than to ask coffee / milk from these guys. Such a watery drink (labelled as coffee) comes to you at an insane price of Rs 35 per glass. When we shouted for the quality, we were served a better one at Rs 40 per glass !!!

We did not take any food from this place as we are strict vegetarians. Guess Lord Jagannath showed some mercy on us on this count.

We wanted vehicles on couple of days for us to visit Chilika lake , Konark etc. The vehicles came to the hotel to pick us up a good 30 mins after the time we wanted to leave.

On the final day of our trip, we wanted to have a very early darshan of the Lord (at 4.30 AM) and informed the front desk that we need hot water by 4 AM. The guy at the reception assured us that he will arrange for it without any hitch. I repeated my request at least 4 times and he asked me not to worry. The next day morning at 4 AM , I found all of the hotel staff deep in slumber and none cared to serve us. I woke up one person literally and he said it is not possible to give water at such a time. We were forced to bathe in cold water.

I am not going in depth of certain issues like discourteous drivers, bugging house keeping staff literally driving you to your wits end for baksheesh (which they claim as their birthright), fused bulbs and the inconceivably long time taken to replace them.

Stay away as much as possible from this hotel and choose some thing on the beach road.

Room Tip: No rooms are good. Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kssriraman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

First off all its an extreme budget hotel and it is a value for money bargain.
Firstly, the location is good, the main "Swargadwar" beach is only a 3 min lazy walk, and even the "Lord Jagannath Temple" is only a 6-7 min "Auto-Ricksaw" ride away. The Railway station is 10 min "Auto-Ricksaw" ride away. I think at Rs. 700 per double bed room, you can't ask for more.
Secondly, the quality of food served is very good, had variety and looked hygienic. They even served good quality baby food (chicken stew, boiled potatoes, boiled eggs, lightly fried fish and double boiled rice) for my 2 year old son, and he liked it. I certainly can't ask for more.
Thirdly, room condition, as far as the bathroom and bedroom floor is concerned, is quiet clean and were house-kept everyday but the only "turn off" is that the bed sheets, pillow covers and the window screens looked very dirty and the staff reluctant to change them, so we used personal bed sheets & pillow covers.
Finally, the behavior of staff is quiet good.
Overall it is recommended for extreme budget travelers.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aveek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank BAMDEV M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank p4akash
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

In our entire trip this was the wast possible experence of us. The manager or care taker (I am not sure) is a person allways wants to make money by saying sumthing rubbish. The location is far away from seabeach and temple the charges are 2 high. The rooms and bath rooms are good and clean the food is also good but expensive. The hotel could be a better one if the manager/ care taker is changed. And anather if you chose to have your food order them early and allways ask the rate first and after that take a signature of the staff on it in writing or you may be asked later for other once which you had not ordered or had taken for all this we had to leave this hotel and transfered to the other one. over all horriable experence.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank rajarshibhowmik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puri hotels
2.0 mi away
Jeevan Sandhya Inn
Jeevan Sandhya Inn
#8 of 84 in Puri
61 reviews
0.9 mi away
OYO 3258 New Rockbay
OYO 3258 New Rockbay
#53 of 84 in Puri
10 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Pearl
The Pearl
#49 of 84 in Puri
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Oishiki International
Oishiki International
#45 of 84 in Puri
4 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Golden Dust
Hotel Golden Dust
#20 of 84 in Puri
54 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gadadhar Resort
Gadadhar Resort
#52 of 84 in Puri
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumani Hotel

Address: Durgabadi Samiti Road | Sea Beach, Puri 752001, India
Location: India > Odisha > Puri District > Puri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 84 Hotels in Puri
Price Range: $11 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rumani Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rumani with Non A/C with Air Conditions Rooms : Rumani A/ C Block is Adjourn to Rumani Hotel Non A/C Block ,equivalent to 3* category with 39 elegantly appointed Air-Conditions Four Bed,Double Bed, & Suit Room ,All to create memories that will last long after your trip ,whether you're looking for a family Getway & a Romantic Vacation or even a business retreat, browse our Hotel the experience you are seeking the location You Desire at New Rumani at Durga Badi Samiti Road,Sea Beach, Jagannathdham,Puri and find the perfect hotel for your memorable movements you'll never forget. Our mission is to provide authentic hospitality by making a difference in the lives of the people we touch every day.We focus on in persuiting our goal of becoming the most preferred hotel where you can work & play,Mix & Mingle,Connect & Relax with a briliant leisure travel,Business Travel hosting spiritual,commercial meets or attending a wedding with multicusine food sensations. Thanks Warm Regards,General ManagerAkshaya Kumar Pradhan ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rumani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing