We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Puri- Top standard for a reasonable price”
Review of Hotel Gandhara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Gandhara
Ranked #8 of 81 Hotels in Puri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Best hotel we had in India- ever!

Beautiful garden with heeps of flowers, great pool, airy and well equipped rooms, smart and helpful stuff, friendly owner, delicious food, beer for self - service in the fridge...and not to forget the absolute cleanliness and safety of the whole hotel- which tops everything we experienced during our last 8 trips to India.

Top standard for a reasonable price- We certainly come back and can recommend Hotel Gandhara to everybody!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank GAPGAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Gandhara
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 223 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed there one night. The room was clean and neat. Staff is always working to clean and keep everything in order. Nothing to object. The pool side area would be very nice BUT there are hordes of mosquitos hungrily waiting for your feet ... The other downside is the early checkout (9 AM) and lack of flexibility. When I asked if it was possible to pay half day the answer has been "No, there are a lot of people coming tomorrow you have to pay the whole day" while the next morning nobody came and most of the rooms were empty. We had a train in the evening and I asked if I could - paying - have a shower and a swim in the pool, and the answer has been "No.". On my opinion this behavior is more appropriate to an accountant rather than an hotel manager.

Room Tip: Take loads of mosquito repellent.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank morenji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gandhara, Owner at Hotel Gandhara, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Sir

We have no mosquito in any rooms. We take care for it.But it is difficult to control vast swimming pool area.It is a major problem in puri not in my Hotel.Money is not important for us.Rule & regulation is important for us.If we allow you to swiminng in the pool & use free wifi I hope you may be write it is a great Hotel ?But I am sorry we have very big group came in the night due to train late.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed several nights and found the hotel calm and good value. The food was fine and the pool area a nice place to relax. I had a problem with the bed (hard mattress) and this was changed promptly.
When we left there was a mysterious laundry charge on the bill. This was removed when we challenged it, and I'm sure it was an honest mistake. However the receptionist had a lengthy phone call with someone else about this, leaving us standing there waiting. In the end I asked her to sort it out in her time as we needed to leave. An apology would have been nice.
Overall though I can happily commend it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank divers69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We enjoyed our time in Puri but the hotel was a disapointment. Our first room was on the top floor and was difficult to get to as we had to climb 4 flights of stairs. The room was very small and basic. I had requested a room by the garden. We then moved to the 1st level which was a better room but again, the room was very basic. There was no outlet in the bathroom, the beds were very hard so we did not sleep well and the neither room was very clean. The food in the restaurant was very good however and the staff was friendly and willing to please. The driver that the Hotel arranged was excellent!

Room Tip: THe best rooms are by the pool
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank cydneyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

India is always a challenge--finding a hotel that lives up to our Western needs and expectations. The Gandhara was the best place we stayed and at an affordable price. The showers work wonderfully, it's clean, and the pool is a nice relaxing addition to get away from the noise and commotion of Indian streets.

AND the owners should be very proud of a staff that is so conscientious -- gardens, food, rooms are nicely mainatined. Patti and david Bess

Room Tip: Second floor is easies to access if you are a little out of shape.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Patti B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Our party of five stayed for one night in two separate rooms – one on the ground level and one upstairs. The ground level room was virtually uninhabitable due to the chemicals they had used for controlling mosquitos. The fumes were overpowering and nauseating. The upstairs room had no beds – just thin mattresses on the floor; while the downstairs room had proper beds and the room seemed much more luxurious. Strange – because the rates for both rooms were identical – when I asked about this – the manger still insisted they were the same standard. Both rooms were quite compact but very clean and the hot water in the bathrooms was fine – from geysers – so not constant, you have to be quick in the showers. The grounds of the hotel are very good – immaculate lawns and the pool is very clean and inviting. Nice and quiet as the hotel accommodation is at the rear of the property. Large dog was friendly. Breakfast was adequate – service a little slow. Staff were friendly and helpful. If you decide to book here – make sure you ask for a room with ‘proper’ beds. The beach is about 10 minutes’ walk away. There are heaps of interesting shops and good cheap cafes all around this hotel – great place to stay.

Room Tip: make sure you ask for a room with proper beds
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AbhayHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Booked 3 nights for a deluxe room over the net. Considering the glowing reviews we thought it was a safe bet.
On arrival no deluxe room in sight. A member of staff says all rooms are the same anyway. Ended up in the top floor room, a very noisy and small glass structure.
After one night we could not wait to get out.
The owner promised us to refund at least one night out of the 2 remaining nights.
A month later, we are still waiting...

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puri hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Holiday Resort
2.6 mi away
Jeevan Sandhya Inn
Jeevan Sandhya Inn
#9 of 81 in Puri
44 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chanakya BNR Hotel
Chanakya BNR Hotel
#10 of 81 in Puri
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Pushpa
Hotel Pushpa
#51 of 81 in Puri
182 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mahodadhi Palace
Mahodadhi Palace
#15 of 81 in Puri
182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pramod Convention & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gandhara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gandhara

Address: Chakratirtha Road, Puri 752002, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Odisha > Puri District > Puri
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 81 Hotels in Puri
Price Range: $46 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Gandhara 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are delighted to offer you the services of Hotel Gandhara located in Puri, Orissa, India. We believe that our modern facilities and pleasant personnel can please all visitors and business travelers. Located in a quiet part of Puri town, just a stones throw from Jagannath Puri Beach, the Hotel Gandhara can meet all your needs and requests. With clean rooms to suit all budgets, we are sure that staying with us will make your trip to India a pleasurable experience. All facilities are available here to make your stay comfortable and easy. With in hotel facilities such as internet access and travel operator, we can really enhance your stay in Puri, together with friendly and helpful staff, the Hotel Gandhara is probably the best hotel in Puri for International travelers. Room service, international menu and cable TV, all set in a beautiful garden atmosphere, really make our hotel a welcome oasis for international travelers. Come and stay with us and experience for yourself the wonderful sights and sounds of Puri in Orissa at a secure hotel with choice of rooms from AC luxury to budget accommodation.WIFI IN ALL ROOMS.We have a long experience in accommodating activities ever since 1984 Hotel PoliciesPS- Information for Indian Tourist.(Please read carefully before booking.)Indian Bachelors (boyfriend & girl friend) are strictly not allowed.( Only we give room for Indian family & couple. Our Hotel is not in the main crowded beach & shopping center. Hotel is closed to Chakratirtha Beach.(Chakratirtha area is very popular for foreigner tourist.Indian tourist not feel very well in our hotel & this area) Pets Policy: Pets are not allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Gandhara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing