We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location Otherwise average”
Review of Hotel Shree Hari

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Shree Hari
Ranked #39 of 81 Hotels in Puri
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights at the shri hari in puri. The only saving grace of the hotel is its location. Located right at the sea front facing the beach. Two minutes and you could jump right into the water. The hotel is located on the front where there a great number of hotels but what makes it better is that it is located right at the end - far away from the crowded sea front.
Apart from this - its not a very great experience. The rooms are small but have nice little balconies facing the sea. You can sit all day long and have a great time.
The bathrooms are small and untidy. All in a all not well maintained property. Sand in the bathrooms and the lobby (yes the lobby!!) and stained walls. Though I have to say that the staff was ready to help all the time. Also I found the tab of nearly 3k per night a bit steep for the property. The food is just average.
May not come again - if there is a better choice available.

Room Tip: Pretty much all the rooms face the sea. If not ask for one. Thats the only saving grace!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChrisJ45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Shree Hari
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 67 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed at the executive room which was quiet spacious and clean. The bed was quite soft and ensured a pleasant sleep at night. Also, they offered free chips, chocolates on our arrival.

The bathroom however was a bit problematic: a) You would get current shock from all the taps. We reported the issue but it was not fixed during our two nights stay. Apparently, there was some current/water leakage issue. They have a bathtub, but you would not feel like using it because of the electric shocks you would get and poor maintenance of the tub. b) Overall, the bathroom could have been cleaner and a tad less rickety (the commode flush at times felt loose).

The location was very good and few rooms have direct sea view. The sea is just across the road and you can chill out on the beach until late night and cross the road to come back to the hotel. Also, the hotel is located on the relatively quieter side of the sea beach. The main area where a lot of old hotels still exist is utterly chaotic and would surely leave a bad impression of Puri beach if you are there for the first time. So choose a hotel from this newly developed/developing stretch of beach hotels and you would not be disappointed or worried about random suffocating crowds. The hotel has average food and room service was very slow.

Nonetheless, if you are not overly fussy, you can stay at this not-too-bad a place. (The hotel has a small swimming pool too. It's maximum depth is 5 ft I guess. So, it's perhaps appropriate for a holy dip. That's it!)

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelGeek25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

I was in Puri for a week in December 2013 and stayed here. There are just 3 things good in this hotel.
1) Location : it is wonderfully located. It is on the New Marine Drive away from the pollution and dirty surroundings of Swargadwar and just 50 meters away from the beach.From our room we could see the entire beach and also the top spire of the Shree Jagannath Temple. I think this is the only hotel from where you can enjoy such view.
2) Excellent and very helpful staff. Their service is just immaculate. Right from the front desk, check in, room service, housekeeping and restaurant to the secuity ( who will call an auto rickshaw in your need ) - the service rendered is just wonderful.
3)The front elevation ( looks ) - Undoubtedly this hotel looks best in entire Puri at Swargadwar and marine drive.

However the bad points are also to be noted
1) The infrastructure is pathetic. The room I booked was the Deluxe Suite and paid a hefty charge for it. To my dismay I found it was not a suite at all but measured maximum just 15 feet X 15 feet. The bathroom was worst. The washbasin was cracked and water leaking from it made the bathroom wet at all times. The toilet seat was broken. Worst part was the shower cubicle. The overhead shower did not work and the taps ran water in a sort of trickle. When reported , they brought in a plumber to repair but nothing came out of it and we suffered for the entire period. However, the housekeeping staff made their utmost endeavor to keep everything very clean and tidy which is really praiseworthy.
2) The restaurant ambience was very bad. I found that they had converted what was supposed to be a restaurant into a conference hall and was lending that out for conferences and seminars. The makeshift arrangement was a shabby and poorly ventilated outfit and not much of a place to eat. People like me who do not like room service found the going difficult.
3) The price is high compared to the infrastructure and service provided.
4) Every good hotel these days do some screening of boarders before allowing a booking. The hotel had around 25 rooms and out of that 22 r0oms were given away to some third grade government officials who were attending the so called seminar in the restaurant enjoying food and liquor with Tax payers money. None could be classified as gentlemen. Most were drunk and in inebriated state all day. Paying such a high sum and travelling with family one expects such hotels to have a decent crowd which this place did not have.
Not a value for money hotel at all and I advise someone travelling with family to think twice before booking his stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NilenduG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Had gone to puri with family on 5th December 2013 and stayed for three days in a room facing the beach. Excellent location, very near to the beach, good service. What more do you want. Any one looking for hotel in puri go for it.

P. M. Sharma , Gangtok, Sikkim

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the beach.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PMSharma2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

The hotel is sea facing, a beautiful location. Rooms, bathroom are spacious.Balcony is just nice to sip tea and look at the sea. The room service is good and restaurant is also nice. they also arrange dharshan a lord Jagganath temple.

Room Tip: Book the hotel in advance to get the best deal. Ask for sea facing room. All rooms are with balcony.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pramila-umakant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Have been to Puri quite a few times but this has got to be the best place to stay. I went their with my gang of girls and must say that I did not face issues firstly related to safety and security. The staffs there are nice and helpful. Only one things was that I found this place a little expensive considering the city. But nevertheless, awesome location and am soon going to be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J_Kar_Dey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We went there with a group of friends and had a great time. The location is its main attraction.. Very near to the main market area however secluded from the crowd. It is bang on the beach too.. So you get an excellent view of the Bay of Bengal.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fbd-Rupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puri hotels
0.7 mi away
Mahodadhi Palace
Mahodadhi Palace
#15 of 81 in Puri
182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Prabhupada
Hotel Prabhupada
#34 of 81 in Puri
65 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sonar Bangla
Hotel Sonar Bangla
#25 of 81 in Puri
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Gandhara
Hotel Gandhara
#8 of 81 in Puri
223 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel East West
Hotel East West
#26 of 81 in Puri
61 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hans Coco Palms
The Hans Coco Palms
#6 of 81 in Puri
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shree Hari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shree Hari

Address: New Marine Drive Road | Swargadwar, Puri 752001, India
Location: India > Odisha > Puri District > Puri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 81 Hotels in Puri
Price Range: $46 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Shree Hari 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Shree Hari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing